Carleton University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my university
student (Former Employee) –  student2 August 2018
My university experience was good. The tuition was obviously expsenive but I believe I gained valuable experience that has prepared me for the real world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work while you learn
ESP/AESP Mentor (Former Employee) –  ON30 July 2018
Working for Carleton University allowed me to gain work experience while attending university. It gives you the opportunity to meet faculty and work in an academic environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 July 2018
Great day at work . I did learn several Skills such as Prioritizing, time-managment. It is a great work place and full of great diversity.The hardest part is over working
Pros
Competitve and inspiring
Cons
lack of appreciation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working as a volunteer there
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 July 2018
It was a great opportunity to volunteer in the summer camps. It allowed me to develop great communication skills, as well as teamwork and leadership skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, excellent mentors
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 July 2018
Really enjoyed working with Carleton. Had great support from my direct supervisors/mentors who always supported me despite constraints and overall lack of support from the Board Members and Senate. Awesome union support and access. Overall a great working and learning experience!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low stress and good people to work with
Meeting & Events Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 July 2018
Company strives to create a healthy workplace and has a lot of great initiatives in place for people to try. Do a lot to show appreciation for the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting people to work with
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 July 2018
- Exciting projects
- Many brilliant professors/students to work alongside
- Plenty of opportunity to learn
- Easy to find resources
- Understanding staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Working Alone
CUSTODIAN (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 July 2018
Not a lot of team working nor interaction with others. Shift work available. Always changing routines, Lots of walking and lifting. Can work at own pace.
Pros
Working on Own
Cons
Additional Last Minute Tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research and teaching assistant
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 June 2018
I cannot say much about Carleton as employer, as I worked there only as research and teaching assistant during my Master's studies.
What I can say is that is a great University with a lot of knowledgeable and friendly professors.
The work as teaching assistant can take more of your time than you expect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interactive and student friendly institution
Student (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 June 2018
Carleton has been an ablsolute pleasure to study at so far in my university career. The university is full with life from the clubs and societies avialble to the learning and financial aids that are there for you. But the school is designed in way where you as an individual need to take action to get involved to recieve the most out of your time there. Everyone is more than willing to help, but they want you to take the initiative to ask for it. In my opinion this forces people to get out of there comfort zone and allows them to grow and mature.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Audio-Visual Resource Centre Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 June 2018
I really liked the environment, it was nice and comforting. I did not feel any pressure whatsoever during my time there. My supervisor was very polite and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very encouraging work environment and helpful professors.
Dynamics & Controls Simulation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 June 2018
Carleton has taught me how to effectively manage my time while also being productive. I got a chance to enhance my communication skills and to deal with very competent professors. I have also learnt vital skills that will help me socially and in any workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a Very Good Job Opportunity
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 June 2018
The typical work day is very relaxed if you have all the knowledge. Just needed to prepare beforehand and clarify the doubts of students.
It was really nice to see the students understand the concepts.
Pros
high pay per hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 May 2018
I worked at Carleton University during my tenure as a student in the work-study program which allowed me to make extra money. The environment was laidback and a joy to work for.
Pros
Laidback environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive workplace with very large attention to detail
Special Event Staff (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 May 2018
consistently busy with little things to consistently do such as maintenance of fields, gym, rooms, cleaning which must be handled with high attention to detail. management was very good and accepting of mistakes which made you want to come into work each day.
Pros
great staff
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Sustainability Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 May 2018
It was a good place, really like my manager. They were very reasonable about taking time off and flexible about school and allowing that to be your priority. I really thought they were caring and a good employer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University
Chemistry Society Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 May 2018
Great, i was a student here so I mostly did this in a volunteer capacity to get to know the school and the city better. I learned how to manage my time effectively
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviornment for growth and development
SESSIONAL LECTURER (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 May 2018
Carleton is a wonderful way to network, grow and explore new ways of seeing the world around you. This has been one of the most enjoyable places to work.
Pros
Networking and intellectual stimulation
Cons
Not enough parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Monthly Guest Critic (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 May 2018
As a guest critic, I felt very welcome; the students were dedicated and their work was a pleasure to review. I would highly recommend working here to anyone thinking about being a guest critic at the architecture school.
Pros
High quality student work
Cons
Long drive from Montreal or Toronto
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 May 2018
very nice place to work
professional
maintains a healthy work environment
flexible
people there are amazing
Pros
nice people
Cons
preferred more hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carleton University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 229 reviews
5120
477
327
23
12

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.3Culture

Carleton University Reviews by Location