Cargill Employee Reviews

Found 215 reviews matching the search See all 3,408 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bunch of people
Process Technician (Current Employee) –  Jarvis, ON8 January 2019
I like Cargill. I like the people that work there. There are some issues but overall, it is a great place to work. The shifts are great. Its not as easy as one might think, processing baby chicks.
Cons
night shift has long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ontario5 December 2018
Top management have been there for too long. Old mentality. They don’t deserve what you have to offer. You soon realize their lack of human skills.
Cons
Poor management skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was a very interesting job
General Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON15 November 2018
My job was very demanding at times. I enjoyed meeting the needs and deadlines. It was very hectic at times. The border inspection, truck drivers and shipping all had to be able to meet the customers needs and I helped to coordinate that.
Pros
Kept me on my feet
Cons
The management changed over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great deal of legacy in the work culture
Senior Industrial Engineer (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON16 October 2018
Very top down approach as an organisation. The corner office culture was very obvious. General Manager was feared not respected. if you had the GMs ear you were all set
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced production plant
Kill Floor/Rendering Supervisor (Former Employee) –  HIGH RIVER, AB15 October 2018
Depending on dept, a typical production plant with planning for the shifts yield. I learned mainly about troubleshooting which has been one of my most useful skills, as any large scale production facility will have its fair share of breakdowns, and not always immediate fixes. One has to improvise from time to time. Management varies from good to poor depending on training, and people skills. There is many opportunities for advancement, and to apply into management as well as courses involved to make a person better in many areas personally as well as productive. Hardest part of job can be the stress of production and deadlines based on yields to be produced. The most enjoyable part of the opportunity for advancement, and training
Pros
Training and advancement
Cons
High stress and environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety oriented company with great employees
Maintenance Intern (Former Employee) –  London, ON3 October 2018
Great cafeteria on site, and excellent training program. Safety is a big component of the work done here, especially since working around live birds. Employees I worked with were fun and made the time go by fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe place to work
SEASONAL LABOURER (Former Employee) –  Clavet, SK25 September 2018
A generally good place to work. High focus on safety. Productivity levels were high also. Employees were nice and willing to educate about the job and its culture. Overall, I had a good time with good pay for my job role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work for
Forklift Operator/Labourer (Former Employee) –  High River, AB11 September 2018
I enjoyed learning new things & meeting new people. I also found that being safe at work is very important for anyone working with Cargill, a very good steady job to have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with strict procedures and deadlines
Quality Control Technician (Former Employee) –  High River, AB4 September 2018
Workforce consists of immigrants some of whom have a language problem which can easily become a peer communication problem. Environment requires strict hygiene adherence
Pros
Interaction with people of varying cultures
Cons
Working in cold conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a demanding, but good company to work for.
Controller (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON8 August 2018
there is opportunity to grow within the company particularly if you are flexible to move within Canada and the United States. It is a demanding place to work, but great for people that like working hard and seeing good rewards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environement de travail
Boucher, Chef d'équipe, Cariste, Journalier (Former Employee) –  Chambly, QC11 July 2018
Une journée typique. Début 6h15 du matin, production, travail physique, travail d'équipe et fin à 15h15.
J'ai appris plusieurs postes differents, un coté de petite famille au travail.
Pros
Journée agréable, travail collectif.
Cons
pas vraiment de point négatif.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basketball court.
Ribbing, skirting (Former Employee) –  High River, AB4 July 2018
Ive learned how to skirting,ribbing,saw,how to make knife sharp.The very hardest part of my job was i have a pain.meat cutter was very hardest job for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work job is boring regret to leave the place people nice and cold Very relaxed working environment Nice work culture, but depend on who
Sr. Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 July 2018
Fun place to work
job is boring
regret to leave the place
people nice and cold
Very relaxed working environment
Nice work culture, but depend on who you work with
Always work under deadline and stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience in learning about safety and how the system works
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  High River, AB1 July 2018
High salary,able to study alot about boilers,,refrigeration system and ammonia.Managements and supervisors are friendly and understanding in giving task and instructions
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity
Procurement Specialist (Current Employee) –  Guelph18 June 2018
Typical day at work is usually fun and productive
Well diversed amd fun.
Awesome team
Work place culture is great
Good entry level
Manager is an advocate for success
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Sanitation (Former Employee) –  Jarvis, ON10 June 2018
Bad management ,long hours no holidays whoopie after 1 year you get 2 weeks but you still lose 10 stats soooo no comparison go ahead if you are looking to have no life with no recognition for a job well done this is for you! Oh and heads up people quit on a regular basis
Pros
None
Cons
Everything under the sun
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Operations Intern (Former Employee) –  Courtland, ON24 May 2018
Busy but fun workplace, wide variety of personalities in one environment, easy to access and talk to management, very safety oriented work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work.
Labourer/Operator (Current Employee) –  London, ON20 May 2018
People there are nice and fun to work with and new experience to gain. Work are fast pace and is nice and cold in the facility, so its a bonus when its hot outside. They also serve food in the cafeteria.
Pros
Good pay, people and money.
Cons
hard to get overtime, wierd hours if you're on afternoons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cargill Animal Nutrition's commitment to safety and guiding principles created a culture that I was very proud to be a part of.
Retail Sales Consultant/ Animal Nutritionist (Former Employee) –  Alberta10 May 2018
As a retail sales representative, my territory encapsulated Alberta and Northern Saskatchewan. Developing strong relationships backed by products that performed forged trust. Listening, aligning, and being agile not only created success among client but teammates as well.
Pros
Company vehicle, expense account, base salary with additional commissions
Cons
Corporate goals didn't align with end customers, company elected to dissolve the retail segment and jobs were lost
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible, don't ever work here
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  High River, AB3 May 2018
This place will make your life miserable. Only if you think there is nothing else you can do with your life then come here, otherwise believe me, you can do better!
Pros
none
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cargill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,409 reviews
51.3K
41.1K
3662
2180
1194

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture