Carboline Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Production Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LA27 March 2018
very stressful environment, but challenging. Learned many aspects of the paint industry. Worked there for 26 years, in many positions, but the production scheduling job was by far the best. I enjoyed my job.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
some days to stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits
Inventory Manager (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LA2 January 2018
Good place to work, great benefits.
Traveled a lot setting up satellite warehouses. Enjoyed the people I worked with. Upper management was committed to providing a safe place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not What it Used to Be
Batch Maker (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WI20 December 2017
This used to be a great company to work for however new management has brought it down quite a bit. Add in supervisors and managers who don't care about their workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Carboline was fun but fast paced. Moral was low and pay not comparable to those in the industry and location.
Lead Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LA9 November 2017
Work was fast paced and detail oriented.
Required good mathematical and communication skills.
I learned so much about industrial coatings, from the basic make up of the coating to the finished product.
Management was a bit slacked and did not hold people accountable. The morale was low from management to new hires.
The pay was not comparable to other companies in the industry.
The hardest part of the job was the tinting of color coatings.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the people I worked with because they were wonderful friends.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Pay not comparable to others in the industry/area
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Place
Advanced Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis County, MO22 October 2017
The job was not hard and the work culture is very relaxed. Benefits are great. They only problem I encounter was career advancements are hard to come by. The work force is aging which means younger people have to wait for them to retire or die in order to move up the ladder
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calculating new formulae, mixtng, evaluating
Fireproofing Chemist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO 6314630 April 2017
Fast paced with weekly changes in experimental design.
Learning intumescent effect versus composition.
Open freedom to achieve project goals.
Family oriented workplace.
Hardest part was to keep stock of raw materials for R&D use to prepare batches at 100 pounds per day.
Most enjoyable to witness, record and compare data from intumescent furnace evaluations.
Pros
Trademark and logo enthusiasm shown in sporty trade show apparel
Cons
none to few
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very great employee staff enjoyed working with everyone
Process Operator/ Material Handler/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LA6 March 2017
always enjoyed my time at work, very easy to learn new things with this company and schedule was very flexible. Very good benefits and insurance with this comapany as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall BAD
NA (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO22 September 2016
Management is terrible. The people in charge create fear and a very poor work environment. They react rather than be proactive. This all starts at the top with the director and trickles down to every manager and supervisor. They prefer their employees be "yes men" rather than someone with experience or opinions. I can't believe some of the things I've heard come out of the mouths of those running the company. Especially of their own employees. No self respecting person should deal with this mess of a company.
Pros
It's a job.
Cons
Everything else about it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical Day
COLOR TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis, MO17 November 2015
Received a request for a new color match. Took the sample and then would formulate the color in computer. Taking that formulation to the lab and testing the formula. Then spray the color out in the appropriate product, i.e urethane, epoxy, or water based. Once paint was cured I would read it with the computer and see if any adjustments would be needed to formulation. Once formula for paint was correct, then I would release formula to plant for mass production of product.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a union based company but not for office workers
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LA4 November 2015
It was no room to grow with that company, and they over worked there workers. I was in one positions and learned and worked four other positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commercial Coatings Company
Order filler and Paint Tint Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX10 August 2015
Order picking, packaging, and labeling shipments of industrial protective coating products for shipment on commercial freight lines, local delivery service, and customer pick up. Pulled materials from narrow aisle shelves using the following electric forklifts: Yale 4K Lift Truck Model ERC 0RGN36TE084, Yale Standup 3K Order Selector Model D826, and Landoll Bendi 3K Articulated Steering Forklift Model B40. Palletized and shrink-wrapped materials using automated shrink-wrap machines. Utilized Inermec Trakker 2425 Scanner with BAAN program while pulling or restocking materials and performing cycle counts. Also tinted paint products using the Corob Tint System with the CorobShop 5.0 tinting software and database as well as the manual pump calibration system.
Pros
A paying job
Cons
Incohesive workers. Inept management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent salary and benefits- terrible leadership
Industrial Coating Consultant (Current Employee) –  Midwest21 July 2015
This company could be an industry leader but due to management it will only get limited talent because it will not retain the sales force due to lack of leadership. They offer a great pay, but it is not worth the headaches from the leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, grea co-workers, great leaders
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tukwila, WA25 May 2015
Typical day started with a brief meeting for the days known activities. Then head out to the warehouse and begin putting together current shipments or doing routine cycle counts. Days would usually consist of recieving inventory and locating it throughout the warehouse and pulling ordered shipments, preparing them for shipment, and loading/unloading freight trucks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work
Full time employee (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MO17 May 2015
The culture at Carboline is very difficult. It's aggressive and is in a constant state of change. Stability is seriously missing and makes it a challenge to determine what direction you should take. The only people that advance are young, white, men who care only about themselves. Woman beware...anyone that cares about people...beware.
Pros
Great benefits and mostly great people
Cons
Too much change, compensation administration is inconsistant
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company to work for & fast paced
Technical Sales (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LA13 May 2015
Developed a business plan for North Louisiana & East Texas to grow sales in the Municipalities, Industrial Contractors, OEM, Oil & Gas and MRO in plants & refineries. Secured job spec position by meeting with Engineers during the pre bid process to make sure our product was on the job specification. We sold direct and through distribution.
Pros
work from home and not micro managed
Cons
salary draw and no company vehicle or expense card
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at times
Production Planner (Current Employee) –  Lake Charles, LA9 April 2015
They need to have a more friendly work environment and train supervisors before they put them in a position. You should not have to as a worker to your job and the person who is supposed to be your boss.
Pros
Flexibility for family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Event Coordinator/Sales Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis, MO16 February 2015
I have the opportunity to grow with this company and learned a lot while I was there. The company is a great place to work, management is hands on when you want them to be and hands off when you don't need them. Employees don't generally leave until they retire.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with few dull moments.
Lead Material Handler/Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Lake Charles, LA14 January 2015
I get to work at 4 am, before the other employees in my department to assign their tasks for the day. I check housekeeping from the shift before mine. I monitor my radio while performing job duties to be aware of anything happening.
I have few problems with management or co-workers because my focus is on work.
Multi-tasking at a fast pace can get difficult at times, but not a problem.
Pros
Weekends off, uniforms and boots supplied by employer. Great insurance.
Cons
Pay could be much better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice before company was sold
Customer Service/Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO30 August 2014
It was a nice place to work before they sold to a holding company. The new people came in an laid off about 50% of the work force and left the place in a shambles.
Pros
Ok benefits
Cons
Sold out and became hard place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Located in Westport
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO5 August 2014
HR department was great to work with. Most of the Vice Presidents are personable and easy to talk to.
Pros
Retirement plan
Cons
Slow to add personnel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carboline Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 29 reviews
54
414
36
24
11

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.9Culture