Canlan Ice Sports Employee Reviews

Found 43 reviews matching the search See all 54 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace & Environment
Pro Shop Associate (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON12 February 2019
People are amazing there super friendly, and just an all around great place to work. Great hours, good pay, and a nice relaxed job. Management is all very friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace with great employees
Skating Instructor (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON28 December 2018
management was amazing and people working there were helpful and very nice. flexible hours, easy work, and lots of pre job training in order to prepare you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to teach children about the sport I love
Lead Instructor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 October 2018
On a typical day at Canlan we would have 3 ice sessions and two field sessions to work with children aged 7-13. During ice sessions we focused on skills necessary for them to advance in hockey, while in the field sessions we worked on our physical conditioning while having fun (played a lot of soccer).

My greatest lesson from Canlan was to be patient with kids as they learn a new sport. Many times the kids would need to be shown a drill 2-3 times before they would be able to get it right.
Pros
Free lunch, good hours
Cons
No real breaks as you are with the kids 5 days a week, 8 hours a day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON19 October 2018
I loved working for Canlan. My time was short as I was contract. Lots of perks and great work environment. I can say the manager that I had at the time was out of control amazing! sad that I was only contract.
Pros
excellent team
Cons
none!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment de travail agréable
Directrice administrative (Current Employee) –  Brossard, QC26 July 2018
une école merveilleuse, une ambiance de travail parfaite! une équipe enrichissante!
Pros
l'équipe!
Cons
salaire faible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pro shop attendant
Pro Shop Attendant (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON3 June 2018
open the store and wait for customers to come in to get their skates sharpened.
- management mirco manages when it isnt needed
- the restaurant & office staff are awesome
- trying to find stuff to do was the hardest part about the job, management wouldnt let people use their creativity
- couldnt keep proper staff - everyone quit
Pros
discount on sports leagues, great people to work with
Cons
micro managed way to much
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time job
Timekeeper (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON15 April 2018
Good job for long shifts and at night that won't interfere with school or other jobs. Cold place to work, make sure to wear 2 pairs of pants and a hat. The staff and participants can be friendly and make few jokes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Ice Hockey Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 February 2018
Great place to work. Amazing atmosphere to learn and grow on the job. Flexible hours depending on whether you're looking for more of a full time or part-time position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, close staff members, easy to work there
customer service (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON10 November 2017
I love Canlan and everyone there is like family to me. Most fun and entertaining job I have had and I love working there. Hours were pretty good, not very flexible but manageable. Summer hours were much easier to work. Always busy and I liked that.
Pros
Close relationships between bosses
Cons
Far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to say
Assistant Food & Beverage Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC3 November 2017
Decent job. Policy all sets. Union on site. The whole place is quite old fashion.Not a lot of working load year round.Good job if you want to retire from it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hockey players dream
TOURNAMENT COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  GTA, ON20 August 2017
you get to work with kids

I enjoyed being able to celebrate successes and encourage the kids through tough losses.

teaches you to work under pressure and to multi task.

FIRST AID training is provided and is needed more in this environment than any other environment i've worked in
Pros
independent work environment
Cons
often doubles, cant leave if no one shows up to relieve you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON5 August 2017
Love Canlan, the people are incredible.
The managers understanding and incredibly nice
The sports and opportunities are amazing
Hardest art about working at Canlan is not as many hours as Id like, and sometimes late hours.
I've been taught incredible customer service and computer skills
Favorite part about my job is definitely the independence and trust they have in their workers to get what they are told to do done. No hovering
Pros
Paid training, sports, discounts on activities, people
Cons
late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive Work
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 July 2017
Canlan was unique in it's field but became repetitive with it's only focus on hockey. Working environment was small but collaborating was easy among all departments.
Pros
Free Programming
Cons
Low pay, no room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work if interested in hockey
SCORE KEEPER (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC20 July 2017
Score keeping is a fairly easy job once you've gotten the hang of it. It consists of taking information for referees, controlling a score board, and entering information into a computer.
Pros
good pay
Cons
games can get boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON27 June 2017
Fun, energetic and never boring! Wages and hours are decent and management is very accommodating for students. I recommend this as a great second (or first) job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Janitor Helper (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB21 June 2017
I really enjoy the atmosphere and how well co-workers get along.

what i didn't like is how somedays it was really cold.

Love being able to watch all the hockey games
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job to start off with but is too much of a distance and too time consuming and they would give checks instead of direct deposit.
Timekeeper (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON20 June 2017
A good job but some problems with getting more shifts as well as giving shifts up. To much time working and getting there and not enough money and shifts to make a living
Pros
Easy, decent pay, organized
Cons
Long hours, long distance and check instead of direct deposit
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun!
Cook (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK7 June 2017
Enjoyed the fact of the regular clientele. Guests were extremely happy with my service with made me feels successful with a job well done. Easygoing staff made for a good working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canlan Ice Sports Line Cook
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON29 April 2017
Working as a line cook at Canlan Ice sports consisted of many great opportunities and learning experiences. A typical work day consisted of operating and opening/closing the kitchen, changing of oil and filters, maintenance, and vigorous amounts of cleaning to ensure guest experiences are up to par. The culture was very dynamic and everybody was on a first name basis, Canlan does an excellent job of creating a community and family oriented environment. Personally, the most enjoyable aspect of the job for me was building relationships with co-workers and using teamwork in order to complete tasks quickly and efficiently. Furthermore, being an athlete myself, I really enjoyed the hockey atmosphere and the crowd of people our establishment drew in.
Pros
sports, environment, discounts
Cons
inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable workplace
Skating Instructor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 April 2017
Great workplace, friendly coworkers and great management fantastic work environment! Everyone is welcoming to you and helps you get used to how they operate and is willing to help you out in any situation that you need help in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canlan Ice Sports. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 54 reviews
517
427
36
24
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.1Culture