CANADORE COLLEGE Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Conseillère avec les Premières Nations (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON17 November 2018
I Have had a contract in The First People’s Centre.
I have loved every minute.
The staff and the whole ambiance was great.
I would return to work there in a flash.
Pros
The people Staff and Students
Cons
I guess I was not there long enough to see any.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
college
Air Cadet Scholarship (Former Employee) –  northbay3 November 2018
i am just a student so i am not really sure why they are having me fill this portion out but yeah im in aviation so really my life sucks but thats really all there is
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, progressive college!
English Professor (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON16 August 2018
Canadore College was an excellent place to work. As a professional I was given the latitude to participate in the development of my own curriculum and design methods to teach and evaluate students progress.
Pros
Fair and flexible management, job security, great salary and benefits.
Cons
Budget constraints sometimes affected working conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Transition
SUMMER TRANSITION MENTOR (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON9 April 2018
Really enjoyed working with the full time staff and students. Enjoyed creating and implementing workshop on the LGBTTQ community. This was only a short summer position but loved every minute of it
Pros
Great food
Cons
it was only for 4 days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome workplace
Canadore Employment Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON9 March 2018
happy environment
friendly staff
easy going
I enjoyed working here
working with other students was refreshing
welcoming workplaace
learned lots about painting
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in
Grill Cook (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON25 January 2018
All in all, for the time I spent there things went well. It was generally organized, the people were great, and I got the hours I was looking for. No complaints other than the hiring process taking as long as it did.
Pros
Make your own food in the caff, good hours
Cons
Long hiring process
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job placement with YES employment
Educational Resource Clerk (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON20 August 2017
Great friendly staff. Willingness to answer all questions and help learn more in the job. Working with students learning trades was fun. Everyone patient and understanding when learning new job and skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work as a student
Student Work Program (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON30 March 2017
As a student working under their student work program they are very accommodating to your needs as a student and your schedule.. my supervisor was really friendly and easy to get a hold of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
benefits
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON9 February 2017
the work practice and culture which transpired in the bank was not one that went with my morals and values. ethically I could no longer hand out credit to individuals who could not afford it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
College Instructor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 December 2016
very cordial and good work environment People are very good and friendly to work with, they give respect and helpful in nature. The working hours are also very comfortable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ablilty to help your peers
Student Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON8 August 2016
Being a tutor is a great way to build rapport with fellow students as well as increase your own understanding of course material.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Subject Matter Expert (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON28 April 2016
I enjoy writing courses, and the online teaching is challenging but exciting. This is a part-time position that I truly enjoy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Psoition
Director of Commerce Court (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON7 December 2015
The position was a part time position. Was great while it lasted. Paid pretty low, btu was an experience. Would probably not work for them full time. Too bureaucratic
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great schoole
student (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON27 April 2015
I enrolled in the Aircraft Structural Repair program at Canadore. Canadore provides me basic skills needed in aircraft structural repair, and is a great place to study.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Productive Team
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON7 October 2014
I enjoyed working with the Housekeeping team at Canadore College, great experience with everyone, positive atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun with students
Tutor (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON14 May 2014
I had fun with the students as I tutored them in chemistry and biology. I was paid for the hours I did and the hours were set up between the students and I.
Pros
Made my own hours around students needs
Cons
some students don't respond
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced environment with a variety of student needs and personalities.
Field Placement Liaison (Former Employee) –  North Bay, On28 December 2013
Typical Day: Meeting with students to determine skills/interests and assist in identifying appropriate placement opportunities. Assisting students to prepare resumes and cover letters, Role playing interviews for placement, presenting placement information to various student groups
: Liaison with Program Coordinators to discuss student challenges
: Contacting social agencies to determine willingness to provide learning opportunities for students, placement requirements and the type of individual who would work best within their service.

What I Learned: Main learning was about the youth of today - their priorities, challenges and coping strategies. As well I was exposed for the first time to the inner workings of a College

Management: Management did not interact with my position very often so I was basically working independently.

Co-Workers: An excellent group of individuals who were passionate about their fields and worked tirelessly to impart knowledge to students to maximize their probability of graduation

Hardest Part: Decisions that were made about my work focus without any real knowledge of what I did or what the community wanted re: students

Most Enjoyable: Interacting with students
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Lack of understanding of the position's pressures from Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CANADORE COLLEGE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 18 reviews
510
44
33
20
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture

CANADORE COLLEGE Reviews by Location