Canadian Union of Public Employees Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, difficult job
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 December 2019
Working in the labour movement means dealing with a lot of attacks on working people. It is a difficult job and requires quick thinking and an ability to work with lots of different people. You can't view it as just a job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working hours
Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 September 2018
Not a job for advancement, especially if you enter in an administrative position. Great working hours that allow you to develop your hobbies and flexible work hours, great if you have a young familly.
Pros
Gym in the basement
Cons
not a lot of room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Team
STAFF REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 August 2018
A fun and friendly work place that everyone should have the opportunity to belong to.
The culture of caring and support is present in everything we do no matter the challenges before us.
Pros
Great team environment.
Cons
The day has to end.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a Unionized Crossing Guard
Crossing Guard (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON25 July 2017
My personal first experience with a union, CUPE has been good to me. We have bi-monthly meetings where members are able to voice their concerns and being members of the union gives us some good benefits. The people I work with are friendly and welcoming and I despite it only being my first year, I feel like I fit in quite well.
Pros
benefits, welcoming community, regular meetings
Cons
regular meetings can be dull
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful colleagues and collegial atmosphere
Communications and Research Consultant I (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 September 2016
Fast-paced deadline driven environment in communications but lots of energy from a terrific staff and coworkers. Working as a team is the best part of the job.
Pros
Respectful workplace
Cons
Very tight deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging the standards is a norm
National Union Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 June 2016
This is a fast paced environment, where a person must be ready for a change to schedule and work priorities on an ongoing basis.

I learned to question people and ideals and to investigate and review all documents. I learn to pay attention to small details in paperwork and conversations.

The hardest part of this job was dealing with people who would not admit responsibility for their actions.

I loved being around people all the time.
Pros
The ability to travel and continually meet new people.
Cons
Long hours and weekend work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful position, great mentorship
Facilities Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 April 2016
wonderful entry position in Industrial Relations. Great experience and launching pad. involved in negotiations, labour arbitrations, mediation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work in an entry level capacity
Vice President External (Former Employee) –  Hamilton ON2 December 2013
A small workplace which is great for students to become involved in the field. Management and co-workers are driven and work together.
Pros
free dinner, positive environment, sense of cooperation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Union of Public Employees. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 9 reviews
54
43
32
20
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.7Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.0Culture

Canadian Union of Public Employees Reviews by Location