Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but poor management
Staff member (Current Employee) –  High River, AB13 April 2018
Many issues with management as well as store moral. The store was often unhappy when at work. Very high levels of stress especially put on by the management team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Customers Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB12 April 2018
Very harsh work atmosphere. Disrespectful management and over worked as a youth. As a youth I was working at the Red Deer location and was logging almost 50 hours a week
Pros
Fair pay
Cons
Disrespectful staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay pay for an okay job
Cashier/Customer Service Desk (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB12 April 2018
Good starter job for students or retirement job for retirees, or perhaps stepping stone job. Not mentally challenging, not physically challenging. Hours are not very flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall company good
Cashier/ Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Luxemburg12 April 2018
My experience with CT has been very good so far- my whole family has at one time or another worked with Canadian Tire. They usually have good management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Estevan, SK12 April 2018
Lots of work to keep busy
Heavy lifting was required ex: Exercise equipment, Barbeques, Furniture.
Trained to used palett jack
Fast Find system - canadian tire owners brought in a system to locate and keep track of inventory making the job much more enjoyable when a rush of customers come!
Trained new staff members as employees are trained by employees.
Help other departments
Pros
staff, hours
Cons
owners
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Picton, ON12 April 2018
Lots of great friends made at Canadian Tire. Work may be tedious but teaches you great life skills! Sometimes customers can be a pain and rude but that has nothing to do with the company.
Pros
Lots of hours
Cons
Tedious work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Automotive Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC11 April 2018
Lots of standing
Okay pay
Sometimes understaffed
typical day at work consists of customer service, restocking merchandise. Sell alot of batteries and have to stock car batteries
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON11 April 2018
A typical day working at Canadian Tire was pretty good, the job wasn't hard or difficult but there were some challenges along the way. But challenges are okay, it gives you something to work with. While working at Canadian Tire I learned how to work amongst my co-workers, interact with all sorts of different people and work a cash register. The hardest part of working at Canadian Tire was, sometimes, the customers and having to explain to them the prices on certain things, and why they were different prices on certain things and not others, but that problem was always solved very easily. The part I enjoyed the most about working at Canadian Tire was the people I worked with. The Canadian Tire team, is welcoming, happy, positive and all around good people.
Pros
good team of people to work with
Cons
Student Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterdown, ON11 April 2018
Good Starter job, fun environment. Plenty of work shifts, lots of opportunities, always a productive, clean and enjoyable workplace/ environment for everybody!
Pros
Enjoyable friendly workplace
Cons
Too many hours for part time workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Auto Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  30 lynden rd. Brantford11 April 2018
The day always started out friendly and talkative assuming everyone had their coffee, and as the day progressed the customers came and went with their problems. overall the team I worked with was good and the techs got the work done well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Heavy lifting/warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON11 April 2018
This was an interesting job i ended up quitting due to bad manager skills. A typical work day was unpacking and stocking all the inventory we had received during the day , it was a night shift so the life balance was hard to deal with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canadian Tire
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kirkland Lake, ON11 April 2018
the one in Kirkland lake at the time of my employment was ran by a person with an ego bigger then the store. and the management at that time were also not the greatest..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
Senior Team Lead Disaster Recovery (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2018
very busy place
management varies due to frequent changes
People are great
hard to deal with layoffs and constant management changes
loved working with the employees of CTC
Pros
Great people to work with on a daily basis
Cons
Job security has changed over the past years
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfiar
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB10 April 2018
they treated people unfairly. fired people for coloured hair, made us use our sin numbers to log in which i find un safe. called in sick when i was sick.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends what Dealer you work for
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC10 April 2018
The Dealer I work for didn't believe in positive affirmation for his employees and didn't believe that woman should have any say in anything. It was totally a boys club and even the managers didn't have the authority of anything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work.
Warehouse / Inventory Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON10 April 2018
Hours were low and never seemed to match the work that needed to be done. We were always told how bad business was yet we could see how busy the store was by how much restocking was required. Management was friendly but played favourites with certain employees. They never would give you any notice when hours would be cut.
Pros
Occasional food treats
Cons
No raises or benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to many leaders not enough workers
Service and Parts Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 April 2018
this place felt like there alway was one person wo wanted to one up another person everyone wanted to give orders and no one wanted to do the physical hard work of stocking and labelling
Pros
decent co workers
Cons
to many complaining customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail job
Customer Experience Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 April 2018
Its your typical retail job, minimum pay (even less with benefits).

People are working there to make ends-meet.

No job culture, semi-toxic work environment.

Overall decent job, better than nothing.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Not consistent with work days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for improvement.
Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON8 April 2018
I only get to enjoy my job when managers decide to do their jobs. They don't fire degenerate employees and a couple managers refuse to force training on elderly employees because they don't "want" to learn. It's not fair we get paid the same wage and I do double the work of 90% of the employees in the store, including managers. Plus upper management doesn't seem to care much. The owner is the cheapest human being I know and doesn't seem to care about the immense amount of theft that goes on everyday. Sometimes I am embarrassed to be an employee here because it seems like everybody else is incapable of anything and they do not take their job seriously.
Pros
I have the only good manager in the store. Very flexible hours.
Cons
Too many too list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK7 April 2018
Got there
got dressed in my work clothes
Signed in
cashed in my till so i had the right amount of money
set my till up
scanned items for customers
bagged products for customers
Pros
15 minute breaks
Cons
Scheduling errors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 3,415 reviews
5894
41.2K
3885
2244
1170

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture