Canadian National Railway Employee Reviews

Found 332 reviews matching the search See all 485 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work with good pay
DATABASE ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 January 2019
But the management team is disgusting, typically for some medium level managers and team leads. This is ranked at #285 on the list Canada's best employer by Forbes. Don't expect too much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Heavy Equipment Operator (HEO) (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 January 2019
CN is lucky it controls the market in Canada or else they would be bankrupt.

Say goodbye to any work/life balance you would like, you will never have a weekend or holiday off for 20 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t work here
Assistant track supervisor (Former Employee) –  Belleville10 January 2019
I worked here for 14 years and they dismissed me just like that. There is no work life balance and they expect that you put CN first. They bully and threaten everyday and senior management is absolutely horrific
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Horrible Emoyeer
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away Pay attention
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 January 2019
35 years ago, fathers told their sons and daughters to work at CN. No longer is this the case. I spent 33 years at CN and in the end it was a mistake. Stay away fro CN it is a horrible place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conductor
Train Conductor (Former Employee) –  Québec City, QC7 January 2019
Ouf... you're always on call and the company really doesnt care about you just as long as you get the merchandise or the trains at destination on time. You do so many different tasks and you're constantly watching your back for all the regulations.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Paranoia
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working the railway
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 December 2018
Good place to if your up there one the sonority list. If not, your living on an odd shift with no sight of weekends for the majority of your career. Good group of guys on the floor. Management is very disorganized.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Odd shifts for bottom of sonority list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, Great people
RAIL CAR MECHANIC/MECHANICAL SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Prince Rupert, BC15 December 2018
CN was the greatest place i had ever worked, My only regret in live is that I had decided to part ways with the company, The benefits are top notch, and the work is exciting and fulfilling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of money at a cost.
Conductor (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC14 December 2018
Paid training in Winnipeg is good. You will get on the job training after that which is sometimes good and sometimes not good. It depends who you get paired up with. Majority of people you work with are good people.

I was hired to work in a terminal which already had about 20 too many conductors. I was forced to work shortages all over western Canada. The shortage locations will have new stuff you weren't trained for in your home location, which can be a bit stressful for a new conductor.

The money you make is impressive. 4 months from hire I was making full conductor wage. The money is nice but it comes at a cost of your personal life. It's nearly impossible to plan anything outside of work. You may start to feel like you don't see your family enough.
Pros
Wage, Pension
Cons
Gone for days at a time, no work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pensions and plans
Engineering, Track Maintainer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 December 2018
Great pension, benefits, and stock and great stock opportunities for workers. Over time is great . But there needs to be more practical certifications that can help a employees credentials such as everyone having h2s alive, confined spaces, emergency situations similies, and fall protection.
Pros
Always being educated on safety
Cons
Extremly dangerous and too much out of town work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and interesting work
Senior Solution Architect (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 December 2018
CN gives you the opportunity to change jobs, locations, and experiences many times while still having the familiarity of a single employer.

From a technology standpoint it is a conservative, risk-averse culture. Hardest part of the job is to convince people to adopt a different approach. Very challenging intellectually with lots of opportunity.
Pros
Good benefits plan, good salary
Cons
Could be long hours at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Canadian National Railway?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere and very supportive environment
Training Material Specialist (Former Employee) –  Montreal, Quebec28 November 2018
The atmosphere was one of a family. My fellow coworkers were very supportive and helpful.

Never felt overwhelmed, or put upon.

Sometimes there were many projects due around the same time, but there was always a way to negotiate. People were reasonable and understood when a shift was needed to get the work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, independant, strong saftey culture
Signal Maintainer (Current Employee) –  Raymore, SK19 November 2018
CN Rail is one of the largest driving forces in the Canadian economy. Theres a good chance most of your belonings were shipped by rail. CN are industry leaders.
Pros
Training provided, independant, saftey minded
Cons
Long hours, on call, extensive travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hired, Trained and Laid Off all in the same year
Railway Conductor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 November 2018
There is no flexibility when it comes to this Job.

Earnings are great but not for families or people who like a good nights sleep.

Management promises a lot but does not deliver.

I took a course and ended up not liking the job at all, I realized not everything is about money.
Pros
Good benefits and Pay
Cons
Poor Work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst employer on earth
Conductor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 November 2018
I have worked for big companies and small companies and I can honestly and candidly say that this is by far the worst managed company on the face of the earth. The management team will harass threaten intimidate and abuse you to the point of insanity. You will question why you're doing this for the 100k a year as the culture at CN will make you feel like less then a number on a payroll. The management team at CN is completely and utterly devoid of a moral compass. They are absolute animals. DON'T HIRE ON AT CN
Pros
Salary
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits
Conductor (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 October 2018
Work was fine, just not knowing week to week when I would be working was a tough lifestyle to adjust to. Job itself is ok if you dont mind working outside in the rain and at night.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working here
Freight Conductor Trainee (Former Employee) –  Melfort, SK16 October 2018
i enjoyed everyday as a employee with this company. I felt apart of a team and would definitely return to work here. If i had to say one thing to anyone interested its be safe out there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Ground crew (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 October 2018
work was hard but the job was good pay could have been better.
manager needs to be more professional. i didnt mind working outside they where not bad to work for all in all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A supervisor' point of view.
Trainmaster (Current Employee) –  Sarnia11 October 2018
CN can be a great place to work, however they are slow to change with the times. Front Line Supervisor's are required to work 60 plus hours a work week and are forced/shamed into working their off days as well.
Pros
Salary
Cons
No home life
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Senior Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON11 October 2018
I had an amazing experience at CN Rail - very professional environment with high learning culture. It has immense growth opportunities. My experience at CN Rail was wonderful in terms of learning, growth, and fun. My boss gave me a chance to explore other IT function by taking different projects and also work cross-functionally to learn more about business.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cn
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 September 2018
Lots of nepotism which makes for inexperienced and ineffectual management and preferred treatment for legacy hires.

Typical bureaucracy as found in most large companies allows for empire building
Pros
Good pension financiallt lucrative if youre in the right place
Cons
Long hours. Military style management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian National Railway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 485 reviews
5106
4148
3106
254
171

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture