Canadian Cancer Society Employee Reviews

Found 146 reviews matching the search See all 148 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work at
Event Planner (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON22 April 2019
Great place and amazing workers . Everyone is kind and respectful. Learned how to use excel to file important donations and helped patients find the perfect wig.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work and lovely management
Fundraising Assistant and Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 April 2019
The team was amazing and I would work here if it aligned with my career goals in the future. It is so bus accessible as it is right beside the metcalfe bus stop. The work culture is absolutely amazing as non-profits always seem to have
Pros
people
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pressure
Intake Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 April 2019
There is a lot of pressure to do things within a time frame and meet certain goals in the call centre. Calls are timed as well as time between calls and breaks. I can understand that with sales call but not when dealing with sick people.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Management heavy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facing financial uncertainty
Assistant, Executive Office (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2019
Facing financial uncertainty in the current environment; not paid very well; internal communication is good and training available to advance the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering with the Canadian Cancer Society
Event Coordinator, Donations Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON18 March 2019
A great place to volunteer! Many opportunities presented and various ways to get involved with the community and take on a leadership role. Very rewarding!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
WEB PRODUCTION MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 March 2019
I enjoyed working at CCS. good organization, strong team and overall very enjoyable although little room for advancement. i didn't love all the management, either.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to volunteer.
Volunteer Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON24 January 2019
Great place! I would have loved to work there , it is a great ideal place, very accommodating. Lots of fun with the whole team. Opportunity to learn a lot.
Pros
Friendly place
Cons
Nothing just great experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work with great management.
Donor Services Clerk (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS18 January 2019
Small company culture with a big company goal. The management and staff at the CCS did everything in their power to ensure employees were comfortable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disconnected Management
Bilingual Intake Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 January 2019
The work mission is outstanding. Unfortunately, the management are very removed from the tasks themselves, resulting in low morale and little to no recognition for a job well done. Very few opportunities for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an interesting experience.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 December 2018
General volunteer work during a relay for life event. Helped set up tents, helped care for the children of some of the parents participating in the event. Everyone was nice, my handler was nice and told me what to do with a smile and was patient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great cause
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 November 2018
I was involved within the fundraising
department of this organization

recruited community businesses to assist
and donate for fundraisers

lots of work - lost of fun

great people

extremely beneficial
Pros
great people
Cons
difficult to see all who suffer from this disease
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed and friendly workplace
Campaign Caler (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK16 November 2018
I loved working for the Canadian Cancer Society. It was a temporary term position, part-time. It was a good fit for my schedule and personal life. People working there were friendly and welcoming. The manager was friendly and not bossy. Only thing is ay could be better and if they could offer more permanent positions.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
temporary positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great organization to gain volunteer hours from
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON3 November 2018
I have been volunteering for some of the Organization's events since 2015. They run many charitable events every year, so they are definitely always looking for volunteers!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work very nice people
Administrative Assistant (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 October 2018
Great place to work, would have love to worked permanently however it was just a contract position. Very organized place to work. Very helpful people working there. Easy to fit into the environment.
Pros
Fun people to work with
Cons
was only contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 October 2018
Friendly and down to earth staff members that are passionate about what they do. They really make the organization run and have fun doing it. Very accommodating as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of management felxibility
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 October 2018
The worst management I've ever faced. Wouldn't recommend for people with ideas and/or ambitions - those are killed here and are not valued by the management. No room for improvement and/or promotion as top management are afraid of changes and are only concerned for their own skin.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Worst management I've ever seen
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working
Administrate Assistant, Development (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 October 2018
This was a great entry level job that allowed me to grow and develop professionally. I worked a few contract jobs that allowed me to really understand what is occuring at the Society and to see where I would fit best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Profit
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 September 2018
getting your work form inbox. you get to learn different services that are offered. Culture is easy . Hardest part is not able to serve the clients due to lack of financial support.
Pros
friendly atmostphere
Cons
little chance of being fulltime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spreading awareness
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 August 2018
As a volunteer we learnt the ways of identifying cancer. Everyone is friendly and knows what they're doing. Great atmosphere, great people and overall great time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice and quiet
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 June 2018
good and quiet workplace and relaxing the people there where really nice and kind. it was really easy to get to there. and it was easy to learn how to do data entry
Pros
a/c
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Cancer Society. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 148 reviews
589
432
321
22
14

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture