Canadian Bearings Ltd. Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ship going down
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS15 April 2019
A few years back I would have had much better things to say
Company is going downhill
Poor culture , toxic environment
Poorly run and devious co workers
Glad to not be sinking with this ship
Pros
Work hours, weekends off
Cons
Everything else especially poor management and favouritism being major issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Warehouse Worker/Driver (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 December 2018
Quallity place to work. Again there was opportunity to work in a team environment with independence to do the work as required. Help as required was offered.
Pros
quality work environment
Cons
At that time, low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED the company
TECHNICAL SALES (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON20 September 2018
Canadian Bearings is an excellent company to work for. Head office and the regional sales managers are great.

CB's culture is excellent: if you work for them, watch out for the culture in the branches. Focus on what corporate is working towards and you'll have a successful career.

CSR, TSR, Warehouse ....all great careers.
Pros
Changes every day, great for a technical person
Cons
Branch culture can be negative: keep your head up and don't get lost in it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terribly toxic work environment....
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON29 March 2018
I am not sure about other branches but I would strongly advise avoiding the London branch. I was there for three months and it was a complete nightmare! The management is absolutely brutal! They have one of the manager's 20 year old kids running the place with zero experience!

After two months I spent the last month finding another job...best decision of my life! There's plenty of better opportunity's out there....
Pros
None that I can think of....
Cons
Toxic work environment/ terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs....will be closing many locations
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON15 March 2018
Poor and untrained management. Business model is 10 years behind. No company loyalty towards employees. Many promises made....very few kept. A troubled company.
Pros
Lots of laughs watching this company fall apart.
Cons
Poor management, no training program, high turn over rates, under-staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Accounting & Rebates Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 December 2016
- Good working atmosphere.
- Busy day, time goes very fast.
- Co-operative team members
- There were great opportunities to learn.
- Best part was the library in the office where employees could sit and read or borrow the books to read.
Pros
Great learning opportunities and close to my home
Cons
Long working hrs. during the month-end
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Run Private Company which is going through transformational change.
Interim Corporate Controller (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 October 2015
The company has recently gone through significant leadership changes and restructuring efforts. This is a family run company with family members actively involved.
Pros
Relaxed flexible atmosphere
Cons
Lots of ambiguity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place with Good People
Inventory Analyst/Technical Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 September 2015
Spent 20 years there, and wish I was still there. Reliable place to be. Everyday was always something different. You get to know a lot of products, and a lot of vendors and customers.
Pros
Good people to work with.
Cons
They should open up the Brantford Branch again *winkwinknudgenudge*
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very challenaging to place to work with very little guidance from management.
Strategic Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto25 July 2014
A very challenging to place to work with very little guidance from management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/ life balance
Wont say (Current Employee) –  Mississauga11 April 2014
Under the former President, this company was a great and respectful place to work.

There was great energy, and we all enjoyed coming to work everyday. We are now working in a place that is very much like walking a tightrope.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and outgoing enviroment
Receptionist, data entry and A/P (Former Employee) –  Mississauga20 February 2014
Canadian bearings is one of the most welcoming and friendly company that I have ever had the privilege of working for. I have been working for the company for 8 years now doing seasonal work with reception, data entry, mail room and A/P and have learned many skills over the years. I hope to use my skills that I have required over the years and also look forward to gaining new ones. The most enjoyable part of working with Canadian Bearings was getting to know everyone and feeling like I was a part of an amazing team.
Pros
Great hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps you on the move.
Operations Supervisor Central Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Misissaugua,ON.27 September 2012
Everyday is a new challange form the frieght that comes in to the new customers you deal with daily. Great place to learn product knowledge.Great management team that will support and coach you at the same time. Good team work with the staff.
Pros
great month end meetings.
Cons
long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Bearings Ltd.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 13 reviews
55
42
33
20
13

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture