Canada Safeway Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 214 reviews matching the search See all 216 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Cashier duties (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 May 2019
Thoroughly enjoyed this job and do regret leaving it. I was highly appreciated there and unfortunately became a target for a smear campaign by a mores senior employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Job once Full-time
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC18 April 2019
Management has favorites. There's always talk of Safeway closing. Can take postings at other store locations. Dental plan is good. Pension. Highly competitive. ATO's (accumulated time off). Paid vacation and sick days.
Pros
Prescription and Dental Plans
Cons
Fast pace required
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace great people
cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 April 2019
cashier at the gas bar , so selling items in a smaller setting, fast paced , generally busy, early morning hours , have to get everything ready for the day..stocking .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't bad
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB3 April 2019
Safeway wasn't a bad place to work. The people were slightly different but that helped make the culture more interesting for me as a first time employee of a company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB19 March 2019
Management can be harsh, but I did enjoy my time there. Was laid back on night shift. Super nice employees, Q99 on repeat in the back, definitely a good part time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for student
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 March 2019
Worked with great people but management wasn't the greatest. They always asked us how we can improve things but never brought our suggestions to life. Good place for student to work in evenings after school.
Pros
Hours
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ontario27 February 2019
Great people.
Innovative and healthy products make it easy to be proud of where you work.
A lot of collaboration between functional units and areas of the company to build a better company.
Pros
Good atmosphere
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safeway
Part-time cashier/ customer service, store closing (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC27 February 2019
good part time job for students, weekend and evening work available
no extended healthcare benefits
get paid weekly
poorly paid
employee stock options
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not My Safeway
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 February 2019
This is not my Safeway. Been a family customer for 45 years. Mom and Dad were big supporters of this community driven company,64 years of family shopping. Always had the best in stock and some of the best loyal workforce a company could ask for. Sobeys has destroyed this and Sobeys is not my Safeway. I would never shop there, ever and friends and family are told a different story from loyal supporters of Sobeys/ Safeway. To bad, No loss to them as another Manitoba company with values and ethics can have my dollar. Would not recommend them for employment or food.
Pros
Bakery and Baggers
Cons
Poor management at store level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good part time job while in school
Fuel Technician (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB10 January 2019
My manager helped work around my class and test schedules while I was attending the university. They were very understanding of students' situations as they were the primary demographic hired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 January 2019
A cashier at Safeway was the first job I ever had and I hated it. I was supposed to get 15 hour weeks, but I'd regularly get 30+ without warning and I was a full time Grade 12 student at the time. I do not recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good paying job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 December 2018
This was a job I had in the 80's, early 90's. Life has changed significantly since then and none of what appears today would be any relevance to the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In my opinion, the company is making a effort to increase the number of part time employees and decreasing the number of full time employees.
Baker/Asst Bakery Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 December 2018
The corporate culture has changed dramatically in the time since Sobeys took over Safeway. When I first started with Safeway, the goals were pretty clear. When Sobeys took over, you never really knew from one day to the next what they wanted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not reliable source of income yet fun to work with nice people though
Casheir (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 November 2018
Nice people to work with. They are helpful when I am in doubt with my work even though I don't have much time working hours to improve myself. Familiarity is the key to work but sad to say I am just needed when somebody got sick.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was not very good at all
Gas Bar Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 October 2018
This position was not very good at all. The management was poor, there was poor communication between most employees and managers, and I felt unsafe every time I showed up for work.
Pros
union
Cons
lack of safety
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
STAFF PHARMACIST (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 October 2018
good place to work made lots of friends and community outreach. great service and treated employees pretty good. enjoyed my time at all the places i worked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It suited me at the time.
Part-Time Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 September 2018
Safeway was a good place to work to supplement my income. Many of the people who have been there a long time feel they have need to offer their opinions. Also found that many of them are disgruntled and hate their job, unfortunately.
Cons
Uniforms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place, Good Management
Assistant Produce Manager (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC20 September 2018
The company gives good opportunities to aspiring employees, Provides good extended health benefits, fast paced environment and fulfilling job........
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable friendly atmosphere
FIELD SERVICE SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC18 August 2018
A great company to work for, People first attitude,
on site training
approachable supervisors
personal office
provided vehicle and parts,
any tools required for the position were supplied.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
long hours driving
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good while it lasted.
Shipper receiver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 August 2018
I was a head shipper receiver. I worked the night shift. I worked 36 year. I have days afternoons and night. I have done most of the jobs there. Then they closed threes doors. In 2009 I had taken carpentery and got my diploma. I can do all kind of carpentery work.
Pros
They had boneses for no accidents
Cons
It was hard to work in the freezers all those years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canada Safeway Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 216 reviews
544
482
364
211
115

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture