Canada Post Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Volume Counter (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC17 November 2017
I had fun working for Canada Post. I was there on one month contract and it was interesting learning and mail delivering. I would not hesitate working their.
Pros
Great people
Cons
on call hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 November 2017
It was a great place to work in. It was hard to lift heavy objects but was interesting to sort through the mail and look at where everything goes. Coworkers were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Letter Carrier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 November 2017
I loved working for Canada Post. I delivered mail, loved my customers and was able to get fit walking every day with a heavy load on my back. The inside work was stimulating and challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive easy going
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON11 November 2017
working there was easy and it was based on stacking and loading parcels on to the truck , at time it would be crowded but nothing a two man team wouldnt easily finish
Pros
easy work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Volume Counter (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC10 November 2017
It was a fun place to work while it lasted. People were great and it was fun to learn how your mail gets to us. the only downside is that is on call but you get more hours with more time working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervision des opérations postales
Superviseur des opérations postales (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC10 November 2017
supervision des opérations de livraison et de traitement postales,
gestion quotidiennes (100 employés ) syndiqué , de plus j'ai aider à implanter avec une équipe le projet majeur de la transformation postale
Cons
pression constante et permanentes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but not much room for growth
Letter Carrier (Current Employee) –  500 Oakdale8 November 2017
Canada Post is a good job for those who love the outdoors. However dealing with elements can be tough: rain, snow, heat...

However there is not much room to grow in this company.
Pros
Outdoors on your own
Cons
No room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for the weak of heart
DELIVERY AGENT (Former Employee) –  GTA6 November 2017
The worst job I have ever had. Be ready to be moved around a lot, and to be made to work out of stations that are on the opposite side of the GTA than where you are located. Must be able to work well on own. Equipment such as vehicles are in a sad state of disrepair for new employees. Very little support available from management. This company cannot attract not retain talent because it is a terrible job that is not worth the pay.
Pros
Physically demanding
Cons
Physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work.
Technical Services Superintendent Shift #1 (Current Employee) –  Toronto ON.6 November 2017
Always exciting to come to work.

New challenges every day with all the innovations and changes within the Company in trying to cope with the ever-changing demand for specific services.

Vigorous workforce that keeps me on my toes in terms of employee engagement and interpretation and administration of the Collective Agreement.
Pros
Keeps me sharp in dealing with change.
Cons
Not enough communication and acceptance of change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Postal Clerk (Former Employee) –  London, ON4 November 2017
It was great but the work wasn't consistent
overnight shifts wasn't suitable for my family situation
hardest part of the job is being a casual and last minute call
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Canada Post?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly unionized envoronment
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 November 2017
lots of layoffs from permanent employees for casuals like me do not have any job security
Good pay and management appreciates you for doing your job
Different work schedule as a casual
Pros
good pay
Cons
no job stability
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sort and deliver mail items in a safe and secure manner
Rural and Suburban Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Vimy, AB2 November 2017
In the 4 years that I've been a rural and suburban mail carrier, there has been no opportunities for growth. This company doesn't offer any employee incentives or bonuses, very little raises. My job duties have over doubled in that time with zero recognition from upper management. Working out of a small town post office, I am responsible to find a security cleared individual with access to a personal vehicle in order to cover my route on days that I am sick or want a vacation or personal day. I have never taken my fully entitled vacation time. The one bonus is that I don't have a specific start time and my particular route allows me to handle personal affairs around my work time.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Poor pay, no days off, no advancement, no recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current casual
PRODUCTION DISTRIBUTION, (Current Employee) –  London, ON2 November 2017
First of all you start off making at least seven dollars less an hour and then a full-time/ part-time worker. It will take you seven years to make top rate after you get hired on which could also take several years.
Now that the bad stuff is said it is a good place work the schedule is flexible the other casuals are decent and friendly, however, full-time and part-time employees may not treat casuals as nicely as they would if you were hired on.
This is a great place to work towards a future job, not the best scenario for a current job as you'll have to balance two jobs to keep your head afloat
Pros
Flexible schedule, good coworkers, easy work
Cons
Two-tier wage system. Undetermined hours per week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I though slavery was abolished.
Temp on call mail carrier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 October 2017
Ok pay, but management does not know how to deal with employees. All about low end emplyees working most for less pay, so management can get higher bonuses. Felt like a slave at times, and treated like garbage. Politics involved. Management inflict fair on emplyees. Disorginized organization, with no direction. Where union is useless, who licks management's behind, where the $63,000,000 annual union fees goes?
No work and life balance, 8 to 10 hours on average day, with somedays with no brakes taken. Federal government should restructure this corrupted, slavery driven organization.
Co workers on the other hand were nice.
Pros
If you get to last there 40 years you be crippled but with good pension.
Cons
Hard work, slavery, politics, no work and life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not impressed
coop student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 October 2017
I was there for 3 months as a co-op student, therefore cannot provide valued feedback. Nevertheless, my work was slow paced and not stimulating. I have heard better assessment from others.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcome to the company you'll be with for the rest of your career
Postal Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 October 2017
Close to home

Supportive environment

Lots of opportunities to advance

Zero tolerance of workplace violence or harassment

Canada wide opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Shop Steward (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC21 October 2017
Your memory will be stronger in this work, as well as an ability to work in a fast-paced environment. Right place to work if you want to be coordinated
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Want to work for Life labs asap.
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON20 October 2017
Love driving and dealing with people all day. Think I can do this job picking up from Docters offices and getting it back to Life Labs safely and on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Maitre de poste (Former Employee) –  Baie-Comeau, QC19 October 2017
Servir la clientèle et très bonne condition de travail
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps you busy
Contractor (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC18 October 2017
It is convenient and you can work at your own pace. Lots of outdoors and interaction with others. I choose when to work, and its an independent job...
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canada Post. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 874 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5