Canada Life Assurance Company Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search See all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK25 October 2018
Unfortunately I have nothing positive to say about this company. I worked there for a year and a half and It was an absolutely awful experience. Every person I know that has worked there and quit has said the same thing.
Pros
none
Cons
lots
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Turnover. Opportunities for Advancement. Good Management makes a real difference.
Sr. Bilingual Client Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 September 2018
Being on the front line is difficult as CSR's as you bear the brunt of the angry world, but there is a lot to be learned in one of these roles and it teaches you many valuable skills amongst other things. Probably better than other Call Centres, but still a tough work environment to stay in long-term. With high turnover, some teams can get overloaded leading to staff burnout and ultimately unhappy employees. Good management in some teams seems to help reduce the turnover; ultimately when staff feels well supported, they perform better and also provide better service for their customers and it loops back around again. The opposite can be said for poor management; a hard work environment + lack of support = recipe for high turnover.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Team Spirit Place
Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 May 2018
A great place to work, a true team spirit among members. Management support is always there and they stood by their staff. A great team of professional and talented people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the hours of work
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 April 2018
Lots of training provided by the company
Advanced my knowledge of Microsoft software
The company would say one thing and then do something totally different
They would prepare some activities throughout the year.
Pros
Was steady work, great co-workers, learned many new things
Cons
do not keep their word, forever changing leadership/team leader, no chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Operations Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Toronto10 March 2018
Very busy
Alot on how to work with employees
Manager was very productive and alwasy redy to listen
Very good and friendly
Trying to motivate colleagues to be more productive
End of day.
Pros
Same as previous
Cons
Same as previous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing Specialist
Marketing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 January 2018
The role is very fast past - expect a lot of change. Great atmosphere for continued learning. You must be organized and detail oriented. Expect to be in a few hours of meetings a day. Given the ability to demonstrate multitasking abilities.
Pros
People are friendly. Advancement possible.Benefits are decent.
Cons
Use of ClickTime. Many meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of interesting work, good teams, great collaboration
Project Leader (contract), Information Technology (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 January 2018
From the IT perspective Canada Life has great processes and very good management. People were goal oriented and everyone worked together to achieve the shared objectives. There is a very helpful and collaborative workplace culture.
Pros
Solid SDLC practises
Cons
Long Hours, pressure to make targets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place for personnel growth
Record Managment Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 January 2018
I was in a transition job status from labour to admin. level , employer supported and change my career path . My confidence level rising due to an excellent support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Associate Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 January 2018
Overall an excellent company to work for. I have gained so much experience and enjoyed being a part of canada life. They have given me several opportunties to grow and prove myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
New Business Technician -Individual Insurance (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 January 2018
Canada Life has helped me achieve my goals and objectives and has provided a very good workplace. I am very happy that I had the opportunity to be employed by such a great company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 August 2017
This was a fair and average place to work. They had a large focus on work life balance and had many social clubs. I really felt like I was part of a large family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This insurance company was acquired by Great-West Life.
Manager, Business Solutions / Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 June 2017
Prior to acquisition by Great-West Life, Canada Life was an organization having approximately 150 employees. It took a progressive approach towards insurance solutions for clients.
Pros
Great culture.
Cons
No longer exists as an independent entity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Claims Examiner (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 May 2017
I left only because of my family responsibilities and low salary. Canada Life has a great corporate culture which is like a family. I would work for Canada Life without question.
Pros
Work environment
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Investment Settlements Admin (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 November 2016
Always enjoyed my time with Canada Life. Over 25 years service. Had 2-3 different jobs over the years but enjoyed all facets of the work.
Pros
Good people and a good culture.
Cons
Salary maybe a bit below average but great benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 May 2014
Management is good at understanding the QA requirements. Team meetings helps me to share my ideas which helped to improve the quality of testing and time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Accounting and Dues Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario18 February 2014
Excellent place to work however most opportunities where given to staff who were not on Contract I was in a Contract position so it was difficult to know how long I would be employed there.
Pros
great atmosphere
Cons
no benefits on contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extraordinary place to work
Sr. QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 November 2012
Enormous growth opportunities.
Career center initiatives to improve the processes within the company, to update knowledge of employees by providing trainings.
One-on-One sessions for each employee every month.
Company policies are outstanding and the culture is really good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work with
Toronto, ON (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 November 2012
Good values and Growth in career.
Career center initiatives and one on one sessions are really helpful to the employees within the company.
Pros
activities for employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team atmosphere
Marketing & Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 August 2012
incoming emails / phone calls / govern a great part of the day. Individual initiatives for marketing are encouraged, as are educational advancements.
Pros
great team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Canada Life Assurance Company reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canada Life Assurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 31 reviews
518
411
31
20
11

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Canada Life Assurance Company Reviews by Location