Canada Life Assurance Company Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search See all 41 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive company with a great work culture
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS21 November 2018
A supportive company with a great work culture. They invest in their employees and support them in their goals at work. Management is insightful and helpful and provides excellent feedback on work; always available for any questions an employee may have.
Pros
Great work-life balance
Cons
Not much opportunity for advancement depending on your office's region
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK25 October 2018
Unfortunately I have nothing positive to say about this company. I worked there for a year and a half and It was an absolutely awful experience. Every person I know that has worked there and quit has said the same thing.
Pros
none
Cons
lots
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall experience working with Canada Life, benefits, work life balance.
SR ACCOUNT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  London, ON13 September 2018
I've enjoyed working at Canada Life for nearly eight years and have had the opportunity to work with some truly amazing people. I've worked with major banks and retailers across the country developing effective telemarketing for affinity products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Turnover. Opportunities for Advancement. Good Management makes a real difference.
Sr. Bilingual Client Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 September 2018
Being on the front line is difficult as CSR's as you bear the brunt of the angry world, but there is a lot to be learned in one of these roles and it teaches you many valuable skills amongst other things. Probably better than other Call Centres, but still a tough work environment to stay in long-term. With high turnover, some teams can get overloaded leading to staff burnout and ultimately unhappy employees. Good management in some teams seems to help reduce the turnover; ultimately when staff feels well supported, they perform better and also provide better service for their customers and it loops back around again. The opposite can be said for poor management; a hard work environment + lack of support = recipe for high turnover.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and enjoyable experience
Compliance Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 June 2018
Positive environment, the growth possibilities were endless the leadership team positive, and a landscape that espoused learning and rewarded success in various formats.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Team Spirit Place
Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 May 2018
A great place to work, a true team spirit among members. Management support is always there and they stood by their staff. A great team of professional and talented people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Client Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  London, ON28 April 2018
- typical 9 to 5 job, some positions allow you to choose your hours.
- some positions offer working from home
- amazing benefits, pension plan and shared ownership contributions available
Pros
benefits, good pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the hours of work
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 April 2018
Lots of training provided by the company
Advanced my knowledge of Microsoft software
The company would say one thing and then do something totally different
They would prepare some activities throughout the year.
Pros
Was steady work, great co-workers, learned many new things
Cons
do not keep their word, forever changing leadership/team leader, no chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Operations Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Toronto10 March 2018
Very busy
Alot on how to work with employees
Manager was very productive and alwasy redy to listen
Very good and friendly
Trying to motivate colleagues to be more productive
End of day.
Pros
Same as previous
Cons
Same as previous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing Specialist
Marketing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 January 2018
The role is very fast past - expect a lot of change. Great atmosphere for continued learning. You must be organized and detail oriented. Expect to be in a few hours of meetings a day. Given the ability to demonstrate multitasking abilities.
Pros
People are friendly. Advancement possible.Benefits are decent.
Cons
Use of ClickTime. Many meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of interesting work, good teams, great collaboration
Project Leader (contract), Information Technology (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 January 2018
From the IT perspective Canada Life has great processes and very good management. People were goal oriented and everyone worked together to achieve the shared objectives. There is a very helpful and collaborative workplace culture.
Pros
Solid SDLC practises
Cons
Long Hours, pressure to make targets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place for personnel growth
Record Managment Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 January 2018
I was in a transition job status from labour to admin. level , employer supported and change my career path . My confidence level rising due to an excellent support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Associate Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 January 2018
Overall an excellent company to work for. I have gained so much experience and enjoyed being a part of canada life. They have given me several opportunties to grow and prove myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
New Business Technician -Individual Insurance (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 January 2018
Canada Life has helped me achieve my goals and objectives and has provided a very good workplace. I am very happy that I had the opportunity to be employed by such a great company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 August 2017
This was a fair and average place to work. They had a large focus on work life balance and had many social clubs. I really felt like I was part of a large family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This insurance company was acquired by Great-West Life.
Manager, Business Solutions / Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 June 2017
Prior to acquisition by Great-West Life, Canada Life was an organization having approximately 150 employees. It took a progressive approach towards insurance solutions for clients.
Pros
Great culture.
Cons
No longer exists as an independent entity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Claims Examiner (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 May 2017
I left only because of my family responsibilities and low salary. Canada Life has a great corporate culture which is like a family. I would work for Canada Life without question.
Pros
Work environment
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Investment Settlements Admin (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 November 2016
Always enjoyed my time with Canada Life. Over 25 years service. Had 2-3 different jobs over the years but enjoyed all facets of the work.
Pros
Good people and a good culture.
Cons
Salary maybe a bit below average but great benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for.
Client Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 March 2016
It was always a pleasure working for this company.

I enjoy my 3 contracts I had since 2015.

Would very much like a 2-3 years contract to retirement.

Awesome company and love the management team.

They were pleasant to work with and know how to make your contract end with a big smile.
Lunch, flowers and thank you card was a end to a beautiful 9 weeks contract.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay is average but job security seems good
Claim Processor (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK23 August 2015
it is a good start for newly graduates. job can be very stressful during winter time.up side is working time is very flexible. it is all base on honor system. coworkers are very nice and extremly hard-working.
Pros
stable
Cons
average pay & benefit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canada Life Assurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 41 reviews
525
411
34
20
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.1Culture

Canada Life Assurance Company Reviews by Location