Canada Bread Employee Reviews for Machine Operator

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 209 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON23 April 2019
Some ladies on the roll lines are racist they also fired me because I m Indian . I am working in shipping department and most the employees in that area were good .
Pros
Good working atmosphere
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bait and switch
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 June 2018
Hired as a machine operator with a pay of $16.90/hr to start. No other number was discussed. There is training period and during this time my pay was $15.17/hr. I complained but they say it is normal. Went to the union and they said this is wrong and would fight to recover my lost wages. I found another job with higher pay and quit.
Pros
Free bread
Cons
No weekends off and you don’t get two consecutive days off!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
MACHINE OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 April 2018
it isn't a fun place to work. they play favoritism.they don't care for their staff.it has been the worst place i have ever worked at. People are leave the place like crazy. they mess with your holidays never get along weekend
Pros
free bread
Cons
straight shifts union put it back in when staff from Toronto came to the plan.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
expect you to do more then 1 person can do
MACHINE OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 February 2018
not a fun place to work. you could go in to do your shift and be told you are done.you never know what you will be doing on your shift till you get there and sometimes they give you a job that takes 3 people to due in a 10 hour shift and expect 1 person to do it in 10 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good salary
Bakery Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 November 2017
made lot of friends, good benifits culture is good but sometimes management makes harsh decisions and dont take considerations but not all, some associates are helpfull and some are not
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours
Bakery Roll Line Machine Operator & Indexer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON19 January 2017
Canada Bread had good flexible hours, lots of overtime... good place to work for a summer student.
I learned lots of new skills including how to operate the roll line.
Management was great and super accommodating
People were nice, fun to work with
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Factory Setting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON18 January 2017
Typical day was punching in getting to the line and working. If you had a smooth day consider that a blessing compared to what could happen while working there. Lines are old as dust. Problems come up outta no where and you get blamed for stuff that you were NEVER trained to deal with. Basically trained myself with the exception of two employees that trained me, the rest were either useless and/or language barrier was to distant. In the summer you might as well be in the depths working with the devil. Co-workers werent bad except for a few. Most enjoyable part was punching out and not having to deal with faulty machinery for 8 hours then it starts again the next day.
Pros
Paid Breaks
Cons
Weird Hours, Old machinery
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place, Tough schedule
Ontario-Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON15 September 2016
Work was far from difficult and the compensation was exceptional considering the tasks given. However the scheduling was inconsistent which led to a difficult home work balance.
Pros
Free bread, Great co-workers
Cons
Schedule, schedule, schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Machine Operator/Relief operator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 February 2016
it was a good place to work, it was good pay, people there where nice, and get free bread 2 times a week, really dont know what else to say
Pros
Free Bread
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked night shift for 10 years and enjoyed the shift
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON6 January 2016
Worked on several different packaging lines that produced Glad garbage bags sandwich bags and freezer bags.
Enjoyed being the shift safety rep where I conducted monthly meetings and also performed monthly safety checks on lines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work.
machine operator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON6 January 2016
I enjoyed working with my team mates and management on changes that improved our over all working experience and day to day production.
Took great pride in the quality of products we were producing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report

See more Canada Bread reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canada Bread. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 209 reviews
565
469
347
214
114

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture