Canada Bread Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
MACHINE OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 April 2018
it isn't a fun place to work. they play favoritism.they don't care for their staff.it has been the worst place i have ever worked at. People are leave the place like crazy. they mess with your holidays never get along weekend
Pros
free bread
Cons
straight shifts union put it back in when staff from Toronto came to the plan.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work for this company if you want to get screwed.
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Yorkton, SK19 March 2018
Terrible work life balance and they burn you out and get rid of you with no notice or compensation. Horrible management outdated equipment and they don’t reimburse you for purchases for the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation fair but a heavy workload and long days
Distributor (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 March 2018
A typical day as a distributor starts at 4am and can go until suppertime most days, you are running a business for a much larger corporation and you can expect to work 6 days/week most weeks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work But Expect Unhealthy Schedules
Operator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 February 2018
I enjoyed working here. You can get along with lots of people here. Above minimum wage salary , lots of benefits , training if you're new is awesome since you will be spending alot of time in one macine, but when you already know a lot of machines they seem to borrow you out during your training to do other machines(training interruptions) . The company is always open to suggestions and comments they dont shy about what you think. I've seen improvement from when I was hired. Theyve learned to study on what or what they can improve on. Its a growing company. What I hate about the company is how they give unhealthy schedules to swing shift people(those who doesn't have a post or regular schedule) You only get a permanent schedule if you win a posting which is usually chosen by seniority. You against the people whove been working here for a long time. You'll have a messy unhealthy schedule when you're new or at the bottom of seniority. They can put you morning noon and night shift in a week, it will mess your sleep if you have a busy schedule at home or you have other activities in your life. Work here if you don't have other things to do since you will be scheduled anytime they want if youre new and dont acquire a posting.
Pros
Free Breads, Lots of Benefits
Cons
Unhealthy Schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON26 February 2018
interesting place but very hot in the summer and very cold in the winter. The summer was always extremely busy. Very hectic. A lot of overtime in the summer. Winter was very slow
Pros
Free bread
Cons
Very hot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Machine Operator / Stacker (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON22 February 2018
assist machine operators
stack bread onto racks for shipping department
check quality of bread coming down the line
making sure bread was sliced correctly
Pros
free bread after each shift
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its nice place for working
Factory Worker (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON21 February 2018
working is very good and for the employer it is very nice and comfort.
The management is very supportable for the workers and almost supervisors are good behaviour .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
expect you to do more then 1 person can do
MACHINE OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 February 2018
not a fun place to work. you could go in to do your shift and be told you are done.you never know what you will be doing on your shift till you get there and sometimes they give you a job that takes 3 people to due in a 10 hour shift and expect 1 person to do it in 10 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing work place always safe and great people
General Worker (Current Employee) –  Moncton, NB29 January 2018
love this job was one of my favorites I was always happy to go to work and my mangers and supervisors where always help full and always tried to help u if u needed it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON14 January 2018
great place to work at i really enjoy it learning lots always busy i like how its in my city and i can do what i have to do and get done and do the same thing every day its routine which i enjoy
Pros
driving always busy
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My bosses were very awesome
Shipper and Receiver (Former Employee) –  Camrose, AB27 December 2017
Since my fist day they were very helpful in training and showed me everything in needed to complete my job and always informed me on when the shipment would be late and if it was late my bosses would help me get the shipment ready to ship.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned to be the leader
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 December 2017
I learned how to manage a company with no supervision. Did bank deposits, trained new employees , made orders for the store. Was my most memorial experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the same company it was
Cash application administrator (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON14 December 2017
disconnect between management and actual work.
Very good for short term work .
Bad for long term
not health work/life balance
allows you to learn how to work under pressure
which a good thing .
Very cheap
Pros
Job security
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed workplace. Some hourly employees enjoy three-hour breaks. Management just let floor teams manage themselves.
Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 December 2017
The floor is run by personalities. The union is the surrogate HR department.

Management has relinquished control of certain departments such as shipping, maintenance.
Pros
Autonomy
Cons
Exclusive administrative office clique. Perks enjoyed discriminating against rank and file.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tres bon avantage sociaux et salaire mais relation humaine avec les travailleurs excecrable
Journalier (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC4 December 2017
Bonne entreprise mais besoin de changement organisationnel au niveau des cadres.
Pros
Salaire, avantage sociaux
Cons
Relation avec les syndiqués extremement mauvaise., Horaire des salaries temporaire dur pour la vie familiale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canada Bread
Full Time Salaried (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 December 2017
Great company to work with from developing skill sets and experience. Work life balance almost none existing.
Culture is becoming more and more controlling since transition of owner ship without offering any decent work life balance.
Pros
Amazing colleagues
Cons
Long hours, less appreciation other than competitive salary & benefits, Leadership lacks firm directions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety as a priority
Sanitation Worker, production area, shipping (Former Employee) –  Calgary24 November 2017
Safety first. The company doesn't tolerate any kind of harassment and discrimination. Also the company wants you to be punctual and not miss work for no reason.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good salary
Bakery Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 November 2017
made lot of friends, good benifits culture is good but sometimes management makes harsh decisions and dont take considerations but not all, some associates are helpfull and some are not
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Une bonne environnement de travail
Aide Planificateur de la maintenance (Current Employee) –  Quebec City, QC15 November 2017
Environnement de travail respectueux, sécuritaire,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
General Labourer (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC6 November 2017
Shipping and receiving
order picking
warehouse maintenance
compatible with colleagues
Management was supportive
At times there was heavy lifting other wise the work place was manageable
Pros
flexable hours
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canada Bread. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 163 reviews
550
457
340
29
17

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture