CAMH Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search See all 23 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Student Nurse (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 July 2019
I had my placement at a schizophrenia unit. The nurses were very helpful and learned a lot about communication skills. Overall a good environment to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 July 2019
I have learned a lot and have grown to be a better worker. You are like working in a restauarant wherein you plate food or portion it. As well as working in a warehouse and catering services.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Research Assistant I (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 July 2019
A great place to work. Pay is really good and the management and coworkers are exceptionally welcoming, positive and support for the most part. It's a small team, so theres not many positions available or too much opportunity to advance. But being small gives the opportunity to learn each others roles and duties in order to cover each others shifts for days off etc. Most roles/shifts are taken by permanent, full time employees but theres a few casual staff that get some shifts. CAMH is building and expanding at Queen/Ossington so maybe there will be new positions opening if they expand the team.
Pros
Supportive manager
Cons
Unpredictable schedule/# of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 January 2019
Good work environment, employees and corresponding workers are manageable and easy to navigate, straight forward instructions in work management and responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Concurrent Disorder Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 November 2018
Loved working here. If it wasnt for my 2 hour daily communte, I would love to still be working there. My co-workers were fantastic, loved the clients. Definately an A+ organization !
Pros
Staff, the actual work
Cons
My commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very interesting place to work
Supervisor .PLANT OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 September 2018
This is a Hospital with Mental health and addiction.Very demanding place. Lot of calls for maintenance hot /cold and Patients breaking items as they are mentally ill
Pros
most of the time free meals
Cons
overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a difficult place to work with the amount of people in crisis
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 July 2018
A typical day at work involves handling of calls involving people in crisis.

I learned that you can de-escalate the situation by talking people down.

The hardest part of the job is working with people while in crisis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stuff
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 June 2018
This company was a good safe environment with minimal risk. The job was easy. I've learned customer service experience with the job. Easy laid back work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced and Knowledgeable Clinicians
Mental health pharm intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 June 2018
Effective communication, great interprofessional team dynamics, medication reconciliation, patient assessment and recommendations, therapeutic recommendations for alternatives, patient medication management and follow-up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok For some
Information Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 March 2018
I found my experience at CAMH cold. Unfortunately it wasn't the right fit for myself however those in the field would find it quite rewarding. I would love to work there again should I get the experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was wonderful experience
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 August 2017
it was very steady most the time but sometimes it was quite busy people come and go and patient come and filled out there intake assessment also co-workers were wonderful people and I had great time working with them
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and educational. The coworkers are the best.
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 February 2017
A rewarding place to work. You get to work along with doctors and nurses. You also learn a lot about the human mind. You also learn about mental illness and health issues. The hours are long. But that is offset by the great and fun co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 October 2016
Great co workers, fantastic benefits and salary.
Company has a good team atmosphere that fosters cooperation and respect.
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping clients that are in need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Lead Technician/Deskside - Contract (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario9 October 2015
Fun workplace with great co workers.
The workplace was very fast pace and having to meet with high demands made it very exciting to be apart of a great company.
Being able to work full time at CAMH was quite the experience for me, I've expanded my technical knowledge with a group of high intelligent colleagues that have shown me the steps to further my horizon.
There were plenty of variety of task to perform each day, ranging in performing IMAC to updating the service desk logs on the computer.
Pros
Transportation was very close.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding work experience
Student Recreation Therapist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 February 2014
After doing a year of my placement at CAMH. I believe that I am able to work in any environment. It has prepared for the real life work experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy every job i do.
Surveyor (Former Employee) –  queen street30 January 2014
I enjoyed my experince. helped people and the clients have helped me too. I thank them they are valuable people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always focused on accuracy
Accounts Receivable Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto20 December 2013
Am a team player, and am extremely dedicated to the work I do with a great passion. Interested in learning new stuff. I like ok share my knowledge with everyone and also learn from others.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Research Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 November 2013
Highly collaborative environment where much can be learned.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A temporary job for a one year period
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 August 2013
Depending on the administration's office staff, I would either be very busy with a lot of responsibility or just working as an assistant sending fax's or photocopying or arranging employee training. I learned how to use Outlook to arrange meetings and catering for said meetings. I arranged hotel, travel and car rentals to the US. Co-workers were wonderful even though we ususally just communicated through Outlook! The hardest part of the job, that at times there wasn't a lot of assignments. The most enjoyable part of the job was when I was busy and took over for the Administrative Assistant on Sick leave, when I would be busy again.
Pros
Very lovely work environment
Cons
Sometimes not enough to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good organization!
Research Assistant, Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 August 2012
A positive learning experience!
Very good team of co-researchers/research analysts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

See more CAMH reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CAMH. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 23 reviews
512
46
34
21
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.4Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.0Culture

CAMH Reviews by Location