Cameco Employee Reviews

Found 93 reviews matching the search See all 106 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding work area.
Site Services Foreman (Former Employee) –  Northern Saskatchewan31 December 2018
My work day included scheduling of work to be completed by Site Services department which is comprised of approximately 18 employees. Daily tasks included scheduling work according to site requirements. Scope of work included road maintenance, airport maintenance, Waste removal, excavation when required, trucking and transport of ore to supply mill and vac truck assignments.
SAP used to generate work orders and notifications.
Incident investigation and corrective actions.
Monitor employee training to ensure all training was up to date.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life in a day
Senior Mine Technician (Former Employee) –  Mine Site, Saskatchewan12 December 2018
Work day was full of challenges and a lot of interactions with various departments and always fun filled work day. Meeting daily and weekly deadlines.
Pros
Good paying work and took care of employees
Cons
Being away from home but adjusted well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for...
Mine Administrator (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK20 November 2018
After 22 yrs with one company, they made my transition simply and with ease. Reacquainted with old friends and coworkers. Having met and made new great ones...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  McArthur river18 November 2018
Good atmosphere before layoffs and cutbacks. Great accommodations , average food, gym facilities proved to be quite adequate. Travelling in fall and winter hit and miss as all fly ins seem to encounter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace excellent
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK31 October 2018
Excellent to work And work people was great to work with in the different departments. Try new things every day and ever day is a different day, in the the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  McArthur River, SK22 October 2018
I learned how to run a underground mill, water treatment plant. They were a good company, the people were good, the money was also good. The camp was very nice. The work wasnt too hard.
Pros
Good camp
Cons
C0-Workers not doing their job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Mill Operator (Former Employee) –  Key Lake, SK11 October 2018
Unfortunate events in uranium prices forced company to layoff many front line workers. I was hoping to retire at this company. The company did everything it could to make it comfortable at site for employees.
Pros
Awesome camp
Cons
Nill
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the startup pace
Process Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK10 October 2018
A typical day in the camp life was fairly quiet as it had a bar but no alcohol in the rooms. There was recreation. Food was good.
This was at the Key Lake Mine site.
McArthur River was quiet also. I did not have much time for recreation as I was dayshift nite shift foreman requiring long hours.
Pros
good television and food
Cons
For myself there really wasn't, any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for. Work/Life balance and job satisfaction a priority.
Senior Site Planner (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK9 October 2018
Cameco is a diverse place to work with a wide range of personalities. Initial direction of my role was a functional role involved in the development of the Scheduling aspect of Project Controls department. There were several highly helpful individuals involved in this work who made working at Cameco very exciting and rewarding. Upon transitioning into the Senior Site Planner role I became more involved with Construction Management and their Northern Sites. Our CMT was a wealth knowledge and experience and I feel the involvement with this group has made a huge impact and increased my expertise greatly.
Pros
Flexiable Hours
Cons
Specific Management personnel had very little in Construction experiance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once a very profitable organization has fallen on hard times
Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan24 September 2018
Many forces outside of the company's control have significantly impacted the company's profitability. A once highly profitable organization has since had to suspend operations for an undetermined amount of time in order to allow the market to recover.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is a good place to work
Training specialist (Current Employee) –  mcarthur river12 September 2018
Cameco takes care of their employees with great salaries and perks. They have fallen on hard times recently and the company had to adapt for the worse. It did take its toll on alot of the things that made them great to work for, thats why i no longer work for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Great People, Tough Times.
Analytical Laboratory Technologist (Former Employee) –  Blind River, ON20 August 2018
I was employed at a small site within the company with only a few hundred employees. The people employed there have been amazing and were always willing to mentor and assist whenever needed. Most of the employees were friends outside of work and organized events in and out of work where employees would get together and socialize. The company provided schedule options and flexible hours. Your birthday is a paid day off and you receive a gift every year if the site has maintained a no LTA record. In the years after the Fukushima incident and the downturn of the nuclear industry, the corporate culture has begun to change and not for the better. Recently before I retired, most of the perks had been taken away in the name of cost saving and the new "do more with less" corporate slogan had strained relationships between departments and between employees and management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance
Metallurgist (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK19 July 2018
Good working environment
nice work life balance
friendly environment
fishing activities during summer
lots of good training courses
good salary and bonous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Mine Geologist (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan30 May 2018
Decent place to work, times are tough in mining and uranium these days. Upper level management is completely disconnected with the reality of the front line workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great benefits, upward mobility
HEAVY EQUIPMENT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Key Lake, Sk16 May 2018
trained and certified with hours to operated various types of equipment. Was also training others at site. The workplace had a lot of Indigeneous peoples who were well qualified and were trained to move upward. Great Place to work.
Pros
Inclusive
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits but too much bureocracy
Exploration Geologist III (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK9 May 2018
This company in overall has great salary/benefits and it tries to have a good life balance. Uranium is not on its highest right now so the company is suffering.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a good place to work
Workface Planner Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Port Hope, ON3 May 2018
I am only a contractor so i cant give a full review but seems like employees have a good place to work. there are events to support the community and employees rally around other employees if needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salary, difficult lifestyle.
WAREHOUSE SUPERVISOR/MATERIALS COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  McArthur River29 April 2018
No meaningful change or adaptation to new technologies or processes. Lot of talk little action. High internal staff transfers make it difficult to implement real change.
Pros
Great salary
Cons
Difficult to implement changes that could make operations more efficient and reduce costs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan27 February 2018
I really enjoyed working with Cameco. It was one of the best companies I have worked for. They had really nice trucks to drive, nice equipment to drive, all the equipment was fairly new and it was a good place to work with good people. I had friends there so whenever I had lunch or supper we would talk and enjoy our meals.
Pros
nice equipment, nice camp, good facilities
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great pay and great co-workers
Document Control Administrator (Former Employee) –  Cigar Lake Mine, SK12 February 2018
Overall great pay and great co-workers, job tasks were ok, flights were good and on time most of the time, management consisted mostly of a boys club.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport