Cambridge Pro Fab Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Welder (Former Employee) –  Brant, ON23 April 2018
the people were very nice but there was hardly any direction in what to do and the pay was brutal. they also hired on days and then after surprised you with no your on afternoons but training is days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for learning all areas, benefits, hours
Welder/Fitter (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON19 April 2018
All custom fitting/welding, never do the same thing twice.

Good place to learn especially coming out of school. Everyone is helpful. Can get experience in many different materials. Pay less then expected but for what you gain in experience and benefits it works out

Benefits which is a bonus and they have work hours where you get off at noon fridays
Pros
hours benefits experience helpful
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn at the same time
Employee (Current Employee) –  Cainsville Ont.21 November 2017
I've worked here over a decade and have always had challenges before me. As soon as I mastered one task the next was upon me.

Management very helpful but spread a little thin.

Wages definitely a little low but can still make a decent pay check with overtime.

Considering with everything I've learned ( knowledge of the trade) at work the wages aren't that bad.
Pros
Learning Environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn and gain experience.
Prefer not to say (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON19 November 2017
One of the few places one can see the engineering side and the fabrication all in one roof. Lots of people willing to train you on different jobs.
Safety seems to be important but can use some work.
Wages aren't competitive considering you have to buy your own tools. benefits and vacation take a while to get, but great spot to gain experience.
Pros
Learn lots, great people
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of drug use
General Labourer (Current Employee) –  Cainsville, ON29 June 2017
Lunch time is 420. Almost all the employees and management smoke pot during lunch break on the afternoon shift. If you get too wasted to work thatt's ok, the supervisor will fill out an incident report claiming you hit your head and send you home.
Easygoing place to work. Pay sucks but lunch makes up for it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized, focused and friendly
Welder (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON14 June 2017
Management and workers are focused on safety and are focused on production. There is very good communication and job expectations are clear.

Worker responsibilities are clear and supervisors and management are always available and helpful.
Pros
clean and safe
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent start rate but you need to buy everything
Welder/Fitter (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON19 December 2016
Anywhere they say you have to provide your own tools right off the bat is a place you do not want to work at. I got a job there 18$ start not bad, had my own helmet and jacket but they wanted me to buy everything else id need to work...
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable with constant in-fighting
former employee (Former Employee) –  Brantford24 November 2016
Dirty and unsafe conditions. Kind of a low-life mentality with workers unwilling to help you if you don't fit in (you don't have tattoos, smoke or constantly spit). Brantford plant manager is like a bulldog glaring at people and pushing work out the door before it is completed properly. When the problems are discovered - it was the employees fault.

Good welders are totally unnoticed.

Pay is the worst in the industry.
Pros
none come to mind
Cons
work environment, management and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start welding
Junior Welder & Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON30 October 2016
I enjoyed my time there and the experience I received but I have out grown the company.
Did not like the pay scale they offered.. they need to be competitive with other welding institutions.
Pros
none
Cons
better pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpful co-workers, no security
Junior Welder (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON30 September 2016
This place seems good at first. They say they are willing to help you learn...which the senior welders do. Even when the senior welders say that you are doing a great job, the management decides to fire many people at a time.
Seems to me that this might be common practice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Unknown (Former Employee) –  Unknown24 June 2016
Good place to work, people were nice and respectfull.
Low wage.
No room for advancement.
Raises were far from what you were worth.

When it was time for lay off there was no reason why someone was chosen to be let go.
People were picked and that was it.
Pros
Good people, challenging projects
Cons
Low wage, not enough wage increase, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Stable
AZ Driver (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON5 March 2016
Not Stable employment,Alot of unfair play...Good Hours when they were available,Pay was good. benefits..layed off with no notice at all for pointing out insubordinate employee.
Pros
Good Hours
Cons
Not Stable
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
fitter/welder (Current Employee) –  ancaster17 September 2015
the most enjoyable pary to of the job is working alongside my colleague. Fitting different product , trying new machines
Pros
good poeple
Cons
long drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Plant manager - plant 4
Quality Assurance Inspector (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON13 August 2015
Good Plant manager - plant 4 - good people

good working hours - management could be better - learn a lot from here - wage very low for what people do here
Pros
ok for experiance
Cons
money money money
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Welder/Fitter (Former Employee) –  ancaster, on11 March 2015
didnt care for this placw at all and will never go back. welding was a joke and work was not placed well. very dirty and alot of gosip
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horid pay, but decent collegues
Intermediate Detailer/ Designer (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON26 January 2015
I wanted to chop certain people's heads off. But the Engineering people there are quite good. So working with most staff is good, but HR is quite abismal. It's a one way street with this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experenince
Welder / Fitter (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON11 May 2014
good place to learn, company takes a hit on wages to keep company competitive.
Pros
learning
Cons
not much room for wage increases
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly, welcoming work atmosphere
Junior Welder (Former Employee) –  Plant 4, Ancaster, Ontario24 November 2013
Although many tasks were repetitive the Ancaster facility maintains a high degree of quality. The shop supervisor is professional and knowledgeable but friendly and always willing to help when needed. Overall a very nice place to work.
Pros
Interesting work projects which challenges you to hone your welding skills
Cons
Unstable job market and a bit low on the pay scale for what is asked of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, productive work atmosphere. Management is very helpful.
Welder (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON28 June 2013
I worked 40 hours a week, day shift Monday to Friday, plus overtime.
Management was extremely helpful. The work environment was laid back, productive and my co-workers were easy going and supportive of one another. The hands on experience I gained has been helpful in my professional growth such as operating a crane, fixing and repairing multiple types of welding. I learned how to weld in many different types of positions to be able to complete the job with precise accuracy. The hardest part of my job is when production slowed down as I enjoy the fast paced environment, however I had no difficulty seeking out alternative tasks to keep busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cambridge Pro Fab. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 20 reviews
51
45
310
22
12

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Cambridge Pro Fab Reviews by Location