Calgary Stampede Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and fun atmosphere!
Event Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary16 April 2018
I worked at the Calgary Stampede for 4 years and really enjoyed my time there. I learned a lot about the event industry and developed strong working relationships with my team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Usher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 April 2018
Made lots of friends, also learned people skills. Management and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Real nice culture that made me want to come back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 March 2018
Making sure people are having fun, letting people know where all the amenities are, and watching specific areas of the venue.

The work place culture is awesome because of the Stampede vibe.
Pros
discounts at certain stampede places
Cons
Only employed for 10 days per year
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Indian Village Cultural Interpreter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 March 2018
It was a good work experience to learn more about my culture and meeting new people from a different country for a short of time during the 10 days I enjoyed my time.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Draftsperson (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 March 2018
management was awful.
best part was my coworkers.
worst part was money and management
did not enjoy the work setting....offices small and close to one another
Pros
some free lunches
Cons
poor pay, never any pay increase
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment Summer Position
Concession attendant (Former Employee) –  Clagary13 March 2018
Staff was always welcoming and encouraging amazing customer service. Taught skills that were needed. Provided work wear (shirt). Hardest part was learning the machines for money (new vs. old machine).
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great new and always changing work
Carpenters assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 March 2018
Start off with a meeting and an overview of the job at hand for that day. Drive to job site and commence work. Overall the employees were friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Line cook, buffet banquet, VIP banquet (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 March 2018
Families employee, all chef are friendly, hours for employee is really great management, vast environment to work at. Lots of experience place, and many thing for people to learn
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stockperson
Stock person (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 February 2018
Everyone is really nice and work together as a team.
Work is really busy and hard at time, however accommodation are made for work to be done efficiently.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and Working Conditions
Guest Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 January 2018
I worked at the admissions gate which was horrible in the heat and no air conditioning. The supervisors had no idea what was happening and forgot to send people on break often. If you were a dollar off, you were kept after hours to sort it out for at least another 45 minutes.
Pros
Guaranteed hours
Cons
Working conditions, bureaucracy, and poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun, enjoyable
In the position of 'Wait Staff (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 December 2017
I do enjoy working here, its friendly and very positive. allows for quite a bit of variety withing a different style industry. I enjoy seeing new coworkers with each new shift that comes
Pros
Meal deductions( always supplied food), Friendly, Different types of work are offered
Cons
longer late night hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people I worked with were easy going and fun to be around.
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 December 2017
Everyday it would be slow in the evenings but as the night goes on it gets busier and at times hectic but manageable. I learned how to use a washing machine which was pretty awesome, and management was superb. The hardest part of the job was working everyday until it was over (8 hours/day) and at night it gets a little tiring but the good part about it was that you had other people helping you and they were pretty level headed and didn't mind lending a hand. Overall I enjoyed my days working there and I would apply there again if I was given the chance.
Pros
We got free meals and discounts on all vendors
Cons
Worked until it was over, 8 hours a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work experience
Event Security (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 December 2017
Working as security during the rodeo was a very rewarding experience. It was really enjoyable to get to interact with the customers. The management was well organized and my co-workers were very nice. A really great organization to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but with benefits.
Front server/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 December 2017
Working at the stampede is one of those things where you expect the heavy flow of customers, and being constantly busy. What you often don't expect is the heat.

For me, the heat during my second year made working there in credibly taxing. Jeans, standing next to hot oil, 30 plus degree heat, and a lack of AC meant that I found the heat to be way too much for myself.
Pros
You usually get some free stuff from your chosen work place.
Cons
Really hot, and some days, the grounds are surprisingly empty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fast Pace
Station Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Grand Stand : Calgary- Ab.20 November 2017
The most fun of this job: We meet a lot of people during the Stampede. very fast pace. Time past by very fast.
This job is perfect for students and teachers because they can make extra income during the summer.
Pros
We have some benefits working here.
Cons
Only for 10 days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very boring
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 October 2017
There was nothing to do, especially from 8:00pm- 10:00pm. For the 12 days I've worked there, I've wrapped foil pans, rewrapped foil pans, make cheese platters, put sauce into containers, cleaned the fryer 4 times, cleaned all of the ovens, and did not work all 8 hours. I also thought that the wage was going to be above minimum wage considering Stampede is very popular and that the food was so expensive, but it was minimum wage.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Nothing to do, not payed lunches.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Big Four - Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 October 2017
The hours were straight forward, monday through friday. Decent managers and employees, work was cleaning up after everyone else. I would recommend it if you dont mind garbage
Pros
Laid back job
Cons
Working with garbage and cleaning bathrooms
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Infield Suite Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 October 2017
great management
can get overtime hours
efficient training
fast pace enviorment
fun/energetic people to work with
great customers (most are excited to be at the stampede)
Pros
free dinner/lunch depending on shift
Cons
constant moving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stampede summer job
Infield maintanence (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 October 2017
Management was organized and polite.
The days were long, but fair and they offered a reasonable amount of break time, varied depending on the length of the shift worked, for how hot it was outside.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 October 2017
my year with the Calgary Stampede was beyond amazing!
great community of workers and volunteers all year round, really know how to make one feel welcome.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Calgary Stampede. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 173 reviews
567
451
339
29
17

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Calgary Stampede Reviews by Location