Calgary Stampede Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
building lead
Building Attendant Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2018
cleaning up after events and setting up for events
people can get away with a lot especially stealing there
unfair very bias management
hardest part of the job was dealing with the staff and their bad habbits
Pros
the pay check
Cons
every thing else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun working environment
Trash Management (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 June 2018
Typical day started in the morning. You walk in 15 minutes early waiting for the previous crew to finish. One finished we can start ours. I learned how useful our teams are. This job especially you need a strong team to cope with the weather and people.
Pros
Down i Stampede Grounds
Cons
Heat Waves
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Parking Department - Temporary (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 June 2018
there's lots of great people but there's also lots of people who get away with not working. The Stampede lets some people get away with things they shouldn't.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and Attention Driven
Parking Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2018
Crucial needs for attention and successful communication with both coworkers and customers during the opening and ending of events.
Otherwise very calm and easy environment to work in.
Pros
Very fixanle schedule, friendly staff and higher ups
Cons
Did not get shifts for months at a time (Management Issues)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and easy to make friends
Gate Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2018
Calgary Stampede was great and anybody who is looking for a place where they can have fun while also working and making friends will have a blast here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Experience
Usher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2018
This was one of my first jobs. It was not too stressful, but I managed to learn a lot about communicating with guests and coworkers. I learned the importance of following safety precautions.
Pros
Free concerts
Cons
Lame uniform
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was an experience
Ride Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 April 2018
i only worked one summer to get a completion in my program with Mcbride Career Group. They had courses in that program that made me a better person. but as for working as a carny that year wasnt something i would ever do again
Pros
new experience
Cons
not good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 April 2018
Nice to work there you will like it at this place as it is a fun place to work from all the free food to the drinks on break you will like it as it is a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Introductory Job
Barrel Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 April 2018
It was a great seasonal position doing garbage cleanup and removal that I surprisingly quite enjoyed. the environment was engaging but exhausting, and coworkers were mostly very hardworking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive but secure and flexible
Parking Lot Attendant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 April 2018
You really get to know how the whole Stampede Park functions behind the curtains.

Get to the job when the email tells you to, check in with your team lead and head to your position. Most of the times you'll get a radio so you can work efficiently. If your shift is long enough you'll get a break. If there is not enough to do you could be sent home early. At the end of your shift you give up your radio and clock out.

Nothing too hard but it keeps you on your feet and really develops your people skills.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Parking Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 April 2018
if your working on parking good luck bring something to keep you busy as it gets boring standing there through the whole day counting cars checking there parking pass
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and fun atmosphere!
Event Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary16 April 2018
I worked at the Calgary Stampede for 4 years and really enjoyed my time there. I learned a lot about the event industry and developed strong working relationships with my team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Usher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 April 2018
Made lots of friends, also learned people skills. Management and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Real nice culture that made me want to come back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Catering Server (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 April 2018
you work with amazing people but it is tough being on your feet all night. I learned many things about the catering industry and enjoyed helping out. the late nights and long hours are hard but if you are up for it the job is quite rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 March 2018
Making sure people are having fun, letting people know where all the amenities are, and watching specific areas of the venue.

The work place culture is awesome because of the Stampede vibe.
Pros
discounts at certain stampede places
Cons
Only employed for 10 days per year
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Indian Village Cultural Interpreter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 March 2018
It was a good work experience to learn more about my culture and meeting new people from a different country for a short of time during the 10 days I enjoyed my time.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Draftsperson (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 March 2018
management was awful.
best part was my coworkers.
worst part was money and management
did not enjoy the work setting....offices small and close to one another
Pros
some free lunches
Cons
poor pay, never any pay increase
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment Summer Position
Concession attendant (Former Employee) –  Clagary13 March 2018
Staff was always welcoming and encouraging amazing customer service. Taught skills that were needed. Provided work wear (shirt). Hardest part was learning the machines for money (new vs. old machine).
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great new and always changing work
Carpenters assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 March 2018
Start off with a meeting and an overview of the job at hand for that day. Drive to job site and commence work. Overall the employees were friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Line cook, buffet banquet, VIP banquet (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 March 2018
Families employee, all chef are friendly, hours for employee is really great management, vast environment to work at. Lots of experience place, and many thing for people to learn
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Calgary Stampede. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 184 reviews
570
454
342
210
18

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Calgary Stampede Reviews by Location