Calgary Public Library Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK job
Mechanic Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 March 2018
The job is all right, just no chance to improve your career and technical skill. Also need to deal with homeless people every day.
They could make big trouble sometime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love love love
Page (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 March 2018
This was my first job, I applied when I was starting high school and I stayed for 2.5 years. The staff is amazing and has a very friendly environment. My co-workers became like family to me. We took care of each other.
I didn't want to leave my job, but I was in position for ages 14-17. Once I turned 18 I lost my job.
Pros
Wage went up the more hours you accumulated
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a fun place to work
Library Maintenance Assistant IV (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 February 2018
Visit every location assigned to me
Renovation type learning
No comment on management
Understand what’s required of you at your job
Getting different directions or misinformation
The Staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Workplace
Coding Buddies Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Calgary Alberta, Canada8 February 2018
I was a volunteer at this workplace but according to people whom work at the Calgary Public Library it is a grate pace to work at. It is a competitive and fast paced workplace which helps pass the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and stress free workplace
Tutoring (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 February 2018
A typical day is usually 2 hours of working with students after school and helping them with their homework. Along with this, we create new relationships and have fun conversations with each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to mentor kids into a new world of thinking or sloving problems
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 December 2017
The Calgary Public Library is such a postive, quiet and fun place to be in. There are a lot of events that occur throughout the year and I’m so happy to say I’ve taken part in them. I help kids with either math or functions of computers and it’s really shaped the way I see things now. I have become more patient with others. I hope I continue taking part in these opportunities to mentor kids.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Reading Tutor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 August 2017
The Calgary Public Library is a vibrant and wonderful place to work. You get the benefits of working with kids that need your help. It's a gathering place for communities
Pros
Great Place
Cons
You work for free
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, simple, enjoyable.
Volunteer for Creativity Club (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 August 2017
It was simple to get into, and well managed, especially considering the club was new to the library's programs. It was a very relaxed environment, aside from when some of the kids got more rowdy, but overall, it was quite calm.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering Experience
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 July 2017
I learn new things about computers and about other cultures every time I Volunteer their. I enjoy reading, therefore I volunteer at library and I help kids read and use computers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to talk to other and develop communication skills
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 June 2017
Improve teaching skills
Good for the community
Developing a great skill set
Self motivated
Competitive
Customer service
Public speaking
Organized
Independent as well as a team player
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Calgary Public Library?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enough
Page (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 May 2017
This job there's nothing wrong but for my taste, it is very repetitive and boring. Managers won't trust you with anything you can not take initiative with anything they will not allow that.
Pros
Good work-life balance
Cons
Repetitive and boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace,
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 March 2017
As a volunteer I only work on for an hour and a half a week on Saturdays. Its a rather enjoyable experience, as the students are always keeping things interesting. The other volunteers are easy to work with.
Pros
Refreshments are provided
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy to volunteer
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 March 2017
It is super easy to volunteer at the library. The staff is super warm and polite. There is a cute coffee shop located right inside the library to it's perfect to just go in and sit down while reading a book.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cpl
ESL conversation club (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 July 2016
great place to volunteer. Volunteer and Staff are very helpful. The environment is a great place for personal growth. You get to work with different people which is a bonus. The CPL is a great place to work if you have a laid-back personality.
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet and productive workplace
Library Page (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 May 2016
I sharpened my focus and the supervisors and managers were very helpful. Co-workers were willing to help me out when needed and overall a very positive experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 January 2016
Volunteering at the Calgary Public Library was an exciting challenge that both myself and the seniors/kids. They were very friendly and energetic, always ready to learn new things. I provided a concise set of instructions for them to follow and they did so accordingly. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know a wide range of people, from kids, to seniors. It was an overall exciting program that I would not hesitate to do again.
Pros
Getting to know others
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 January 2016
It is fun helping out kids to learn new things in a fun way. To help them learn and understand things is the most fun thing I have experienced working under the library as a volunteer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice.
Librarian Assistant. (Current Employee) –  Calgary AB26 September 2015
Repetitive tasks despite which you learn to attend some patrons. Environment of friendly manager and co-workers where the hardest is unload boxes with items and the enjoyable is perform pick list in order to get holds for clients.
Pros
Quiet without pressure.
Cons
Slow development..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Environment
Reading Buddies - Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 May 2015
I really enjoyed volunteering here, my volunteer supervisor was amazing and was very understanding with my commitment to school. I love the Reading Buddies program, an excellent way to develop new relationships with my fellow volunteers, while also helping out younger kids with their literacy skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced paced work
Student Page (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 April 2014
Slow to balanced paced work
Individual work mostly
Very minimal teamwork
Absolutely no talking
Pros
Free Library Card
Cons
Absolutely no talking
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Calgary Public Library. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 23 reviews
510
410
33
20
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Calgary Public Library Reviews by Location