Calfrac Well Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 July 2018
This was a summer MBA internship and the company was amazing. The people and management are top notch and spent lots of time teaching. The drawback was there was no upward movement in the area I was looking for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Global Parts and Distribution Planner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 May 2018
Such and amazing company to work for. Wish there was a way to get a call back first for positons that come available after being laid off in 2014 from the economy dive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what you learned
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Alberta1 March 2018
They prefer locals only. Have you sitting in hotels day after day only being paid 3 hrs a day with no meal allowances. When you do work you have to pay for your taxis back and forth to hotel.
Pros
hourly rate good
Cons
too many standby days
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a Good Job, and Good People
Technical Specialist (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB27 February 2018
--Company was rapidly growing when i was there, and there were some growing pains for new grads with limitied structure. This was later changed.
-For Frac and Coil operators it is a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales team worked great together
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 January 2018
It was a young growing company while I was there and upper management was very involved in the day to day operations. Employees were well rewarded for their hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Coil Tube - Operator (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB16 December 2017
Great team and management
work hard player harder to much sometimes
tend to pick top teams to work first then if other jobs available will get others working more.
too much down time some times
Pros
money
Cons
work/life can be hard at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Rotational worker (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB12 December 2017
I was treated well, good rotation, 21 days in and 13 days off. I enjoyed driving the sand master, ie sand hog. I moved up the ladder fairly quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company culture
Accounting Clerk, Calgary (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 November 2017
enjoying team work environment. one of my Favorited job. attention to detail, hard work no matter what to meet deadline, helped and supported to others, great accounting and management teams.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Lead Operator (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB26 October 2017
loved my time with calfrac I learned a lot and met a lot of great people. the pay is wonderful and for the most part they take care of their guys very well.
Pros
great pay
Cons
working away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company with Great People to work with
Field Operator (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB22 October 2017
There are a lot of reasons why Calfrac is a good place to work. The main reason I enjoy Calfrac is working with my fellow co-workers and the challenges associated with setting up complex fracturing treatments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice staff, friendly and helpful
Fleet Administrator (Practicum) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 October 2017
was a good place to do my practicum they were nice and helpful. i also learned more on how they do their accounting and their way of posting bills and the tables they used
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay for responsibilities lack of sleep when on call
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Clairmont, AB30 August 2017
The people you work with are great, the new manager you work for doesn't communicate to this department. 8/6 shift is nice but you will not get much sleep that week with being on call. You may also be required to work in Dawson Creek where you will loose money as they only pay $40 a day for meals (avg meal cost $15 per meal) Calfrac has all bonus programs designed for field personnel maintenance people do not get a piece of the pie.clean and safe environment but you are surrounded by chemicals all day.
Pros
8/6 shift
Cons
Low pay, no bonus structure, management communications, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very conscientious to safety.
Journeyman Parts Technician (Former Employee) –  Clairmont, AB14 August 2017
Morning safety meeting and daily exercises.
Preform work duties as per superiors request.
Lunch & safety review.
Preform work duties for the rest of the day.
Pros
8 and 6 day work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place for a mechanic
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Clairmont, AB29 June 2017
The company is more interested in catering to rotational east coasters than local workers. Below average pay and no financial benefits. Lack of communication and a complete gong show. Equipment is dirty and beat up. Changing oil every day. Manager's are liars and can't be trusted.
Pros
Schedule
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 24NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calfrac where your not one of a kind u r one of a crowd
Equipment Operator/Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Clairmont, AB27 June 2017
Very poorly managed company...very high turn over rate. They spend more time trying to hire new guts then looking after the guys they already have..movi g all their training and other operations to reddeer
Pros
Benefits from day one
Cons
3rd party hauls most of their sand while their guys sit at home not paid oncall 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, weak management
Employee (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 June 2017
Few or no women in high level management positions - and no attempts made to change this. HR makes the calls not the managers. Management lacks leaders.
Pros
good pay and benefits
Cons
if you're not a man, future is limited
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work until.
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB7 April 2017
Great company to work for, unfortunately the drop in oil lead to cuts. The maintenance management team on the other hand was a definite low point of the company. Very poor people skills and have their own agenda.
Pros
8 on 6 off, great company atmosphere when things are good
Cons
Maintenance manager, maintenance supers and lead hands
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacked communication within management
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  all over Alberta and Saskatchewan27 March 2017
Money was good, but management was not very clear, or different instructions form senior members.
No job security. Worked a 15 days on and 6 days off, so away from home was not to appealing .
Pros
Bonuses and expenses paid out.
Cons
Away from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you kiss a s s or keep your mouth shut you get lots of hours
Driver and equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Red deer17 February 2017
Overall I got along good with mechanics drivers some manager . The first five months the pay was very good after that lost all bonus and became all broken promises . Talk to some of the manager they basically told me if I didn't keep my mouth shut I was going to be out of a job
Pros
Good work ethic between employees
Cons
Fixing truck and equipment every week losing 2 to 3 days of work A week
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I understand it is a better place to work now
Heavy transport driver (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB12 February 2017
Many of the supervisors were abusive to the field hands. Safety was not always the first priority. The crews were great to work with. I was allowed to help mechanics with upkeep of my truck which was not given to most drivers.
Pros
PPE was paid for
Cons
It was a difficult place to workj
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Calfrac Well Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 160 reviews
550
453
338
28
111

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture