Bulk Barn Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Simcoe, ON14 October 2018
So many amazing products to learn about. I really enjoyed being a cashier but able to do all the other jobs throughout the workplace. Great staff and management. Very accommodating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun clean enviroment to work in
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK1 October 2018
my review for bulk barn is a top 5 star , the staff and management are great to work with, the customers always leave with a smile so that means alot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and manageable with school
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oromocto, NB16 September 2018
You learn a lot while working here, easy work while you're still working hard. Learning how to do everything is easy to pick up. The hardest part about this job is learning how to do cash while first starting off as it is scary and overwhelming at first but its easy to overcome with practice. This job helped boost my confidence and allowed me to be less shy, you get to interact with the people in your community and talk to the sweet people that come in (except for the few that aren't so sweet). Overall, I highly recommend this jobs especially if you're in school because it works around schedules easily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bulk barn
Stock Clerk (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON5 September 2018
the job Is nice and the costumers are friendly other employees are great and friendly and the boss is very accommodating with school and sports and knows how important academics are.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job
Store Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pierrefonds, QC5 September 2018
This is a great place to work if you are a student, great hours and work you can pick up on quickly. I recommend this place to any young student looking for a first time job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle compagnie
Directeur de magasin (Current Employee) –  Québec City, QC28 August 2018
Pas d'avantages sociaux, job très demandante, prêt à travailler de longues heures,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful friendly management
Stock Clerk (Current Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC24 August 2018
Fun place to work, cooperative management. Lots of good changes in store with in few months.clean store and room for advancement. Nice place to work. Helpful team member and always get help from management
Pros
Professional decent working environment
Cons
Less pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
Stock Person (Current Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC23 August 2018
No job security, little chance of advancement, dysfunctional management, no raises, no accountability, variable amount of working hours, no first aide attendant,
Pros
No Pros
Cons
Dismal place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place for Snacks
Cashier/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 August 2018
Not a bad place to work. As the stores are franchised, the management and owners are different for nearly all of them. I worked at two different locations. The first one had terrible management but a good pay. The second had great management but the pay sucks. Usually is Minimum wage for everyone but Supervisors, but even the supervisors and assistant managers only get less than a dollar above min. Very hard for stock boys to move up, though Cashiers have a good chance at becoming Supervisor if a supervisor leaves. If you're lucky you'll end up with staff who can actually do their jobs and the shifts will be enjoyable. Bad staff just makes a shift feel long and frustrating. Majority of the job is taking care of customers and cleaning. Can be hard on your back for both stock and cash. Sometimes you get really rude customers too (But where don't you right?)
Pros
Get to sample new products
Cons
Bad Pay for what you're expected to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional and immature place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON16 August 2018
Employees are typically high school students who are easy to exploit. Management is terrible, no support from head office. No room for growth or benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and shop!
Customer Service and Retail (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON9 August 2018
Such a fun and exciting place to work. The management team was very supportive and understanding to life outside of the company and also were very development focused.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Stock Associate (Current Employee) –  Brandon, MB9 August 2018
Great place to work, good hours and wonderful staff as well as manager and owner. Love all the options to pick from for candy, spices, snacks, and foods.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for high school students
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON8 August 2018
This job is only good for part-time work especially if you don't have a life. You can not book time off, you do not get benefits, the pay is minimum, the 25 cent pay raise is not worth the amount of work you are expected. The crew members are nice, and some of the managers are nice. Overall, it is an ok entry level job to make some money. There is no incentive to try hard or prove your worth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support from head office if you have any issues.
Cashier + Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 August 2018
If you are working under a good franchisee, Bulk Barn is a fun place to work if you enjoy customer facing jobs. There is A LOT of cleaning to be done. It's a great job for learning how to multi-task, learn about food handling, and cash handling.

However, if you are stuck working with a manager/franchisee who is cruel and unprofessional, you will get no help from head office as there are little to no standards for owners to follow.

Moneywise, it's not worth the stress of moving up to supervisor in the company. You're lucky if you make $0.50 above minimum wage for a much larger workload and much more responsibility. However, it is a great learning experience so I appreciated that part of it.
Pros
discounts, flexible hours
Cons
low wages, little accountability from head office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good communication
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 July 2018
this job has touched me a lot of how to communicate with customer and be a good receptionist it's really amazing job and I like to work with customer and meet a new people
Pros
respectful place
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blah
Cashier/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS29 July 2018
it is an old store i worked in when i was a kid and i dont have much to say about it other than it was a really goof learning experience. fun place for a kid to work,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON26 July 2018
A typical day would be servicing the cash unloading the weekly inventory truck, helping people find the right product. I learnt how to better remember things, I had to remember some item codes, where certain products go, it helped become faster, it greatly improved my memory. The management team was very great, friendly and just all around fun to be around and work with. The hardest part of the job would've been unloading the weekly inventory truck in -40 weather. The most enjoyable part about the job was working with my co-workers, they were fun to be around and work around, lots of conversations happened and it kept time going by fast.
Pros
Friendly/Fast Paced/Never bored
Cons
On your feet/Always Moving/Cold Weather(Truck)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stouffville, ON24 July 2018
the staff are amazing, everyone is very friendly and kind. It's a great place to work if it's your first job and even though there are a lot of numbers the trainer was excellent and went at a pace that worked for me.

Had it not been for my home location now I would still be working there because I love the company and everyone in it.
Pros
amazing friendly staff
Cons
same routine every shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment, comfotable atmosphere
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 July 2018
Over fun place to work. Management is very understanding and willing to work with you. Well balance work to time. after a few weeks it feels like you're working with family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Head Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 July 2018
Fun environment, and easy work days. We were given a nice discount on products which i appreciated and a fair salary. I would work there again. nice people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bulk Barn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 381 reviews
5104
4121
399
236
121

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture