Buck or Two Plus Employee Reviews

Found 71 reviews matching the search See all 73 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay workplace but not good hours
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON16 March 2019
Not a great place to work as you are expected to show up 15 minutes before your shift without pay and if closing stay until all closing duties are finished, also without pay. You are given 30 minutes or less to mop the whole store and if you don’t finish you are told to hurry up. Room for advancement in the sense that you may be asked to become key holder but there is no pay raise. Decent place to work for a short time if you are okay with working hard without proper pay
Pros
Flexible with home life/school schedules
Cons
Not paid properly for the hours you work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not to enjoyable
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL15 January 2019
Not my favorite place to work but I did learn a lot and am grateful for that. they did not make you feel like part of the team. Kept to themselves. Shifts were a bit flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Keyholder/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Stouffville, ON8 November 2018
busy but satisfying
lovely coworkers
workplace culture is fine
management is management
i wouldnt necessarily say it is the most enjoyable workplace
but it plays the bills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Stouffville, ON1 November 2018
my co worker is so patience and they are in my side if I don't understand or have a question in any products and they show and teach me to work in cash because its my first time and no experience in retail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON25 September 2018
The management sucked! when asking for more hours they would cut your hours. they treated you like a second class cititzen. when asking to speak with management they would make you speak with one of their employees.
Pros
customers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON25 August 2018
A mom and pop oragainization. Outsiders arent considered for advancement. They will work with your current life events but discourage you working anywhere else.
Pros
Flexibility with hours
Cons
Will cut your hours if you need a 2nd job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 June 2018
It was just a job that you only made next to nothing and you were trenched really bad .. Nothing else to say at all . I didnt like working here at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working environment
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 May 2018
provided a safe work environment. also, working there taught me a lot about customer service, organization, communication skills, people skills and cashier skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Stacker (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON26 February 2018
they always treated me terribly and people didnt know what they were doing with the store. The store always has a now hiring sign and will always fire.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work days
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 February 2018
A typical day at work would be opening/closing by yourself as well as managing customers needs. I learned multiple effective ways to multitask and communicate with customers. The hardest part of the job was micro managing multiple customers needs while answering the phone and checking customers throught he till.
Pros
Independence
Cons
Working solo for too many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL11 January 2018
This place is awesome for anyone since its a place where everybody will learn about sales and customer service in general. The manager is very understanding and always motivates for improvisation.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun staff and environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mission, BC11 January 2018
the staff is fun and bubbly, i like that there is always something fun happening or people always happy. the customers dont give these girls much credit and they are doing great
Pros
great staff
Cons
customers always mad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bounced cheques
Cashier and Stock person (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON4 January 2018
I worked as a sales associate with the company for 2 years in those 2 years I had 4 of my bank deposits bounce because of them ot having their finances in order. I not only had bounced deposits but I would have to pay for the NSF fee and not be compensated for it by the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No overtime pay and few breaks
Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON20 December 2017
This was not a great place to work.

Most of the people that were hired don't last very long or they quit fast. During the first month I worked there around 5-10 people quit or never showed up for work.
Pros
Nice team mates
Cons
15-30 min breaks every 3 hours, lunch was break time, didn't get paid for overtime work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starting Job
Customer Service / Stocking (Former Employee) –  Elliot Lake, ON23 November 2017
This was one of my first jobs when I was a teenager. The environment is fast paced and easy going. The staff where I worked were great. Very busy non stop.
Pros
relaxed enviroment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun environment
Storefront Worker (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB15 November 2017
Either working the front till, making balloon bouquets or out on the floor stocking shelves or helping customers.
Management worked with me around my school hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
General Worker (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC31 October 2017
This was my first job and a great start. It was a challenge at first but I quickly adapted and became friendly with my coworkers. It's unfortunate that it's not there anymore
Pros
Only paid for merchandise on pay day, friendly staff
Cons
Had to leave due to cutbacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whats not to love about working at a dollar store
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON3 August 2017
great place to work, love the owners so nice and they really appreciate you as a student or person does not matter whats going on in your life they accomodate your every need if its the schedule or just hours you like to work. its great
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail store in a busy mall
Assistant Manager/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON31 July 2017
the owners were great..family ruined business
work hours were based around mall hours
extra perks were given to best employees
fun place to work
had a very positive vibe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, ON27 July 2017
The hours were intense, and the management was not the best. However I did not dread going into work, a job is a job. The discount was good, 50% which made everything almost less than 1$!
Pros
good discount
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Buck or Two Plus. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 73 reviews
525
416
315
210
17

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.4Culture