Bruno's Fine Foods Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search See all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and nice people, and peaceful atmosphere
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON16 May 2019
The management in Bruno's Fine Foods is great as they are well organized and approachable. The working schedule is very flexible as you could book off days that you need to. Everyone in the store are very nice and friendly. Also, most of the people that I work with are in the same age as me, so, while we are working we are also building and growing our friendship. I learned a lot with this job; slicing, weighing, and packaging meats, cheese, and other deli products. I also learned the proper food sanitation and maintaining the designated area clean.
Pros
Free foods
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Start
Assistant Butcher (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 March 2019
As a young worker, it is an excellent place to work. it was my first job and the work was good for someone my age. Everyone at Bruno's was a pleasure to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deli
Etobicoke - Deli Worker (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON20 February 2019
Fun place to work most days, one abusive staff member in deli. would not recommend deli unless you are a masochist. cash, produce, kitchen and meat fine.
Pros
free lunches, fun people, flexible shifts, nice manager
Cons
mentally ill coworker who management does nothing about
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely stunned this is still a business...
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 April 2018
Management is completely jumbled but simultaneously overbearing. Coworkers were frequently drunk or under the influence of drugs while on the floor. Very unsanitary work practices often seen, for example I witnessed multiple times Bruno, the owner and founder of the company, reach into garbages to retrieve off cuts of deli meat that he felt were still sellable and return them immediately to the cold case. The environment here is also very hostile, yelling matches with workers, managers, and even company owners is very commonplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good time
Stockperson (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON19 April 2018
Managment treated me like I was a child had no respect even though I was giving them full respect for their job position, Saw many arguments between co-workers over ridiculous things. Co-workers all steal from the shops. 10/10 would not recommend to anyone with good morals
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work, horrible environment
Cashier, Meat Clerk, Deli Clerk, Chef (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 February 2018
Some great people work here but some pretty unruly people work here too. Your pay will be awful. I worked 5 departments and never once got a raise from minimum wage.
Pros
decent food
Cons
some food not fresh
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, laidback job
Cashier and Deli Department (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 October 2017
I worked in the deli department and as a cashier. There are very flexible hours and you can easily get shifts taken and ask for time off. Nice, laidback, simple, easy to learn job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting
MEAT SALES MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 February 2017
Fun because trying to make sales is always fun, exciting because you never get bored. Great place to start off working, great staff, great business. friendly customer, excellent location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and interactive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 July 2016
-cashiering in a fast paced environment
- Customers service
- co-workers are all very friendly and team work is vital
I learned that when the store gets busy, co-workers work together efficiently to get tasks done in a fast pace
Pros
Flexible schedule, lunches were discounted for employees
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transporter of Goods
Transporter of Goods (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON18 November 2015
Pick up goods to deliver to restaurants.

Have to had some level of strength as boxes could be quite heavy.

Had the opporunity to meet with plenty of well known chefs in the Toronto area
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no levels of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dislike the workplace, issues with certain coworkers.
Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 November 2015
I don't really like it there. Coworkers with problems who never listen, I learned that I am not a Therapist to fix coworkers in that store with a brain damage. Nothing is enjoying at the job other then getting having too much problems without any peace in that store.
Pros
Get Free Pizza during Holidays.
Cons
Breaks are not a problem, cause we use punch cards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work environment
Full Time Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 August 2014
All employees were amazing to work with.

Great work environment with very friendly customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and fun working environment
Meat Clerk / Butcher (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 April 2014
Typical day- Duties includes serving customers, preparing ready to eat food items, preparing chicken and fish cuts for the display counter, cleaning of the front of house as well as the cutting room floor

What i've learned - Knife skills, cooking skills, people & communication skills, interpersonal skills

Management- Great group of management personal, friendly and cooperative

Co-workers- Great co-workers, gets along with a majority of them, very down to earth people

Hardest part of the job- Having to pick up the slack/duties of those co-workers who don't show up for shifts

Most enjoyable part- Educating customers on various kinds of meats, as well as seeing them leave with a smile on their face
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistently assisting customers in a professional and courteous manner
Meat Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 August 2013
A typical day at work included managing inventory as required, preparing meat products, and fulfilling customers' needs by serving them in a professional and courteous manner. Working there has improved my customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Bruno's Fine Foods reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bruno's Fine Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 16 reviews
52
43
37
20
14

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.1Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.9Culture

Bruno's Fine Foods Reviews by Location