Boys & Girls Clubs of America Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 August 2018
Play fun games with the children like tag, go to the playground, watch movies, make arts and crafts, Cleaned up the classroom after the program finishes.
Pros
Kids are welcoming
Cons
No cons since I was I volunteer, I didn't expect to get paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a volunteer position I worked
Youth Literacy Tutor (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON24 August 2018
I would help kids from kindergarten to grade 3 with improving their reading skills. I ended up only working with one little girl and she was very pleasant and wanting to learn so the whole experience was enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tiring but worth it
Public park maintenance (QC) (Former Employee) –  Quebec23 August 2018
Working all the way across the country was one crazy experience, and one to never forget, but nobody said the work would be easy. to begin with, i'd like to thank boys and girls club to provide such an opportunity, but given my work location, it took a few stressful weeks to adapt. after about 10 days, the job got a little easier in the sense of after so much repetition, each individual task was more of a habit to me, whether it was watering the plants across the park for an hour, picking weeds, chopping down large plants in a lagoon, or even picking up garbage bags and replacing them, everything seemed a little more fun day by day. i once again thank B&G club for the oppportunity.
Pros
kept busy all the time, being part of nature all day
Cons
38 degree weather and mosquitos
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun and rewarding!
Placement Student (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON19 August 2018
Really fun place to work! You get to play games with kids all day while being a support to them. Wonderful team environment and very supportive management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a s**t show
Head Office (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 July 2018
I worked in the Calgary office and it was probably one of the worst work experiences of my life. Not only did they screw over lots of employees at once, but certain management teams are terrible. There’s lots of trash talk behind closed doors, drama and fakeness that’s just not necessary in a professional environment. The organization itself is wonderful, for what they do for the people in our community. But the actual work environment (at least in the head office) is less than ideal.
Pros
Working for a worthwhile cause
Cons
Backstabbing, trash talk
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace if you enjoy children and families going through stuff
SENIOR PROGRAM LEADER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 July 2018
It was rewarding working there. They help a lot of kids and families that need the support in the community. The pay is not phenomenal but they are better than other non-profits in the area. Come for the kids stay for the work relationships. Great colleagues!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They put the kids to work and it pays out in the end
Exhibition Clean-up (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK7 July 2018
I really enjoyed working here although I worked with the boys and girls club of Saskatoon. It was a awesome experience and a fun way to make some money throughout the summertime.
Pros
Short days
Cons
Hot weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it miss it, wish I was still there
Summer Camp Leader (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON7 July 2018
My all time favorite place to work, wish I could go back.
by far the best environment even with its challenges with the children, but its the experiences and memories that help create a proper balance.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Not having the job anymore.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good place to work
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  London, ON25 June 2018
picked up clients from home take them to program then returned the clients home
management is good
workplace is a good atmosphere
difficult clients
working with clients having dementia
Pros
working with people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to volunteer at
Volunteer Youth Basketball Coach (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 June 2018
I enjoyed volunteering for the boy's and girl's club, it really showed me that one can gain experience while also being in a really fun and safe environment
Pros
Free lunches, gym access, pool access
Cons
Stale hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment
Ground Crew (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 June 2018
The supervisors and everyone involved were very friendly, helpful and supportive. I really enjoyed working with everyone. Interviewers were very friendly as well.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
long and late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, and creative enjoyment
Program Leader (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC4 June 2018
Leading children in a structured program. games, supervision,
discipline, cleaning up lots, extremely active.
I learned many new games, and discipline tactics.
Hardest part of the job is noise.
enjoyable part is, the joy of being around children, they're fun.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Noise, bad listeners.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun activity's, and great people
Keystone Member (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB15 May 2018
Get to do fun activity's with friends, and staff members.
They never make you do anything you don't want to do.
Everyone is included in all activity's we do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  London, ON13 May 2018
This volunteer experience is about stay with kids. I need to pay more attention and be patient. Kids are in age 4-8 years old, they are very young so I need to take care of them and make sure they don't make any trouble in my work.
Cons
no salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good experience
helper kids (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 May 2018
It is such a wonderful experience. It helped me to socialize with people and it is good to learn from other people and to get new informations. In addition, I was surrounded by children which used to make my days.
Pros
the way we collaborated with my collegues who became like a family
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Fund Development Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 May 2018
Good experience. It was a good working environment and I enjoyed working for young people in the community. I would recommend working with BGC to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-energy, well-managed small program with superb staff and positive culture
Family Therapist (Former Employee) –  British Columbia29 April 2018
Excellent small youth and family counselling program serving three rural communities. Well respected for timely response to referrals, quality of service, creative leadership, collaborative relationships with schools, child protection, and other community partners.

I gave it two stars for salary/benefits and job security/advancement only because the salary is a bit low even by non-profit standards. Funding so tight that there is little opportunity for advancement through program expansion. As well, my combination maternity and medical leave contract was for 18 months, so it was understood that no permanent position would follow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and safe place to be
Group Leader (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON29 April 2018
This place was always fun and energetic. All of the members were involved in the crafts and was happy t see their parents. They knew if they needed anything that I was always available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for boys and girls canada
Assistant Cook (Former Employee) –  Armstrong, BC27 April 2018
Very good when I worked there , but it has since gone under, the organization is a very good non profit.would recommend to college students and high school
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garbage Cleaner
Garbage cleaner (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK26 April 2018
A good entry level job to gain work experience in cleaning. Must be able to brave the elements in extreme heat (or cold) as the work is outside. Must be able to stay on feet all day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boys & Girls Clubs of America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 5,757 reviews
52.9K
41.6K
3853
2195
1139

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture