Boys & Girls Clubs of America Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it miss it, wish I was still there
Summer Camp Leader (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON7 July 2018
My all time favorite place to work, wish I could go back.
by far the best environment even with its challenges with the children, but its the experiences and memories that help create a proper balance.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Not having the job anymore.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good place to work
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  London, ON25 June 2018
picked up clients from home take them to program then returned the clients home
management is good
workplace is a good atmosphere
difficult clients
working with clients having dementia
Pros
working with people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to volunteer at
Volunteer Youth Basketball Coach (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 June 2018
I enjoyed volunteering for the boy's and girl's club, it really showed me that one can gain experience while also being in a really fun and safe environment
Pros
Free lunches, gym access, pool access
Cons
Stale hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment
Ground Crew (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 June 2018
The supervisors and everyone involved were very friendly, helpful and supportive. I really enjoyed working with everyone. Interviewers were very friendly as well.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
long and late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, and creative enjoyment
Program Leader (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC4 June 2018
Leading children in a structured program. games, supervision,
discipline, cleaning up lots, extremely active.
I learned many new games, and discipline tactics.
Hardest part of the job is noise.
enjoyable part is, the joy of being around children, they're fun.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Noise, bad listeners.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun activity's, and great people
Keystone Member (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB15 May 2018
Get to do fun activity's with friends, and staff members.
They never make you do anything you don't want to do.
Everyone is included in all activity's we do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  London, ON13 May 2018
This volunteer experience is about stay with kids. I need to pay more attention and be patient. Kids are in age 4-8 years old, they are very young so I need to take care of them and make sure they don't make any trouble in my work.
Cons
no salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good experience
helper kids (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 May 2018
It is such a wonderful experience. It helped me to socialize with people and it is good to learn from other people and to get new informations. In addition, I was surrounded by children which used to make my days.
Pros
the way we collaborated with my collegues who became like a family
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Fund Development Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 May 2018
Good experience. It was a good working environment and I enjoyed working for young people in the community. I would recommend working with BGC to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-energy, well-managed small program with superb staff and positive culture
Family Therapist (Former Employee) –  British Columbia29 April 2018
Excellent small youth and family counselling program serving three rural communities. Well respected for timely response to referrals, quality of service, creative leadership, collaborative relationships with schools, child protection, and other community partners.

I gave it two stars for salary/benefits and job security/advancement only because the salary is a bit low even by non-profit standards. Funding so tight that there is little opportunity for advancement through program expansion. As well, my combination maternity and medical leave contract was for 18 months, so it was understood that no permanent position would follow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and safe place to be
Group Leader (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON29 April 2018
This place was always fun and energetic. All of the members were involved in the crafts and was happy t see their parents. They knew if they needed anything that I was always available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for boys and girls canada
Assistant Cook (Former Employee) –  Armstrong, BC27 April 2018
Very good when I worked there , but it has since gone under, the organization is a very good non profit.would recommend to college students and high school
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garbage Cleaner
Garbage cleaner (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK26 April 2018
A good entry level job to gain work experience in cleaning. Must be able to brave the elements in extreme heat (or cold) as the work is outside. Must be able to stay on feet all day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boys and Girls Club
Education volunteer (Current Employee) –  London, ON22 April 2018
Volunteering helps your learn more about people's nature, piece of mind achieved, feels great to make children educated. Value of education increases if you circulate it among your circle of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and fun place to work
Recreational Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON7 April 2018
The kids are awesome and full of creativity and joy, the management is fun and welcoming, they listen to what you have to say and let you take charge in some cases.
Pros
great fun place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and fun environment
Monitor (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON4 April 2018
The job it self is great and lots of fun however, it's only seasonal and after school. I am looking for a summer employment to continue to save for my future.
Pros
Life skills
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to help build work experience
Stampede work experience (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 March 2018
Good work hours for everyone, a great job for both novice and experienced workers alike. There is a great amount of respect between the supervisors and workers
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just an Amazing Environment
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 March 2018
Clean, fun, and welcoming environment to work in. The staff is great and the kids are spectacular. It feels good to be apart of the team and to help the kids out.
Pros
Free Food and Activities
Cons
Small Facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Youth Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Peel, ON8 March 2018
great learning experiences and definitely builds great team working skills. overall a great place to work with others and gain new skills to take with you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Intermediate Youth Worker (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 March 2018
The Boys and Girls Club of Ottawa is an amazing place to work at. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The job itself is very rewarding as we get to make a difference in the lives of many children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boys & Girls Clubs of America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 5,475 reviews
52.8K
41.5K
3800
2183
1129

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture