Boyle Street Community Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Youth mentor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 November 2017
the hardest part of the job was having to listen to the youth story's and you would like to take them in to help them. i learned that everyone as a story and you have to find out on how you could help. management was also great to work with. the whole team that i worked with were all understanding, you have to have a big heart to work at Boyle street community services.
Pros
helping to change a youths life
Cons
sometimes hard to hear the story's
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wer
WER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 September 2017
I loved working there for the community members and was it. It was my 2nd yr there. Drop in coordinator never there or on call. Disappointed in how they run this organization.
Pros
I am always there for the community
Cons
Staff that's never a gets paid for their Absence Staff using their power to do whatever they want
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
condusive work place
Community Support Worker(Casual) (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 April 2016
i had the opportunity to work mostly with Aboriginals and i learnt a lots about their backgrounds i has residents to care for and i love working with my residents
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another day at Boyle Street
cleaner (Former Employee) –  Boyle Street, AB11 December 2015
I wake up to the sound of a voice calling my name, I wake up knowing it'll be the happiest day of my life if I could just hold her one more time, I wake up knowing that on that day of our reunion I'll be lying in a casket.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 24Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starting point for social workers.
Social worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 December 2015
A job which allows workers to directly interact with clients on a daily basis, balanced management, and overall good working culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible environment for Aboriginals to work and succeed in, it's oppressive.
aboriginal employment readiness worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 November 2015
As much as they think they are helpful, only a couple of programs are actually helpful. A high amount of office politics is in play there. The program director was replaced and my position was replaced. The new program director sexually harassed the new person replacing me and she quit. No one in higher positions believed her. Not a good environment. At all. No one believed me for 10 weeks.. from that environment I suffered PTSD and refuse to work for another non profit organization.
Pros
helping clients to be successful was what I loved to do.
Cons
Too much office politics and oppression, not enough staff support. things get ignored easily there and not dealt with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some time it is fun but most times it was work.
Front Line Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 August 2015
I love that i can maybe help some one that can us the help.
I is cool that I got to know some of the men and women there.

it was fun and some days it was not so much fun.
because i was not able to help the men and women.
Pros
helping and trying to make some one's day better.
Cons
not working working there any more. missing the men and women.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Youth Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 May 2014
Youth work with diverse groups of youth, all facing different challenges in life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding work with inner city clientelle
Manager of Family Programs (Former Employee) –  edmonton alberta13 January 2014
Managers do not get support from Directors and are undermined by ed
Pros
community members
Cons
pay and work conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive great place to work, caring and very understanding of the clients
High Risk Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 November 2012
Every day was a good day great team work with fellow employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boyle Street Community Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 11 reviews
52
42
33
21
13

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.8Culture

Boyle Street Community Services Reviews by Location