Book Depot Employee Reviews

Ratings by category
Found 15 reviews matching the search See all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Place to get hired
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Thorold, ON19 August 2018
If you are a physically capable person that likes doing the same thing everyday this is an easy job for you to get.You are required to do a lot of lifting and walking everyday. Management doesn't always agree on things. Religious culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work, laid back employers
Restock (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON25 May 2018
Book Depot was a good place to work. The management team was understanding of their employees and their concerns. For the most part it is a laid back job, and good people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, boring job
Order picker and packer (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON7 May 2018
Working here wasn't terrible but the actual work is very repetitive and boring. Coworkers and management were friendly. Work/life balance was Good with consistent hours and off on weekends.
Pros
Mon-fri job, off on weekends
Cons
Boring job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strict and friendly
Packer (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON12 June 2016
I did love book depot. They showed me how to mature and become a better person, when I was there. They are such a friendly and kind environment that is there. I made many friends.
I went on saturday's mostly and worked from 7-2 (i think) and I would most likely be on packing but sometimes I'd be put on stickering. Anyways before we start we have to be at the Supervisor's desk to get our job for the day before the bell or else we would be late. Then that would be our job for the day. The hardest part of the day would be not talking to anyone because I am a talker and you aren't allowed to leave your station so you were in the same place for the entire day. The most enjoyable part was making friends and I still have my one friend I talk to sometimes.
Pros
Very Mature Environment
Cons
Gossip, Rumors
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productve and Long Hours
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON2 June 2016
Start a Early Mornings
Organize books in a timely fashion
At your own pace
Great Coworkers
Long Hrs
Could be humid at times
Pros
has a kitchen
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON22 March 2016
Lots of heavy lifting which was a nice workout big building lots of people worked inside loved all the different jobs I got to do everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive packer
Supervisor Stocking Shelves, Cleaning, picking (Current Employee) –  Thorold, ON12 January 2016
it was very interesting learning about books
learning all the authors
working as a team
management was ok
shipping books to different countries
Pros
free books
Cons
normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inventory control , merchandise
General Duties (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON13 November 2014
Very busy working days , dealing with different type of product
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard-workking and fast-past enviroment.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON15 October 2014
My duties were:
- Picked and packed books for orders to ship daily customers.
- Replenished inventory into warehouse racking.
- Operated a palette jack to move palettes of books.
- Maintained an organized and clean work area.
Pros
Monday to Friday hours.
Cons
Had to work in very hot weather during the summer with no ventilation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor workplace
cleaner/packer (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON11 July 2014
poor workplace with poor working conditions. pays only slightly over min wage. management very poor as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report

Want to know more about Book Depot?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe and fun workplace
long title shipping (Former Employee) –  Throlod, ON5 May 2014
Book depot was my first job and the most likable one so far. i enjoyed my time working there. i worked with books's orders and shipping them. everyday was a different order to a different library. i learned so much about shipping and stocking different sizes of books. it was a great job over all.
Pros
joke and fun while working
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kept me very busy which I like.
Warehouse Worker/ Reciever (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON12 January 2014
I would pick the book orders then clean them, pack them and get them ready for shipping. 1 of my co workers I worked with was awesome. We became real good friends.
Pros
the hours worked great for me.
Cons
very dusty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for.
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON15 June 2013
A typical day at Book Depot would be stocking shelves, picking or packing book orders, entering new titles into the data base, doing invertory, and any other jobs that were required on a daily basis. Book Depot is an interesting company to work for because of the exposure of all the different books that are available. Management did a good job and I worked well with my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was being on your feet all day. I enjoy reading and working with books.
Pros
Employee discount on purchase of books.
Cons
Very hot in the warehouse during the summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improve communication and organizational skills
General Staff (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON28 December 2012
Demonstrated communication and team work skills.
Developed attention to details through the alphabetization of books
Exhibited organization skills through the book ordering process.
Good training and background knowledge of workplace safety procedures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report

See more Book Depot reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Book Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 18 reviews
58
45
33
22
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture

Book Depot Reviews by Location