Bombardier

Bombardier Employee Reviews in Kingston, ON

Found 21 reviews matching the search See all 2,788 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, terrible management
Electrical Assembler (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON27 September 2019
I had a manager that was the laziest worker I have ever seen. When the floor lead was in he worked but the moment he left this guy literally pulled out a guitar and played then threatened my job when I brought it up to him.
This kind of behavior is accepted as the norm here.
Besides that you cant argue with the pay and there is always something to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, poorly organised
Methods Engineer (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON3 September 2019
The job itself was fine. Lots of OT opportunities. Fair compensation.
Lack of training. Lack of good daily management. Lack of organisation.
Hardest part was redoing all your work because you found out that you did it wrong.
Pros
good people willing to help out
Cons
management needs to figure out what they want
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wire various street cars
Electrical Technician (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON2 September 2019
Finalizing street cars for commuters to travel safely and securely. Adapting to changes and regulations between various contracts to meet the expectations of the customers.
Pros
understanding of specialized wiring responsibilities
Cons
lack of job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contract works sucks
Test Technician Pro-tech, one year contract (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON19 July 2019
mostly contract workers,, takes a long time to get on full time , lack of team effort
Pros
high turn over
Cons
Management lacks management skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seeing new equipments
Methods Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON4 July 2019
learning too much, good experiences, knowing new people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good place to work
Electrical/Mechanical Assembler (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON17 March 2019
Great place to work, amazing people. Monday-Friday job which is amazing and a very good pay. Work can go from being very busy to not having much work. Only downfall management is very unorganized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Wayside System Designer (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON11 April 2018
lots of learning and opportunity to advance
good training programs
family environment
travel
good benefits
flextime
work life balance
great place to work (facility)
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team to work with
Electrical Production Engineer (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON3 August 2017
Nice challenging place to work. Coworkers are all very good to work with. Very nice opportunity due to flexible hours to work your own schedule.
I really enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people not so good management
Mechanical Fitter (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON17 January 2017
good place to make money, but no organization makes for long days and weeks if you know any of the bosses your life is made and you will have job for a long time. Just make sure they like you doesn't matter if you work hard or save lots of man hours on projects.
Pros
co-workers are good to work with and $$$
Cons
they want you there 24/7 if could
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employee standards
Electrical Installer (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON17 October 2016
Excellent work experience and employment standards. It was a contract position but I would return at a moments notice. The Kingston, ON location was very well managed and a joy to work at.

Thanks
Pros
free coffee
Cons
contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Global Leader In Desperate Need Of Reorganization
Procurement Specialist (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON9 September 2016
The company does not adhere to policy and procedures and input from experienced personnel is usually ignored. A culture of fear is continually perpetuated with threat of layoff.
Pros
Salary
Cons
No Respect For Work/Life BalaNCE
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Site Master Scheduler, SAP Power User (Former Employee) –  Kingston8 September 2016
Enjoyed working at Bombardier, had the opportunity to advance, only unfortunate part is being laid off due to economy.
Pros
Benefits and Salary
Cons
Not a secure industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON4 August 2016
very aggressive environment and friendly place to work. New and innovative ideas can be put in place. I strongly recommends working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic Work Environment
Senior Buyer (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON15 February 2016
A lack of cost control and consistent project execution (including lessons learned) is this company's biggest downfall. The salary is competitive, but there is an expectation that employees will work additional hours, but not necessarily be compensated for it due to cash-flow issues and lack of resources. The advancement and fast-tracking of employees is not always made on the basis of merit, knowledge or experience.
Pros
Benefit Package
Cons
Bloated Balance Sheet, No Cost Control, Inability To Execute Projects, No Opportunity For Lateral Or Vertical Movement Within Corporate Hierarchy, Policies & Processes Are Not Consistently Followed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The camaraderie made it a pleasure to work.
Senior Electrical Designer (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON4 January 2016
Flexible hours, for day to day tasks. The company enabled me to take courses to enhance my knowledge. The work environment was excellent, the camaraderie made it a pleasure to work. The facility was rather old and the location was not ideal as it was far from the major city.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Day At Work
Senior Buyer (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON28 November 2015
The Management structure within Bombardier is fractured and indecisive. The positions from Supervisor to Director Levels are populated with 'appointees' and are rarely open to a fair and transparent competition process. There is very little lateral or vertical movement within the organization. The orientation for new hires (contract or permanent) is minimal and policies and procedures are only adhered to when an audit by third parties is imminent. There is too much emphasis on 'production-related' priorities with very little attention given to contractual issues until it has become a criticality.
Pros
Benefits Package For Full-Time Employees
Cons
No Work / Life Balance - Individuals Fast-Tracked For Key Positions Not Always Qualified
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Learning Experience
Operations & Maintenance Planner (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON30 October 2015
Bombardier has provided me the opportunity to learn and grow my skillset. I have had to adapt to rapid changes in strategies, methodologies and management. My most enjoyable and memorable experiences have been field-related wherein I have been entrusted to utilize my experience, contributing to the success of numerous projects. During my multi-faceted tenure at BT I have been fortunate to have been appointed to T&C commissioning teams, performed various safety, control centre and track evaluation audits to assess the status of existing conditions and to assist in the development of new strategies, remedial actions, designs and rules compliance.
Pros
Freedom to make recommendations for improvement of existing coniditions
Cons
Not being the industry leader.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer intern
Summer R&D Intern (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON2 March 2015
It was a good experience for me. I enjoyed my time working at Bombardier and would recommend them as an employer. The R&D project I worked on was very interesting from a technical standpoint.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company in a small town
Lead Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON29 November 2013
Existing job scope
short commute, more family time
Highly appreciative colleagues
Pros
small community, less traffic more free time
Cons
no too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely good place for work and self development
Senior Analyst/Software Developer (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON12 July 2013
Bombardier let me learn a lot of new technologies. The work atmosphere is extremely pleasant. I would recommend this place to everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report

See more Bombardier reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bombardier. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,788 reviews
5867
41.1K
3576
2173
1122

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture