Boathouse Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good training
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 November 2018
a good basis for learning the basics on how to be a good sales associate. learned how to do different folds using a folding board. we learned the importance of unit per transaction and selling promotional items.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Sales/ Customer service (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON29 October 2018
I loved working here! the staff and management where amazing and really personable. good work life balance and very flexible. worked here during college and loved it!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is fine dinning in Port Moody instead of Vancouver
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Port Moody, BC17 October 2018
This was a great place to work in 2011 after that it kind of went down hill.
may be the new owners but would still be a good place to learn how things are done in a franchise style restaurant
Pros
free lunch
Cons
stifles creative process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB16 October 2018
Great place to work. Awesome discount and sales incentives. wish they had commissioned based sales. Door to Floor stock was efficient only when properly trained at stock, which was lacking proper training methods and procedures to be able to demonstrate examples of expectations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 October 2018
High volume, fast paced restaurant. Great place to work with a fantastic, dedicated team. Food quality is great, always fresh. Fun atmosphere with a strong culture.
Pros
Bonus'
Cons
Long hours/ No work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Summer Job
Ice Cream Server & Cashier (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON2 October 2018
For the most part I enjoyed my time at the Boathouse. However, I did struggle with the lack of breaks that were permitted on a ten hour shift and general environment caused by other staff members was sometimes hostile and exclusive. But overall, it was a good job placement.
Pros
free food
Cons
lack of breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Lead Hostess/Server (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC19 September 2018
Learned what it takes to work in a fast paced environment, customer service, and working professionally. Staff is very friendly, and the job is flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great summer job
line cook during summer (Former Employee) –  White Rock, BC19 September 2018
i worked at the boathouse for two summers on the deck as a line cook. I loved it. super chill and fun staff. everyone is super laid back and the scheduling is very flexible and the pay is good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON16 September 2018
i have been working here as cook for nearly 4 months its a great place to work. i was assigned shifts as per my college timings which was very helpful for me.
Pros
nice work environment
Cons
closing along sometimes is not good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job, Sometimes Frustrating, but Worth It
FullTime Keyholder (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC25 August 2018
I’ve worked here on and off for years. It’s always been a “welcome home” whenever I come back. It’s definitely had its ups and downs but I’ve made some close friends here who’ll be around for the rest of my life. Every retail store has it’s downfalls, but this one has a way of making it up to you.
Pros
Strong Staff, Discounts, Easy time off
Cons
Pay could be abit better for keyholders/management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON13 August 2018
wonderful place to work if you enjoy clothes but very slow pace. Good for customer service experience and positive people. good management. long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow work day.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 July 2018
I had a hard time with this job being that i didnt get any breaks working a 5 hr shift. Boring job. Didnt really get along with the co workers, they were all stuck up. lots of standing around with nothing to do.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Standing around for long periods of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Not Good Management
Host (Former Employee) –  Port Moody, BC18 June 2018
One of the managers hated half of the host team so she never would schedule us. We ended up taking any shift put up but they would decline the shift change so a few of us ended up quitting. When I put in my two weeks I didn't get another shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing management team and fun, goal driven work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON25 May 2018
Amazing management team and fun, goal driven work environment.
-management team super accommodating with my second job
-consistent feedback given to facilitate self improvement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging with customers and food constantly
Expediter, salad chef, food runner, host (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 May 2018
Worked in a fast paced environment with very interesting people. Learn the food, learn regulars and tourists. Never a dull moment at the Boathouse Restaurant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for students
Sales Associate/Key-holder (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 May 2018
On average, working here was great. There were sometimes where there weren't acceptable conditions that occured but they were never in house issues. They were always behind the house. Managers felt a lack of freedom with expression of "their" store. Other than that, it was and is a perfect job for students learning to build experience with customer service and gain job experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick cash
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  White Rock, BC3 May 2018
If you don't have a lot of skills, and you're in need of money this job is for you. This is great for summer during off-school days for students. You are constantly on your feet and keeping your body fit is an added benefit to the job.
Pros
pay, free food
Cons
Physically tasking, high pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first job
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON2 May 2018
if you like the boho chic look then this is the perfect place to work and shop, people are very friendly and kind. if you can be bubbly then you will be able to make your daily quota
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work , although , it had major set backs
Cook (Former Employee) –  Sanford, NC30 April 2018
This place was unprofessional in every category , management was set up weird , the owner did not know how to run his on place and was disrespectful and rude
Pros
Get to eat when there no customers
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, Not so great management
Sales Associate/Health and Safety (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB20 April 2018
Family like-staff, however, management chooses favorites and provides hours based on who they like rather than job performance. Employees rarely exceed 5 months
Pros
40% off
Cons
Wanting to die
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boathouse. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 255 reviews
574
464
369
220
128

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture