Boathouse Employee Reviews

Found 148 reviews matching the search See all 273 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stepping stone to a real job
Sales/Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 March 2019
The most some of us get to do is greeting and helping customers. Was never fully trained on cash. Management was very poor and some people were very difficult to talk to.
Pros
Coworkers were great, very helpful.
Cons
Not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The discounts were the only reason I stayed.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON28 February 2019
Great discounts 40% off branded items like Kappa and Adidas and 50% house brand items. COlset build gets those discount prices higher since their clothing counts as uniform. Was hardly ever able to afford their clothing items for uniform purposes because of the lack of shifts I was given. Wasn't able to find a 2nd job because they wanted me to keep my availability open in case I got scheduled with more than 1 shift a week. Great summer job and perfect for students.
Cons
Little to no shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Visual Merchandiser- Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON25 February 2019
Great place to work. Environment, management and head office were all wonderful. Would still work there if it were manageable. Good discount. Good hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great seasonal position
Seasonal Sales (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON19 February 2019
I worked with boathouse during the christmas season. It was really good retail experience. The employees are more then helpful when it comes to learning the ropes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for a student
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 January 2019
- canadian company
- great for students
- awesome people to work with
- employee discounts on nice clothes
- not much room for advancement
- decent pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boathouse is great
Cook (Former Employee) –  Kenora, ON19 January 2019
boathouse is an example of the best work place i have worked, the staff were the best and the management was amazing. it was a very comfortable atmosphere and the food was also amazing, i would go back in a heart beat if the opportunity arose.
Pros
great work experience
Cons
hot kitchen
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great brands and good quality. workplace culture is not the best
Sales/Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC14 January 2019
worked with the company for 3 years as a senior manager, company was headed in a great direction with proper leaders that were in place but once the changes at head office occurred it trickled down to the stores. The company lost site of what was important and the new managers in place push there employees with ever acknowledging or praising store achievements.
Pros
discount, team contests
Cons
no room for growth, favortism, upper management are shady
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work when your young
Sudbury, ON Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON5 January 2019
Lots of folding clothes, cleaning up after people trying on clothing, sending and receiving stock. pretty basic job. Many opportunities to meet new people and build clientele. Management was always up and down, usually left on the backs of the full-timers whenever a manager would up and quit. Hardest part of the job was being thrown into new responsibilities, without proper training. The most enjoyable part of the of the job was the employee discounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too packed
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC3 January 2019
Most stores have too much stock to hold. From my knowledge, each store will get the same amount of stock regardless of the size of the building, leading to overstock and messy stores
Pros
Some good deals
Cons
Staffing could be an issue, high turn over rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restaurant is now closed
Cook/server/bartender (Former Employee) –  Chippawa, ON3 January 2019
This restaurant is now closed it was great while it was open with a family environment and free meals but the owners retired and the restaurant is no longer open
Pros
Closed
Cons
Closed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Supportive work environment
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brandon, MB16 December 2018
The culture around Boathouse is fun and supportive, you get the chance to provide great customer service while making lasting friendships in a fun environment, alongside a great discount. I got a promotion within 2 days of starting due to my experience from past jobs and you're able to be creative with visual and decisions made regarding the store and scheduling.
Pros
great discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good training
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 November 2018
a good basis for learning the basics on how to be a good sales associate. learned how to do different folds using a folding board. we learned the importance of unit per transaction and selling promotional items.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Sales/ Customer service (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON29 October 2018
I loved working here! the staff and management where amazing and really personable. good work life balance and very flexible. worked here during college and loved it!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is fine dinning in Port Moody instead of Vancouver
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Port Moody, BC17 October 2018
This was a great place to work in 2011 after that it kind of went down hill.
may be the new owners but would still be a good place to learn how things are done in a franchise style restaurant
Pros
free lunch
Cons
stifles creative process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB16 October 2018
Great place to work. Awesome discount and sales incentives. wish they had commissioned based sales. Door to Floor stock was efficient only when properly trained at stock, which was lacking proper training methods and procedures to be able to demonstrate examples of expectations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 October 2018
High volume, fast paced restaurant. Great place to work with a fantastic, dedicated team. Food quality is great, always fresh. Fun atmosphere with a strong culture.
Pros
Bonus'
Cons
Long hours/ No work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Summer Job
Ice Cream Server & Cashier (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON2 October 2018
For the most part I enjoyed my time at the Boathouse. However, I did struggle with the lack of breaks that were permitted on a ten hour shift and general environment caused by other staff members was sometimes hostile and exclusive. But overall, it was a good job placement.
Pros
free food
Cons
lack of breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Lead Hostess/Server (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC19 September 2018
Learned what it takes to work in a fast paced environment, customer service, and working professionally. Staff is very friendly, and the job is flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great summer job
line cook during summer (Former Employee) –  White Rock, BC19 September 2018
i worked at the boathouse for two summers on the deck as a line cook. I loved it. super chill and fun staff. everyone is super laid back and the scheduling is very flexible and the pay is good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON16 September 2018
i have been working here as cook for nearly 4 months its a great place to work. i was assigned shifts as per my college timings which was very helpful for me.
Pros
nice work environment
Cons
closing along sometimes is not good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport