BMO Financial Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer focused team environment
Dispute Resolution Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 March 2018
Customer focus is 1st priority. Not always pleasant when the client is not willing to listen to reason. Management is supportive and promotes team social events within the office to maintain a healthy positive environment. My best success in this position is when the client thanks me for assisting them in resolving their billing issues that appear on their statements.
Pros
Great team environment
Cons
Location is not on a great bus route or schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Financial Planner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 March 2018
Overall it was a good experience. Too much power in the hands of local VP to clean house of all who ever said no to him. It must have cost the company a fortune in hiring and firing costs for one ego.
Pros
Loyal client base
Cons
Long hours and high expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average in big banks
Financial Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 March 2018
BMO has clear expectations and targets for each role which is great, but the company promotes micromanagement. The manager would check in with you three times a day to see what you are doing cen you are a top performer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more lateral moves then anything
Financial Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 March 2018
doesn't pay enough for the amount of work you have to do and not to mention the mental beating it takes on you. it really depends on the manager you have - if you dont have a good one then you really dont go anywhere
Pros
you have a job
Cons
you wish you didn't have this job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm Culture Underpinned by Harassment
Senior HR Business Partner (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 March 2018
BMO has a 'secret sauce' and according to them, it is their competitive advantage - their culture. At the outset, the organinzation and it's employees are warm and seeminly kind. However, when you dig more deeply, you will see a culture that is both hugely discriminatory to visible minorities and one that promotes harassment in the workplace.

The lack of integrity in the upper echelons of management is clearly visible once you're ingrained in their culture.

If you have been offered a role here or are thinking of applying - don't. Be wary and know what you are getting into before you decide to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good organization to work for--F/T or Contract
Senior Technology Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 March 2018
Progressive management.
Flexible work hours
Most enjoyable was working with colleagues
As a contractor, expected to work some evenings and weekends to deploy projects.
The organization is results driven
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
Presure to meet some fixed deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Customer Service/Specialized Sales (Current Employee) –  Corner Brook, NL8 March 2018
When I was hired I was told that within the year I could be moved into an FSM position (it's been a lot longer than a year). My sales have been on target, with most weeks being above target. I still have not been given the opportunity to move up the ladder. With our sister branch in the city due to close when the new branch is built, there are a lot of employees who will be at risk of losing their positions.
When I was hired, the workplace environment was light, fun, and positive. There have been numerous changes within the branch, the environment is no longer enjoyable. I find the work day to be extremely stressful, with little support from new management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Alberta7 March 2018
Not much for advancement opportunity. Regional leader choices are questionable. Good pay and reasonable work life balance. Public and private mandates on employee culture couldn't be more different. Definitely not a safe zone, and while we always do what is in the best interest of clients, we certainly do not get treated well as employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity for skill development in temporary position
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC7 March 2018
This position was a good opportunity to initiate and manage self-directed work. Management is excellent, though this position relied less so on direct instruction from the supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place.
Senior Systems Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 March 2018
Fun working place, very nice and professional people. The incentives could be better. Lot of opportunities to move around inside the company to try different positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Work Culture
Lead Application Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 March 2018
In BMO i feel like owrk culture is Old. people who already working there from many years dont let you take initative. Your management put stop or give your idea to their favorite person. Instead of learning new things i stuck with old application. Wrokplace culture is somewhat good but not near to my previous companies.
Pros
Pension plan, Stocks
Cons
Less Carrier advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 March 2018
It was nice to be treated as an equal to my other colleagues who had a lot more experience then I did. They were very patient and helpful when I would ask or help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall banking system
Client Relationship Consultant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 March 2018
My first employment in the financial sector and I have learned so much throughout the 4 years that I was there.

I worked in everyday banking, lending and self-directed investment. Although all the roles are over the phone but the conversation and a typical day work are totally different.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSR roles
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 March 2018
Nice place to work. Don’t expect a raise too quickly. Not full time for CSR. Watch your managers. Depending on which branch, it can be terrible leaders
Pros
Nice company long term jobs
Cons
Too much customer service
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company
Senior Software Developer (Former Employee) –  100 King St. Toronto5 March 2018
This a good company to go. They have more than thousand applications with various technologies. It's a good place to learn. However, if you want to get somebody's help or response, it may take by days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Large Corporation
Project Manager (Merchandising and Digital Media) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 March 2018
This corporation is able to weather the storm of the uncertain Canadian environment well. It is well positioned against competitors both domestic and offshore.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work in
Database Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 March 2018
It is not too stressful a place to work in, it has a good work/life balance. Provides reasonable salary/benefits. As with every workplace, it's the people you work with that make the difference.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed Potential & Ideas
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 March 2018
Many ideas that could deliver sustainable positive results; unfortunately senior executives are only interested in managing to the next quarter and their bonus at the expense of anybody and everybody.
Pros
Big organization to move around
Cons
Poor executive management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Customers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON27 February 2018
Immediate manager was excellent, area management was not a people person or approachable in any way. Too much stress on sale targets and referrals, learned a lot about banking and different issues that can arise, met some wonderful people, Hardest part of job was the stress of making sales targets each week and the consequences if targets were not met
Pros
Customers
Cons
pressure of meeting sales targets
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of BMO
Chargeback Officer (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON26 February 2018
An banking organisation with exposure to many interesting and talented colleagues with varied backgrounds in accounting, credit card processing, cheque processing, banking and IT
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BMO Financial Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,549 reviews
5489
4552
3315
296
197

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture