Blue Mountain Employee Reviews

Found 85 reviews matching the search See all 97 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Health & Safety Inspector Corporate Rigging (Current Employee) –  Collingwood, ON13 April 2019
great place for fun and work. organized and clean environment. truly can mix work and and play there. as long as the weather is good its a fantastic work day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An experience but only for a short period
Base lodge supervisor (Current Employee) –  Collingwood11 March 2019
The staff are great to work with, very diverse and multi cultural. Work becomes tedious and repetitive after a while. Management could do with some improvements
Pros
Hours and pay
Cons
Management not up to par
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Ontario13 January 2019
great place to work with great people. Management is very friendly and you feel respected. The hardest part of the job is sometimes completing the unit on time for unexpected early arrivals(customers). I've learned many skills how to properly make a bed from beginning to end housekeeping standard. Also cleaning an entire unit bathroom kitchen and bedroom. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Seasonal Job
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON10 January 2019
This is a seasonal job after which you may have the opportunity to stay on. Becoming a 'core' staff member is slim.

Heads Up: Blue Mountain does not and will not care about you as a worker and neither do people.
Pros
Co-Workers (Sometimes)
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Cafe Attendant (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON8 January 2019
The employees I had worked with at Blue Mountain were great, I loved the environment and id definitely would recommend other people to work here. Great!
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Some customers were rude
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super friendly staff
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON6 December 2018
Was an amazing place to work and all of the staff work together to make sure that no one is left behind. Flexible hours and tons of amazing incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place fantastic staff
waste (Former Employee) –  operations2 December 2018
great place to work fantastic staff supervisors and management , i think they were upset with me because never came back for the winter season, my drive is too long and during a storm would have been brutal ,, sorry too all who i let down.. you all have been wonderful during the summer season... worked in the waste area of the resort.
Pros
great staff
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work for a Season
Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Blue Mountain, ON3 November 2018
It's a fun place to work. The pay is minimum wage and you feel like they don't care about you at all because they can hire you're replacement pretty fast from all over the world. Management in the lifts department anyway is crooked. Don't plan on staying and advancing anywhere, but it's a decent job to work for a season. Everyone I worked with were really nice people.
Pros
Free ski pass, 40 percent off at the lodge food (crazy overpriced, so its not much of a deal)
Cons
standing in the cold all day making no money kinda sucks, management was a mess, some of the "team leads" and supervisors were on a power trip half of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and safe workplace, great sense of teamwork
Guest Services Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON3 November 2018
Very fun and safe work environment. Work with resort guests from all around the planet to ensure they have an enjoyable experience. Regular managerial meetings with clear and concise information and strategies communicated.
Pros
40% Staff Discount on food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
felt very at home
Busser/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON29 October 2018
besides taking care of every bodys garbage the lil group of co workers really made it worthwhile. even getting lil tips from residents. the view was amazing,
Pros
cheap lunch, smoke break when ur not busy, friendly environment
Cons
long hours, cant talk back to people who say rude things to you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Front Desk Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Blue Mountains, ON25 October 2018
job description does not match what is expected of you.
Lots of "department restructuring to weed out staff that is not wanted/with high wages.
No loyalty within this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent managment & comfortable environment to learn and grow in.
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON9 October 2018
Fast paced environment allows you to learn quickly. Staff & supervisors are patient and thorough when training you. Manager always thanks you for your work at the end of your shifts. Manager always likes to hear feedback to make work a better place for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Senior Manager, Rusty's (Current Employee) –  Blue Mountains, ON30 August 2018
Working for Rusty's I found a home, somewhere to hone my customer service skills and a very motivated and active management team that pushed me to look for more in my work.
Pros
flexible
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work enviroment is great atmosphere and staff work as a team
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Collingwood, ON1 August 2018
Blue mountain owns a few different buildings which means the staff moves every 3 to 6 months so it keep a them stimulated and they learn many different skills.
Pros
Free staff meals and they look after the staff if something comes up
Cons
Hours could be around 14hrs and work week or 2 straight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing staff
Cafe Attendant (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON1 June 2018
working there was great staff was nice, I really enjoyed working there they have great benefits. I enjoyed meeting new people and I enjoyed working with the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome workplace, great opportunities and excellent management/colleagues.
Lift Operator (Current Employee) –  Collingwood, ON12 May 2018
Work consists of aiding guests in having a great day at Blue Mountain, and all the while making our product the very best for the experience of the guest. Social skills are easily developed, as is customer service and communication skills. Making guests happy is the goal of most of our workers, and that is what makes working at Blue Mountain so enjoyable; a common goal shared by many that is the focal point of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Part-time Rental Attendant (Former Employee) –  Blue Mountains, ON3 May 2018
I worked in the village rentals for a winter season, it was really fun
for the most part. but sometimes gets a little messy, picking up wet, smelly, dripping with snow slush and putting it back on the shelves.
They sometimes overstaff us which is fine I guess.And the only half hour you get for a break in an 8-hour shift, but I loved the people I worked with and meeting lovely customers.
Pros
Free ski hill pass
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Ski Instructor (Current Employee) –  Collingwood, ON30 April 2018
Easy to make friends
Staff are friendly and approachable
Management is professional
Job perks are great
Many employee discounts
Growth opportunities
Flexible schedules
Pros
Employee Lift Pass
Cons
Seasonal Work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved every day
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON26 April 2018
great place to work everyone there is happy to be there and they have a great family and work life
and you get to Ski for free come on what more could you ask for
Pros
family and work life was great
Cons
i don't golf
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good employer
Service Attendant in the Resort Inn and Base Lodge (Former Employee) –  the INN cafe5 April 2018
I had a great time at Blue mountain, and would recomend it for any sesonal workers. all lodges were great to work in and had great managment all round.
Pros
good work balance
Cons
a little disorganised
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blue Mountain. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 97 reviews
545
433
312
25
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.1Culture