BlackBerry Employee Reviews

Found 559 reviews matching the search See all 881 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON24 November 2018
Was great company to work for. We developed software and supported it. In the last year we had a lot of issues due to what happened at the company but I really miss working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disorganized. No one was minding the shop.
PRIVACY ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON15 November 2018
This was my least favourite of all my jobs although it was the best paid. I have never seen so much hustle and so little traction. Nothing ever seemed to get done. They had too many people and not enough work. Sad because it could have been so much more successful.
Pros
sick time was not limited
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company with lots of smart people
Sr. Program Manager Lead (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON31 October 2018
Fun place to work with lots of bleeding edge technology and working with smart people.

Joined the company when it was small and successfully implemented lots of new development, project/program and testing methodologies and processes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iconic and dynamic company
Operations (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 October 2018
Very dynamic, hectic and exciting at times work environment. Promotes team and personal development however middle management and pretentious behaviors can stiffle individual development . With the right drive and gumption, great opportunities to pave your way, and make a name as an individual exist.
Pros
Working for a Industry Leader
Cons
Legacy the public remembers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun during the growth curve...
Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON11 October 2018
I worked at BlackBerry during it's growth curve from 2005-2012 (approximately). It was fun to be part of the massive expansion and adoption of smartphones. As with any company that starts to plateau, growth opportunities at the end of my tenure became limited.
Pros
Large number of resources, mentors
Cons
Defined, specific roles made lateral movement difficult
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of best work place in Canada
Manufacturing Test support (Former Employee) –  Waterloo Region, ON30 September 2018
professional work place, respect each other, fast pace dynamic environment, a lot of opportunities for learning front edge technology, individual development with company business growing/ changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON18 September 2018
Working at BlackBerry provided me with so much opportunity for development and growth. The culture is fast-paced and about getting things done. I would love to go back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company
Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON29 August 2018
the company treats people equally, offers room to promote. People there are friendly. They respect employee's participation and collect employee's advice to improve production and customer view.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant place to work
mud (Current Employee) –  somewhere20 August 2018
Not even a pale shadow of what it once was. Lost and confused would be the best way to describe management and the direction that comes from US head office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Technical Support Analyst - Premier (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS15 August 2018
Work is challenging and benefits are above average. Company turnaround is going well but there are still some questions about job security. Good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with Foosball table.
ENTERPRISE TECHNICAL DATA ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON10 August 2018
BlackBerry got a great work place environment.
I would describe it as a fun place with a lot of activities and facilities.
-----------------------------------
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Electronic Assembler (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON10 August 2018
I loved working at rim ilearned so much from them as a company and the people I worked with were just great to help or talk you thought it if you you stuck .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Test Engineering Specialist (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON10 August 2018
The company was very busy and a lot of over time. The company has different kind of Hi-Tech process . I got a lot of exposer and expires to those of process. I meet a lot of professional worker to exchange experiences.
Pros
free jackets and lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fake review, I don't leave employer reviews
Carrier Compliance System Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 August 2018
It was a pleasure hosting Pythian. He was really friendly and easy-going. Pythian was really respectful of our place. Welcome to come back anytime. not real review
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and culture
Sr. Partner Operational Systems Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 July 2018
Great culture, very professional. Always allowing for people to learn new things. Provides great flexibility and work balance. Management with clear direction.
Pros
Great flexibility, always learning
Cons
Still in transition period, therefore job security is not strong
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
NOC Administrator (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON21 July 2018
Fun productive environment with excellent opportunities also very friendly co-workers. Cannot provide any further information due to security obligations within my current contract.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good technology company
Network Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 July 2018
A technology driven company that shifted from hardware to software centric. With the company direction it has downsized to effectively run with this new adopted model.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for Blackberry
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 June 2018
Really good working environment.
- good communication
- highly motivated and positive group
- highly competent group from both technical and managerial point of view.
Pros
good working environment and highly competent coleagues
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company I've Worked For
Documentation Technician (Former Employee) –  Cambridge13 June 2018
Working for BlackBerry was a great experience and I'm so glad to have had it. I was very sad when my career came to an end but there are no hard feelings towards BlackBerry. Everyone has to do what they have to do to survive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company
National Training Manager - Canada (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 June 2018
Good company overall, was leading technology - always looking to grow. Very process driven, many people to support and collaborate from different teams & sections.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BlackBerry. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 881 reviews
5336
4325
3154
240
126

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.9Culture