Black & McDonald Limited Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 25 reviews matching the search See all 162 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON12 October 2018
Worked on a contract administrative assistant position. The office is very friendly and welcoming, it was easy to feel relaxed and at home. If you are looking for a job with advancement opportunities this position is not right for it. The office is very spread out with lots of employees that specialize in a certain thing or area, so if you want more work or to move positions those people need to leave or retire first.
Pros
Free lunches, holidays, benefits, understanding management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Work Life balance
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 April 2018
While working with Black and McDonald I have almost never had a lunch break and work 50 hours plus a week. People are great but effort in doesn't equal effort out.
Pros
People
Cons
Long hours with out pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Finance (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON23 May 2017
good salary
good benefits
toxic environment
departments lack communication skils( accounting, purchasing.etc

Supervisors should work on communication skill and supervisory skills.
Upper management(accounting) should work on communication.
Lack of quality training.
Quick to point fingers and not help with work
Unexpected surprises.NOT a good thing
Pros
Benefits and Salary
Cons
Training, Communication, Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent job
Dispatcher/Custome Service Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC30 October 2017
excellent salary and benefits. only reason left was relocation of call centre ffrom Vernon to Toronto. Otherwise and excellent company to work for in al other respects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employees are not even a second to money
Construction Manager/General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Masset, BC23 July 2017
work is away from home, while working for B&M my wife had a very bad stroke, I was replaced with in days, never was offered a job with the company again. had to fight to get my expense cheques was ^ months after my last day work to get my last expense cheque.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing employer!
Human Resources Administrator (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS22 July 2015
Great company that values its employees opinions, talents and knowledge. Lots of opportunities for growth, development and training. Both teamwork and the ability to work independently are valued. Lots of very skilled, friendly co-workers. Amazing incentives and very fair compensation, vacation and benefits are offered. Management/HR works to coach employees rather than condemn mistakes. Fantastic corporate culture and day-to-day work environment.
Pros
Compensation, training, work environment, corporate culture, co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hours working at a mill shutdown
Electrical Supervisor & Systems Specialist (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK19 November 2016
Black and McDonald have a preset management crew (good bunch), but this means that opportunities to advance are very limited. There were lots of paid overtime hours and if you worked hard you could work as many as you liked. Overall a good work experience and I would work for them again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn lots, lots of company functions
Lead hand/Operator (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS18 December 2012
good place to work. i enjoy everyday. i been there for a year and a half and have learned lots. My co-workers are great to work with and always carry on while getting work done in a fast paced enviroment.
Pros
union, meals paid for on weekends. good people lots of benefits
Cons
seasonal. hard to budget money when i only work 9 months a year
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work atmosphere
Plumber (Former Employee) –  Goose Bay, NL30 August 2017
I would love to work with this company again. very good leadership and a well balanced work schedule . I learned alot of good skills that i will carry on for a long time after
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Working Environment
Project Coordinator/Estimator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 July 2017
fun working environment. Lots to learn. high pressure. High expectation, Long hours, salary does not match with expectations. Good company to learn from
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and management made long hours bearable.
Sheet Metal Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK29 March 2017
I worked for B&M on a potash mine expansion in Saskatoon SK, it was a rewarding and overall enjoyable work experience, overtime during project crunch time was paid for without complaint.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work for also they pay for everything
labouer (Former Employee) –  Fort Frances, ON4 January 2017
Awesome plave to work for yoy learn alut on the job mostly hand tools but those are always good to know and you also get free food on the job and free transpo
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Loading Dock Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 August 2015
Great place to work. Great people, benefits, management. Worked there for almost ten years. Good job security. Fun work place. People always will to help. Many sites across Canada.
Pros
Job security
Cons
poor job advanements
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Training and Development
Project Manager Screen House Refurbishment (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON18 June 2016
Company is very customer focused, and trains its employees in all aspects of career development. Great benefits and wages. Excellent company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill place to work
Power engineer (Former Employee) –  Devon, AB26 June 2016
Worked in Devon government research facility. Worked with good people and it was a chill place to work. The management was awesome. No overtime but overall it was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Project Estimator/Manager (Former Employee) –  Scarboro7 May 2014
very good company to work for
it was long time ago I worked for the company and I do not have more feed back now
Pros
good benefit and pension
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Refrigeration Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 October 2015
really enjoy working for the union. great pay and benefits. like having the pension. great work, and enjoy the safety rules and regulations in place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Plumbing Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 December 2016
Worked for them for over a year. Very good company with great forman and lead hands. Great benefits and wage as well. And always had work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to work place
Electrical Estimator (Current Employee) –  toronto. on24 February 2014
I am working on electrical estimation such as waste water treatment, hospital and hotels.
Pros
Supporting gas fee
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good project team
Project controller (Former Employee) –  Goldboro, NS18 August 2012
The team involved in the SOEP project were an excellent group wo I enjoyed working with.
Pros
good people to work with
Cons
low compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Black & McDonald Limited. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 162 reviews
559
452
324
213
114

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture