Bison Transport Employee Reviews for Driver

See reviews about:
Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 42 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of your time
Driver (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 December 2017
The hiring process is so slow and time wasting that it is not worth the time even bothering to try.
For the money they pay and the 3 weeks sitting and waiting for them to get back to you is not worth it.
A straight answer would be nice but never comes.
Pay is well below industry standards also.
Pros
Big company
Cons
Lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for bison is one of the better companies out there
Az driver (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 November 2017
bison is a very good company to work for in my opinon. the pay scale could be hire . the equipment is maintained very good. they could be more flexable with the home time .
Pros
lots of miles
Cons
not muck home time
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 22Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
shunt driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 April 2017
it's a good experience there. lots of hard work to do. lots of learn everyday is a new learning experience. staff could be a bit more friendly........
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office staff need accountability
Driver (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 April 2017
Worked for them a few weeks. I spent lots of down time that they refused to pay for. They will promise you everything but give you very little. They have internal polices that the driveris not allowed to see till they need to use it against you.

Only expect to get $700 a week on average as they can't make the miles that they promise then tell the driver it is there fault some how for not getting the miles that the driver wants to make.

Newer equipment and most of the dispatchers are nice. Upper management could not find a clue even if they where standing on it.
Pros
Good equipment, elogs, paid weekly
Cons
Mismanaged, poor milelage, crazy driver contracts, always trying to pay a driver less for there hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The future of the trucking industry is bleak.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 October 2016
Expect 700$/week net, no benefits. You work 6 days on, 1.5days off. Or 14 on, 1.5 off.
The company is garbage. No care or pride is taken at any level. The office staff are more valuable than the drivers. The office staff are paid 33$+/hr Ave. Where drives are paid 17$/Ave.
They can only retain people with no experience and immigrants.
They expect you to lick the truck clean for 10¢ and be proud of the lick job.
Only benefit is there is no boss directly yelling at you and you don't have to put up with idiots directly all the time.
Perfect job if your homeless and have a class 1.
I feel bad for owner/operators and lease/operators thinking they are benefiting.
Pros
Seclusion, a place to call home
Cons
Too many to list (bison=walmart of truck driving)
Was this review helpful?Yes 56No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Driver (Current Employee) –  Calgary13 June 2015
Careful. These guys will promise almost anything to get you in the drivers seat. It's an old boys club. I hope Walmart starts their trucking company out West and teach these entitled asshats a lesson. Some guys in there I have a lot of respect for, but management can go fly a kite.
Was this review helpful?Yes 105No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad to work for
shunt driver/supervisor (Former Employee) –  winnipeg mb26 January 2013
I was a shunt driver then a yard supervisor and I can tell you this at $20 hrs shunt is hard work up & down on the shunt truck moving about 100 trailer in a shift the only thing that was good was the 4 on 4 off shift that i work.As for as a supervisor gos lots of back stabbers that try and under mine your work.I also work as a PT driver for city/short haul i was there for 5 yrs and once you quite they don't rehire you I got a safety award for driving and that means 0 to them.just watch your back if you work there.and you will see what i mean.good luck.
Pros
4 on 4 off
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 85No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad company to work for
AZ Driver (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 January 2013
i liked working there but didn't think you got payed very well you had to run your butt off to make a good paycheck
Pros
new truck
Cons
home time not good
Was this review helpful?Yes 48No 20Report

See more Bison Transport reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bison Transport. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 42 reviews
58
417
33
25
19

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture

Bison Transport Reviews by Location