Bishop's University Employee Reviews

Found 25 reviews matching the search See all 27 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement or benefits
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC8 March 2019
There was a lot of camaraderie between the staff, however, there was a huge lack in communication in the work place, especially between staff and upper management. Lots of unnecessary mix ups in details and protocols to follow. There was a lots of preferences between staff members, and unpredictable support between upper and lower staff members. It was an enjoyable place to work, but expectations were too vague. Hours were very flexible around ones lifestyle.
Pros
Staff cameraderie and flexibility of hours
Cons
disconnect between upper and lower staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job service in University community
Student Safety (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC25 July 2018
All night shifts, during weekends.
Well organized events and worked under the orders of the Bishops Security team. Few minor personal issues with management, but overall very well run job with a fun team of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivating, independently driven work environment on fixed term
Vice President of Academic Affairs (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC20 July 2018
Working for the university student government is an excellent opportunity to influence change in the community. A closed office space is a huge perk for student employees who need a spot to study outside of work hours. Perfect for those who love to delve deeply into the root of institutional culture, since this job puts you in collision with university-wide decision makers on academic committees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are great
Gaiters Football Equipment Manager (Current Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC14 May 2018
A typical day at work would be preparing the equipment for practices as well as games. Supplying the players with safe equipment to practice and play in. Maintaining equipment to comply with the safety standards.
Pros
The people are fantastic to work with
Cons
Due to the lack of funding/budget for the varsity team, the pay lacks in comparison to the about of work that is being done. However, that is normal for this position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Bartender and Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC4 May 2018
Great place to work. Excellent team and general culture. Fun jobs. Working here is competitive and challenging in the best way possible. It allows employees to grow quickly as workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC21 April 2018
Fun place to work. Great atmosphere, very positive and supervisors are always looking to employees for feedback on what is working well and what is not.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bishops University
Student Safety (Former Employee) –  Bishop's University20 March 2018
Great atmosphere. friendly peers. The most enjoyable part of working within a small University is the opportunity to know your peers so well throughout the span of an internship. i honed my leadership and critical thinking skills, and i have my mentors and co workers at this university to thank for that.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
Small University
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced lifestyle, bureaucratic environment
Manager (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC12 February 2018
Pros:
Work life balance
Beautiful campus
Most people are easy to work with

Cons:
Few opportunities for advancement
Universities are bureaucratic, change is slow
Unionized, low performing employees don't get fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience
Teaching Assistant and Lab Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC11 November 2017
Helped students clarify how to do certain experiments, which allowed me to review what I had previously learnt. It helped me solidify what I know about the subject.
Pros
Once a week work and a chance to get to know the professor better
Cons
If the students don't have a lot of questions, it would mean you just stand around the lab waiting for questions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as a student
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC12 August 2017
I really loved working there. They take graduating students on for opportunities to advance in the university. The jobs are amazing and the people are friendly. great place to work at.
Pros
Fun Times
Cons
Long hours, harassment swept under the rug
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Professor's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC8 August 2017
It is a quite and small school environment. Also a nice place to work with all nice professors. You can make your own schedule. Nice paid as a student to get extrat money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused and responsible
Peer Note Taker (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC31 May 2017
Responsible to attend each class lecture, and type out organized class lectures for a student(s) to study from. Had to listen and remain attentive to the class discussion and what the professor was teaching. I attended two classes per week, gathering study notes, and send them to the councillors office by friday morning. �Key skills obtained: Punctuality, Fast-typing, Attention span and listening skills.
Pros
helps with your own studies
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Art Teacher for the Day Camp Project (Former Employee) –  Lennoxville, QC27 May 2017
One of the best experience I had as a student was at the Bishop's University.
I was an art teacher as a part of the Day Camp Project, for a short period of time. Fun and enjoyable experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creating Posters / Promoting Events
Vice President Marketing Enactus (Former Employee) –  Lennoxville, QC4 January 2017
Working as a VP Marketing for Enactus Bishops was and is a great experience.

Overall Tasks:

- Connecting with people via social media
- Creating and Designing Posters
- Promoting Events for Enactus
- Participating in competition ( regional / provincial / international) for Enactus : I get to learn so many interesting stuff and build networks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice student job
Awards (Current Employee) –  Lennoxville, QC25 July 2016
Student job, so did stuff like tutoring and such, and it was a lot of fun.
There isn't much more to say.
I had a lot of good personal experience there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very close group of staff members. Opportunity for advancement. Tips are very rewarding
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC11 July 2016
Really fun work environment
Management is very open
Opportunity to make lots of tips
Flexible work hours
Stressful environment when the bar is busy
Pros
Fun work environment. Friendly staff. Great tips
Cons
Challenging work environment. Stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice employers and job opportunities
Notetaker (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC12 May 2016
I would have to take notes in class and send in notes at the end of the week. I was also a tutor for one of the psychology classes and had flexible working hours. My employers were very nice and always happy to help me if I had any questions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiential work placement
Investigative Data Coder (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC31 March 2016
As these work duties were completed while I was a student, I am unable to provide a proper assessment of salary and job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great educational environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC7 March 2016
- data entry and data analysis
- great people to work with
- great learning environment
- learnt own to present research articles
- something work was repetitive
- felt like all work was important for final result
Pros
-great flexibility for work hours
Cons
needed to pay parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student job
Teacher's Assistant & Writing Skills Advisor (Current Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC1 March 2016
It is a part time student job at university, I get paid minimum salary and I am not allowed to work over 10 hours per week. I am a teacher's assistant for an economic class and I tutor all different kinds of classes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bishop's University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 27 reviews
511
410
36
20
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture

Bishop's University Reviews by Location