Bird Construction Employee Reviews

Found 73 reviews matching the search See all 82 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Management
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 May 2019
Bird construction was a great place to work. The management is nice and understanding.
Building is often difficult to get to as it is in a high traffic area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would work for them again.
Hoist Operator (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC2 May 2019
Good. Nice co workers, ok.money, good hours, not a lot of overtime. Easy to get to site by transit. Was nice working for Bird. Would work for them again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Health Safety & Environmental Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB11 March 2019
Overall working conditions were good . Met a lot of good people and morale in the workplace was good. Great working hours and a good safety culture was apparent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 January 2019
Just another company trying to grind out as much work as they can out of the lowest people on the totem pole.

Management does not care about the the workers. Just carbon copy the same safety management required to work at the large industrial sites.

They use their previous project experience as a selling point and yet very little of that knowledge is passed on to be utilized on the next project because all those people have moved on to other positions or careers because Bird is just, at best, a stepping stone to something better or, at worst, where you end up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best company
Carpenter apprentice - industrial construction (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB3 January 2019
very good
Culture d'entreprise
i liked their management
Pros
good culture
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay but work your life away
Site Administrator (Current Employee) –  Souris, MB27 November 2018
Work 12 hours a day for 24 days in a row consistently. good money but still... You have no time for yourself, you get no breaks most of the time and management is consistently incompetent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compant
Administration Clerk (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS13 November 2018
GREAT CULTURE WITH GOOD PAY.
Though I did not know it at first, It has a recruiter who is incredibly connected to the network of print industry employers and professionals. At our first meeting, it was immediately apparent that he knew much more about the industry than the typical headhunter.

Within a few weeks, I was placed in two very relevant interviews, one of which landed me a satisfying new job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Lot of Sizzle No Steak
Safety Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg1 November 2018
Safety Management combined with HR have no interest in their employees. After several attempts to relay many improvements I was turned away. "Safety is too expensive", "We need to pursue other options"... vague and empty answers.

Stay away fellow construction workers.
Cons
Terrible Company, Poor Management, Poor Safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Skilled Laborer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC19 September 2018
i worked in 3 different locations, and all of the coworkers and management were decent to work with, no issues. I did not have room for advancement though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good mid range sompany
Site CSO/OFA - Mission Correctional Facility (Former Employee) –  Mission, BC29 June 2018
Bird is a good mid range construction management company with a good safety culture. Benefits for employees are on par with industry standards. Management is competent and willing to listen to employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great Company
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Alberta25 June 2018
Worked for this company for nearly four years. Great organization devoted to safety. Catch is, if you can get the appropraite management yo work under.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Burstall, SK18 June 2018
Good company to work for

Workers treated with respect,free to voice opinions

safety was a very high priority and taken very seriously

Would very much enjoy working for them again
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
labourers duties
Civil Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 May 2018
Construction laborers have many duties on job sites that help work run smoother, including cleaning and preparing sites to ensure debris is properly removed, building scaffolding and other temporary structures, operating and maintaining equipment and digging trenches. They may also assist workers from other trades with their work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 May 2018
i worked there for 6 months and i liked it, it was a all year around job like i said it was only a six month job it was in tha winter so it was cold so it added a more work load
Pros
good
Cons
good
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Apprentice Carpenter (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 May 2018
this is a really great company to work for, opportunity for personal advancement on site and great leadership. amazing safety program and all around amazing place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and organized activities outside of work
Construction Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 March 2018
I appreciated my time and work experience I gained with Bird Construction. The people are great to work with. Could use more Mentorship in management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Carpenter/General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 March 2018
Great hands on supers with an understanding of what it takes to create a thriving productive culture. Projects enhanced a workers skills and the training was offered when a worker needed it.
Pros
Great rotations
Cons
Projects may involve isolation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy great place to work
Labourer/Carpenter's Helper (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL22 February 2018
A busy great place to work. Wish the work continued. I enjoyed the construction work and responsibilities. The changes in type of work at a construction site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Labourer/Concrete grinder (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC14 February 2018
I loved working for Bird Construction, lovely people who helped me become a better construction worker, I became way more aware of hazards not just at work but also outside of work.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Did not like CSO, he was very rude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce company but not the best management
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC18 January 2018
Good company if you need to start your career but be aware of the politics and gossiping around. Don't get yourself involved and focus on your own job, do your best and you will be happy
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
poor management, don't value employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bird Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 82 reviews
531
431
314
24
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.7Culture