Bird Construction Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good mid range sompany
Site CSO/OFA - Mission Correctional Facility (Former Employee) –  Mission, BC29 June 2018
Bird is a good mid range construction management company with a good safety culture. Benefits for employees are on par with industry standards. Management is competent and willing to listen to employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great Company
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Alberta25 June 2018
Worked for this company for nearly four years. Great organization devoted to safety. Catch is, if you can get the appropraite management yo work under.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Burstall, SK18 June 2018
Good company to work for

Workers treated with respect,free to voice opinions

safety was a very high priority and taken very seriously

Would very much enjoy working for them again
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
labourers duties
Civil Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 May 2018
Construction laborers have many duties on job sites that help work run smoother, including cleaning and preparing sites to ensure debris is properly removed, building scaffolding and other temporary structures, operating and maintaining equipment and digging trenches. They may also assist workers from other trades with their work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 May 2018
i worked there for 6 months and i liked it, it was a all year around job like i said it was only a six month job it was in tha winter so it was cold so it added a more work load
Pros
good
Cons
good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Apprentice Carpenter (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 May 2018
this is a really great company to work for, opportunity for personal advancement on site and great leadership. amazing safety program and all around amazing place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and organized activities outside of work
Construction Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 March 2018
I appreciated my time and work experience I gained with Bird Construction. The people are great to work with. Could use more Mentorship in management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Carpenter/General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 March 2018
Great hands on supers with an understanding of what it takes to create a thriving productive culture. Projects enhanced a workers skills and the training was offered when a worker needed it.
Pros
Great rotations
Cons
Projects may involve isolation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy great place to work
Labourer/Carpenter's Helper (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL22 February 2018
A busy great place to work. Wish the work continued. I enjoyed the construction work and responsibilities. The changes in type of work at a construction site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Labourer/Concrete grinder (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC14 February 2018
I loved working for Bird Construction, lovely people who helped me become a better construction worker, I became way more aware of hazards not just at work but also outside of work.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Did not like CSO, he was very rude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce company but not the best management
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC18 January 2018
Good company if you need to start your career but be aware of the politics and gossiping around. Don't get yourself involved and focus on your own job, do your best and you will be happy
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
poor management, don't value employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What do I say - its Construction
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 January 2018
no communication, unapproachable managment, clicky staff, unseen company incentives. zero work - life balance,false promises, not a transparent organization !!!!!!
Pros
Good Salary
Cons
Unorganized company
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The environment is very supportive and lots of opportunities for advancement
Project Coordinator (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Thompson, MB4 December 2017
Wonderful company to work for! Management and crew staff are friendly, helpful, and passionate about construction and what they do. Strong core values and beliefs which are followed through on by everyone in the company. I've worked on multiple sites, with multiple different crews, and the one thing that's consistent is the passion. Everyone truly cares for the core values and beliefs of Bird and focuses their daily tasks …
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience for a short time
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC29 November 2017
For the short time I was there until they ran out of projects for me, it was a good experience and a learned a lot. Typical construction lunches with subs and clients. Direct manager was a good mentor. Higher ups had other things on their minds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC23 November 2017
If you like to feel like you are genuinely a part of a long-term tenured team, in an environment that makes you feel at home, this is the place to be!
Pros
Autonomy, supportive colleagues, ability to really contribute.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Senior Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  Bedford, NS14 November 2017
This company is great. The job culture is what makes this place a company you want to be part of. It's like a family. They take pride in the work they do and it shows.
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
Not central
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bird Construction is a company that expands across Canada
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB10 November 2017
I have worked for Bird Construction for 10 years. I started as a carpenter and worked my way up to superintendent, which i worked for 4 years. I spent many good years with Bird and completed many projects safely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS12 October 2017
Always work on the go, great crew! learned many new skills and tricks to the trade from there carpenters. supervisors are very nice and supportive! able to take your time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Carpenter/Labourer/Foreman (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB23 August 2017
Good company to work for, with focus on safety and productivity. The company was conscientious of family lives and commitments and there was a focus on work/home balance.
Pros
Flexible.
Cons
Communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB2 August 2017
Amazing company to work for. They are safety oriented and true treat you like family. They pay well . They have you doing tasks that best suit your ability
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bird Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 72 reviews
528
427
313
23
11

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.8Culture