Best Buy Employee Reviews for Sales Representative

Found 115 reviews matching the search See all 27,958 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
SALES (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB14 January 2020
The staff was very helpful at all times and very supportive! If I weren't returning to school, I would have stayed with them. I recommend this job to anyone with a passion for tech!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Home Solutions Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON13 January 2020
Great management and staff development. Not great opportunities for advancement. High turnover as expected but get to work with great people and products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all round good time
Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB17 December 2019
From the management to your fellow staff its a great collaborative environment where different people work together to ensure the smooth running of the store
Pros
nice people
Cons
stressful hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with supportive staff/management.
Home Solutions Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON16 December 2019
Typical days were not too busy which allowed ample time to make sales pitches and product stocking. Black Friday and Boxing Day can be very busy, but not overwhelming. Management was great. They were supportive of customer service decisions and they organized plenty of employee satisfaction events. It was clear that employee morale was a priority for management.

Some minor criticisms: 1. there are plenty of products to learn about which could be difficult for new employees. 2. corporate pressure to up sell services such as product installations and extended warranties. Despite these concerns, Best Buy was a great employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work for techie's, but not the greatest structure
Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB12 December 2019
Best Buy is a mixture of good and bad, all in one. With the online world slowly crippling their bottom line, they make quite frequent changes to try to keep up. This includes sales techniques, sales/promotions, policies, etc. Unfortunately, the level at which they execute these changes is poor to not at all and what corporate wants, local management constantly contradicts. Here's a general overview, along with categorized reviews of each part of your work experience here:

The Job:

In sales, you'll be given pretty basic instruction on how to sell and from there you're on your own. There's little guidance from actual management, where they typically only implement suggestions or co-worker led sales exercises to improve your abilities. Best Buy talks a big game as the perfect retail environment that avoids pushy sales tactics and gets the customer "exactly what they need". Unfortunately, at the Moncton store, it's the complete opposite. The main focus is to look good on the corporate score cards and try to sell high margin items, with every warranty and service attached to it you can. That includes the ones the customer does not need. When you fail to attach those services, you are penalized and threatened, as opposed to being uplifted or congratulated for making a sale. In the end, the job is quite easy and foot traffic is typically slow, aside from the Holiday's. They talk about how salespeople are store-wide and are "Certified in everything", however the "certification" is made up, as you only need a partial percentage on an easy test that most employees share answers
  more... to. You are told you will work everywhere, but then you're placed in a specific spot and told to sell there. If the spot you've been placed in has little foot traffic, effecting your overall sales, you are reprimanded for it, even though it is beyond your control. You are also reprimanded for not walking around the store to assist other customers, yet the minute you go to do so, you are scolded for leaving your area. A lot of contradicting in this store from management, versus corporate policy, which brings me to my next category.

Management:

So management is filled with some friendly guys, who talk with you more as a friend, as opposed to a boss. Unfortunately, their kindness is typically overshadowed by being under qualified for their positions. Most non-sales related leadership roles are filled with good salesmen with no leadership training. This leads to a blind leading the blind rat race, where most instructions from corporate are dictated to the staff, and then contradicted almost immediately by management. Help was always there if you needed it, which is a plus and a rarity in most big box stores. They also had this really poor and borderline cruel habit of promising well performing employees with title promotions, then handing off said promotions to their friends within the store. Most coworkers who were promised promotions spent on average 1-2 years waiting, before they would eventually quit.

Your Coworkers:

Most coworkers were great to work with, as the interview process was typically more about who management seem to like as a person, as opposed to their ability to perform the job correctly. This, however, put more stress on the employee's who had more technological knowledge, as they would consistently have to assist employee's who had little knowledge of the products. Contrary to popular belief, there's little to no training on actual products, aside from some basic video exercises provided by the vendors. Little time is allotted for teaching, so employees looking to improve that knowledge are left to do it on their own time. As most employees would never take away their free time to do so, the pressure was put on the more knowledgeable employees to pick up the slack. This sometimes resulted in those knowledgeable employee's sales to drop as they are consistently helping others and not working on their own "numbers".

Work/Life Balance:

In this category, Best Buy falls right in the middle with any other retailer. Full time employees are expected to have wide open schedules (days, evening, weekends), which means if you plan on travelling, working multiple jobs or going to school, full time work is out of the question. Full time is also hard to achieve, though you'll be promised it for quite a long time. As they only have a few slots for full timers, that promise can drag on years if need-be. Fair enough, as they can only work within the parameters that corporate gives them, so it's hard to fault management there. Part timers should expect anywhere from 20-40 hours of work a week in the busy times (Christmas time and back-to-school) and anywhere from 0-30 hours every 2 weeks during the slow times (which is most of the year). Always disheartening to see good workers go without shifts for long periods, simply because of Best Buy's current decline. Again, not the fault of management here, it's just a poor environment and their current situation. Don't expect (even with full time work) to financially support your family. Pay is mere cents above minimum wage and no commissions. There is no monetary bonus' for above average performances and once a year you will receive a review for a raise (full time only), which typically results in a small raise of less than 50 cents.

With all of this, if I were summarize the pros and cons of Best Buy Moncton, these are the points that stand out:

Pros:
- Easy work
- Great employees
- Fun for the technologically inclined
- Great discounts
- Management was always available to help if needed

Cons:
- Poor management and constant contradictions
- Poor pay
- Deceitful in both promises and claims made
- No real structure to improve your abilities, must do so on your own time

Conclusion:

All-in-all it's not a bad place to work, if you need to fill in some time until your next job, but certainly don't expect sustainable hours or a fulfilled career within this company. Discounts are a major plus, so if you have a financial means elsewhere, this is an easy job to just some cheap electronics and move on.
  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, very much like family
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON28 November 2019
Great place to work as a first job, family oriented, events put on for employee bonding, provide food and treats on busy shopping days like boxing day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON26 November 2019
Good place to work. Would be better with commission. Good management, good people. would be better with commission. Good overall place to work i would say
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good experience
Mobile sales, Apple master (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON21 October 2019
At first, this job was great. But I was fired for no cause because the new General Manager did not "like" me. I was really inconvenient for my family. .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic work environment with a great team atmosphere
Part-time Sales- Full-time Sales- Sales Senior (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC3 October 2019
After working at Best Buy for almost two years, I grew to love the atmosphere of teamwork. The general manager's choice of hires and methods of team building made for a strong, enjoyable workplace. Wages were low, but standard for a non-commission retail environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work enviroment and friendly coworkers
Sales Representative (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 September 2019
I enjoyed my season with Best Buy. Nothing more or less, really. It was a great opportunity to learn a lot of new things alongside a very interesting senior technician.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB28 August 2019
Family vibes. Very willing to teach product knowledge, will always keep you on top of your game when it comes to sales. Friendly management, open to working with you schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good work environment
sales department (Former Employee) –  Merivale, ON2 August 2019
It was a good experience for me, I learned how to talk to a customer, present my product in a professional way.
The only reason I left it is because I had an urgent travel and I was forced to leave the town for two weeks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, definitely a great work place design and overall feel
TV/ Games Sales (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC25 July 2019
The area for employees was absolutely amazing and the training provided was pretty good, overall great and helpful staff. Although i didn't know about TVs, I was given the responsibility of working in the games section because it was my expertise, and i was able to help lots of customers because of my knowledge on games. overall 10/10 experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON24 July 2019
It is an okay place to work. just feels like too many chefs in the kitchen to run one store. The work ethics from others is not the same and there is favoritism involved as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great and understanding management!
SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Toronto16 July 2019
Great place to work with great management. Excellent place for someone starting out such as students. Hours are great as well and co-workers are very welcoming and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No direction at all
Sales (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE9 July 2019
A typical day at work usually includes checking your phone whenever you can and avoiding customers.

I did learn alot about products at bestbuy and about the politics of management.

Management is very hit or miss based on the store you are located. Turnaround time is not great and it pays to be a friend of a higher up.

Hard work doesn't get rewarded its all about who can sell the most warranty and geek squad services.
Pros
Not many, The discount
Cons
Long Hours, Upselling, Turnaround, Untrustworthy, sexist hr team
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co workers always helping out and nice people
Sales Representative - home solutions (Former Employee) –  West Vancouver, BC24 May 2019
the typical day at work was basically just trying to sell protection plans to anyone who was interested in buying anything. I learned how to sell things people don"t really need and that I enjoy doing so very much. some pros were the food that they provided us during busy days and the discounts you get when you work there.
Pros
very nice break room and many free meals during busy days.
Cons
weird hours and low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Home Theatre Associate - Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2019
great place to work, free parking, had alot of experience as a starting job, close to TTC and managers treat you with alot of respect and fun to full of support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Sales (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC16 May 2019
Good job, decent pay. Work life balance is all over though.

Easy to move around in the company and try different departments.

Great experience for anyone looking to get into commission sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor employee training
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 May 2019
Working at best buy was quite difficult only because I did not get the right and proper training. At the time I started working there were some management issues that lead me to the direction on leaving that workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Best Buy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 27,958 reviews
59.2K
49.9K
36.1K
21.7K
11.1K

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture