Best Buy Employee Reviews in Victoria, BC

Found 21 reviews matching the search See all 26,811 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for students, not as a career
Connected Solutions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC18 February 2019
Job was initially fun, but quickly became tedious and with the removal of commission lacked any serious ways of providing employee recognition. Management was constantly changing and failed to provide any real structure. Too much division and poor communication amongst management.
Pros
Flexible hours, great co workers, good staff discount
Cons
constant management changes, no serious employee recognition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
connect solution Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC23 October 2018
very friendly feel like in family the company culture is great however the wage is lower than a avg sales intro position. overall its a great company to start your sales experience level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and boss, but hard to advance
Multi-Channel Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC3 September 2018
In all my jobs before this one, I've never been happy to come to work every day. Three years with Best Buy, and I still enjoyed my job. If only there was room to advance from within...
Pros
Great boss and community
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good mature environment, but highly competitive and somedays struggled to find tasks
Product Process Associate (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC29 June 2018
Best buy was a great job for the first year for me, with a mature environment and great employees. The benefits were pretty good and they set you up in nice manor. The management was very friendly to me and always were pretty flexible with my schedule and out of work life. My only complaint i had was the culture was very competitive, but to the point were some employees were very judgmental, especially sales employees. I was a wear house employee, so i wasn't involved in the numbers and sales aspect of the store, but i took interest with taking time to help any customer in need, which helped me learn sales tactics on my own, just due to experience with customers. Advancement was very minimal, i only had one raise because i was with the company for a year and its was only 50 cents, and i felt like i was a hard working employee, but i never was demanding, because i kept to myself most of the time. The hardest part of the job was defiantly the inventory truck days, were all our new stock would come in, very physically demanding. The least enjoyable parts of the job were the days i struggled to find a task, which involved doing small tasks over an 8 hour period which would make the shift feel unproductive. Best defiantly matured me as a worker, as i grew with great employees over the year i was with them.
Pros
Good benefits, Mature employees
Cons
Overly competitive, Minimal Tasks Often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned Great Skills, Benefits were Good
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC3 June 2018
Very male dominated work environment
Little room for advancement
Not very flexible scheduling
Average wages
No incentive to achieve department goals
Not commission
Sometimes stressful but usually busy
Poor Training
Good team environment for the most part
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pased tech help environemnt
Geek Squad Counterintelligence Agent FT (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC30 May 2018
I work in a very fast passed challenging environment. Assisting clients with technology needs and making sure everything is finished in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging but fun
Cashier/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC17 May 2018
Was a fun and vibrant experience. Clean dress code that boosts ego in a professional manner. Excellent training services. I feel like the wages could be better, but overall I worked with great people which makes it very bearable.
Pros
Very busy your day goes by fast.
Cons
lower wage for what you sell but thats an opinion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job, a career not so much.
BestBuy Connected Solutions Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC27 April 2018
Good place to work, but it is very hard to move up. The company exoects professional sales people but being that they are not in commision, the company cannot offer competitive wages
Pros
Good enviroment, good management
Cons
Tough to move up.underpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain retail experience
Customer service ambassador (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC7 April 2018
Great place to work!
BestBuy offers great benefits.
Fast pacing environment. Overall, management team is fantastic. Some of the managers however are too inexperienced
Pros
Great team to work in, great benefits
Cons
New management team is unedxperienced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start/earn essential retail experience
SENIOR SALES TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC21 February 2018
Best Buy was once a great company but in the recent times seems to have lost a step. The business model is outdated and needs changing with new and innovative thinking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great people
Product Process Specialist (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC9 January 2018
Fun place to work, however, hours get cut severely after the holidays. Management is understanding and does their best. Lots of group meetings and pump ups.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC30 April 2017
Coworkers were always great, but the company is quickly becoming obsessed with micromanaging employees. If you're not a direct sales associate, the company does little to encourage enthusiasm in the work place. Benefits were decent, but pay was not competitive. No room for growth in store, unless someone quit or transfered stores.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and satisfaction in work place everyday
Customer Service & Camera sales (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC25 April 2017
Wonderful management and staff. Training process was information packed and fast. New opportunities were given to staff often, new or old. Very enjoyable experience, surrounded by smiles everyday.
Pros
Free lunches, Kind staff, lively workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC2 January 2017
very good employer , great benefits and management training. The years have changed into a customer focused and profit driven company .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Decent Start for An IT Career
Covert Agent - Fufillment (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC25 July 2016
I worked for Geek Squad Online services for the winter period of 2015. The work can be quite be trying at times (Strange Windows 10 errors, printer issues, driver issues, etc...) ,but if you know your stuff (As I am sure you do), then it can be enjoyable to work from home as it's. The metrics that will constantly be paraded in front of you can be annoying and the management adamantly stands by it, so if you don't like to be pressured you may want to try somewhere else. Co-workers were likeable for the most part with only a couple of inflated egos that made the experience a little sour. On a busy day you may have to work with 4 clients at a time and among those 4 you may need to call one, so multitasking skills is a must. You get irate customers at times, but they are quite easy to calm most of the time. The biggest issue comes from the in-store techs who will create profound issues for you to deal with (Bad Word registrations, summoning Cthulhu from the registry, etc...)

The Baseline: A great start for a budding tech, but, definitely take something else if you do not like to be micro managed
Pros
Work from home, mostly likeable co-workers and mangers
Cons
Micro management can be annoying, In-store created conundrums
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and grow a number of skills
Assistant Manager (present), (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC25 August 2015
Bestbuy is a fantastic place to grow and learn an amazing amount of skills that allow one to be efficient and extremely capable of multi tasking and managing a high paced environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative, Fun place to work
Sales (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC9 June 2015
Great job. Management was easy to get along with, great team. Enjoyed being on the sales floor helping customers. A typical day consisted of talking to several people and products. Co-workers were great team, most enjoyable part was selling the best products.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and coworkers, good team spirit and benefits. Job security was lacking due to market conditions.
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC3 July 2014
I enjoyed working for this company. The management, especially at the store level was excellent and this provided for a fun and productive working environment. Job security, however, was lacking in this job due to the depressed market and over-saturation of Bestbuy and Futureshop stores in the region and Canada-wide.
Pros
Benefits, working relationships
Cons
erratic hours, low wages (although competitive for the industry), job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job
Product Process, Full-time (Former Employee) –  987 Langford, Victoria, BC2 August 2013
I loved going to work every day, I loved the people, culture, management, just overall one of the best companies I have worked for.
Pros
Great environment to work in
Cons
Got laid off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Victoria15 December 2012
Very little job security. Was let go with no warning after 1.5 years of employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Best Buy reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Best Buy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 26,811 reviews
58.8K
49.5K
35.9K
21.6K
11.1K

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture