Best Buy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but
ORDER PICKER (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 October 2018
Great place to work , pay is low for the amount of work you have to put in .

and also you don't have any benefit if you come from an agency only if you are hired from best buy
Pros
If hired by Best buy you get benefit
Cons
If hired by an agency you have no benefit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne école pour début de carrière
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC15 October 2018
Un de mes premiers emplois qui a contribué à développer plusieurs compétences professionnelles.
Flexibilité d'horaire, idéal pour les étudiants.
Bon programme d'accueil et d'intégration.
Culture de performance, rigueur.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail agreable
Coordonnateur des ventes (Former Employee) –  Rimouski, QC12 October 2018
Equipe tripante
equipe passionné
offre bon salaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
sales associate (Former Employee) –  calgary alberta11 October 2018
great place to work and develop sales skills. the lack of commission and small bonuses is really frustrating and if sales remain low job security can be placed at risk but over all if you focus and sell you should be ok.
Pros
free food
Cons
no commison
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright.
Cell Shop Sales (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB10 October 2018
After the closure of all Future Shop locations in Canada, I found myself out of work. After a brief period on Employment Insurance, I found employment with Best Buy Canada for the exact position I held at Future Shop. Because they were the same company, I had already all of the necessary experience and knowledge to be a gainful employee and team member. I did not find the experience to be equivalent however; an over-bearing management system and lack of commission on sales lead me to find work elsewhere.
Pros
Easy-to-learn sales positions and flexibility on hours.
Cons
Lack of available hours and pressure to sell without incentive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and well mannered employer
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB9 October 2018
I worked at best buy for roughly about 6 months, depending your role day to day work is usually very costumer oriented.You learn lots about the consumer technological needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 October 2018
Culture awesome
Staff awesome
Managers/Supervisors need more development support
More succession planning needed
Old boys club
Discount and EPP awesome
Pros
discount, people, culture
Cons
long hours, job security, room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Place
Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON8 October 2018
Manager didn't care about you. didn't like the fact that managers were apathetic to work you did. not accomodating. didn't train you properly to get up to the work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job for students !
Mobile Specialist/Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 October 2018
Working for Bestbuy has provided me with abundance of knowledge when it comes to the technology and telecommunications industry. Th culture is vibrant and exceptional when it comes to fostering a Customer- First culture. Management is always looking out for your best interest.
Pros
Great Culture
Cons
scarce moments for promotion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very healthy work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB7 October 2018
i liked working at best buy because of all the cool stuff im dealing with and the great customers.
i liked the management a lot ,they were very considerate and passionate
Pros
sometimes free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BestBuy HQs
Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  BestBuy HQs6 October 2018
Good place to work if you are at some junior place but not attractive salaries structure.

I was learned a lot from this place so I am great full to BestBuy
Pros
Good place for learning
Cons
Not attrective salaries
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting place to work
Senior Digital Audio & Gaming Specialist (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON4 October 2018
great starter job if interested in electronics and customer service. has a good discount for employees and new product coming in on a regular basis to become familiar with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Sales Supervisor (Current Employee) –  North York, ON2 October 2018
Amazing culture and an awesome place to work. Fosters great opportunity for growth. Training and investment is made in staff. It is a great place to work.
Pros
great culture
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun workplace, respectable employees, productable
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB2 October 2018
I enjoyed the environment and the management kept the workplace together. I felt excited to come to work everyday. I did not have a problem with anybody at the job and I would be happy to work at another Best Buy if I had the chance
Pros
Fun, exciting, great environment
Cons
Computer system glitched out often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC1 October 2018
enjoyed the team. fun fast paced environment. every day was never the same, had to deal with new problems each day. no matter what happened throughout the day i learned something new.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Environment
Geek Squad Computer Technician (Part-Time) (Current Employee) –  West Vancouver, BC28 September 2018
Excellent Environment for whom is starting on the sales related position. Fast paced and nice coworkers. Amazing management. Excellent prices for employers.
Pros
Excellent environment
Cons
low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent entry level work place and good for long term career if dedicated
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth Crossing, NS25 September 2018
An overall excellent company to work for and provided a really positive work environment with a really good employee discount. However movement upwards seemed very hard and took years to even get a full time position. Overall i highly reccomend BestBuy as an employer if you enjoy a fun customer service/sales job
Pros
Awesome employee discount
Cons
Inconsistent Hours, Hard upwards movement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK25 September 2018
Its a good way to interact with customers and to learn a lot from everyone and also improving one's communication skills.
It was a repetitive job but at the end of the day when I had to close all the cash registers and finalize it, it was a new challenge everyday specially during the Christmas season.
Hardest part of this job was when there was under-staffing done and a lot of customers show up and the queues form up and stayed that way for almost an hour and It was hard to take a quick washroom break because you are the only one with Cash.
when the job pace was normal and we get to stock up in between the customers queues, that was fun sometimes.
Pros
Good employee discount
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
games and enjoyable jobs
Order picker (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON24 September 2018
good working environment and supportive management. Training provided to the new employee. Good salary and job timings. Easy task and able to be completed on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work environment
Product Process Specialist (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON20 September 2018
Best Buy was hard to leave, its not everyday you get to show up at your work and have a smile on your face. The work environment is like your at home.
Pros
Great People
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Best Buy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 19,061 reviews
56.3K
46.7K
34.2K
21.2K
1679

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture