Berlitz Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 699 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday was like a different experience
Accounting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON2 January 2020
A fast paced work environment with extremely nice people! Everyday seemed liked a new experience. However, a strong work ethic is expected with proper focus to your work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Assistant Director/ Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 October 2019
I really enjoy the people i work with. My boss is the most compassionate and understanding person ive ever worked with. The best boss anyone could ever ask for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax and stress free workplace.
French Teacher (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 May 2019
Easy and outgoing coworkers and bosses. Nice schedule. I enjoyed working there. The hours suit me well because they are flexible. It's a relax and stress free workplace.
Pros
Nice hours
Cons
better salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail très agréable
Instructeur de Français (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 January 2019
Employeur très souple et proposant de nombreux avantages. Une formation complète est proposée.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Instructional Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC17 April 2018
Loved working with different people. Got to meet very interesting people who needed language instruction for different reasons.

Its fun and very enjoyable. like having a coffee with a friend except they're paying you to have conversations with students who want to learn a language.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
contractual no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acceptable
Various Freelance/ Consulting (Former Employee) –  Remote4 November 2017
It was acceptable to work here although it lacked opportunity to advance and the salary was low, They are up front about everything and honest.I do not have much else to provide as the job was as a remote instructor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Spanish Instructor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 October 2017
I enjoyed my time as Instructor at Berlitz. You get to know a lot of people, plus the staff is really friendly.
I was a former student of Berlitz after immigrating to Canada.
Pros
Friendly staff and easy access to the office
Cons
Sometimes you don't get scheduled for enough hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting and personlized teaching job.
English/Spanish Teacher (Former Employee) –  Miami, MB9 August 2017
When I taught here I met wonderful people and the staff was great. You had the opportunity to meet different people from different cultures, all ages, all types.
Pros
Personalized small class environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Teacher training
Teacher trainer (Former Employee) –  madrid,4 January 2016
I loved this job! I would work one-on-on teaching teachers based on what they need to learn so they can teach it. For example, they wanted to work on pronounciation of the English language so I taught them phonetics. Now, they can apply the knowledge and pass it on to the students!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Language instructor for non-native English (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 October 2015
a very fun enterprise to work for. I enjoyed meeting new clients, it was my favorite part of the job. My least favorite part of the job was driving from place to place and to find parking. Berlitz has you work off site if you have a car.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate structure with local flavor
English instructor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 August 2015
International language learning company dedicated to friendly structural training. Very friendly and inviting staff, easy method for training, but benefits are not that great.
Pros
Flexible scheduling
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overview
French Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 May 2015
Berlitz Corporation is a global leadership training and language education corporation, with more than 550 company-owned and franchised locations in more than 70 countries.

• Taught basic, intermediate, and advanced French language following Berlitz Method
• Developed and delivered corporate programs to meet employees’ needs
• Assisted with evaluation of students and provided academic counseling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
French language teacher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 October 2014
the co-workers are very cool, smart, pleasant
berlitz is a good environment to work
i love love that job i meet a lot of people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are independent
English/French Language Teacher (Current Employee) –  Markham21 July 2014
I love this job. My only complaint would be I don't work enough! The hours are all over the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comments
French Teacher (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 May 2014
i didn't like it, it was a pleasure working with students, but the management was terrible, didn't know how to handle properly their staff, nothing for French teacher,
Pros
nothing
Cons
terrible managment, not enough work hours, environment disaster
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good professional environment.
French and English Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 April 2014
Being a teacher at Berlitz was a great experience. The one-on-one sessions allowed for a lot flexibility both for the student and myself. It gave me the opportunity to be a teacher attentive to the student's learning style and needs. The co-workers were always helpful. Since we all shared the same student, a sense of team work reigned amongst us.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
No work during the summer months.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agreable
Représentante en service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Brossard, QC26 March 2014
L aspect le plus difficile de mon poste etait de savoir traiter les clients, car la facon de penser des canadiens, des fois, n est pas la meme facon de penser des sudamericans, mais au meme temps, l opportunite de travailler dans ce poste etait l ocassion ideal pour apprendre et m integrer a la societe canadienne.
Pros
Connaitre des gens des tous ages et des tous backgrounds
Cons
Le defis de traiter avec une nouvelle culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment
English instructor (Former Employee) –  Cairo1 April 2013
A place where I received professional training,developed my skills and acquired excellent experience in human communication.
Pros
working environment
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing what i loved to do.
Italian Instructor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 February 2013
Introducing the Italian language to adults that wanted to learn for personal or business purposes. The business closed it s doors in Edmonton.
Pros
meeting people.
Cons
school was shut down.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible workplace with guitars in the staff room
English Instructor (Former Employee) –  JPE10 December 2012
A workday at Berlitz usually consisted of arriving, picking up the files of the students to be taught that day, lesson preparation, subsequent lesson delivery while waiting for the next student between classes.

I learned to be flexible and work in an environment where there were teachers from several different countries.

My Instructional Supervisor was very competent and was willing to schedule me around my hours of availability. We aroked well together to solve issues that arose.

My co-workers, coming from all areas of the globe, each brought their own understanding of how everything worked. They were a lot of fun in the staff room as well.

The hardest part of the job was teaching those that did not want to be taught and were only there because their bosses told them to be there.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being with my colleagues. Many of them had interesting personalities.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
few hours in the winter season
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Berlitz Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 699 reviews
5239
4222
3143
250
145

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Berlitz Corporation Reviews by Location