Bentley Leathers Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pressure, No reward.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 September 2018
Bentley is a fading company but are in denial so they are blaming staff for sales loss. Really what they need is to rethink their branding and cater to current trends, not trends from 4 years ago. Bring in new brands not Celiene Dion and Jessica Simpson.
All Bentley brand product looks like a 80 year old woman designed it. There is nothing fresh or interesting, even old ladies are tired of this stuff.

Everything is your fault when sales are bad. Little or no kodos when you actually do Well. They want you to work your fingers to the bone but won't pay you what you're worth.

I hit rock bottom when I started working for this company. Save yourself the stress and work at McDonald's.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  British Columbia31 August 2018
Bentleys have a customer counter at the front of the store.
your sales should match the customers coming in. Being the first to see what goes out next is exciting. It would be nice if the stores had the freedom to place the merchandise differently but Bentleys wants all their stores to have the same layouts.
Pros
our discounts
Cons
quotas had to be made.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 August 2018
Love my job at Bentley! everyday is a new experience, never boring and a lot to learn. Theres a lot of paper work to do but is easy as long as you willing to learn. customer services is my favorite part. In Bentley the customer is the most important part of our day.
Pros
Great management and coworkers
Cons
Not commissions per sales
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail a horaire fixe
Vendeuse (Former Employee) –  Saint-Jérôme, QC3 August 2018
J'ai tout appris grace à ce job ( comptage de caisse, ouverture/fermeture du magasin ) ...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Retail Sales Associate (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 August 2018
inspired to travel from hearing people tell tales of their past travel experiences and help provide their needs before the flight. Great environment to work in
Pros
discounts
Cons
low salary wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commission-esque job without any of the incentive or benefit.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC19 July 2018
Communication is terrible within this company, alot is lost within the convoluted chain of command. No incentive or benefits at all while working for this company. I was a store manager for a year after being promoted from a part-time position. It has a very forced sales environment.

Study your pay-checks if you decide to work here. Make sure you are getting your money for your hard work.

Bad allocation system. Always out of what customers want and have come to expect yet overstocked on unpopular products and garbage products that customers are smart not to buy.
Pros
Had great a great team
Cons
The company, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job with not enough work
Sales Associate & Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC17 July 2018
Great team in the store, the store manager has no power to make staff decisions, most of the time I was just trying to find something that I can do instead of just standing on the sales floor, waiting for customers. It takes forever for the DM and RM to make decisions. The communication within the company could be better.
Pros
Work independent
Cons
Salary and not enough work/customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management is terrible
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC12 July 2018
You get offered no support and every short coming is individually blamed on you. Wages are terrible for the amount of work they expect. Managers are responsible for Visual changes that are done almost weekly, budgets, schedules, motivations of staff, and pulling incredibly long shifts at times. Shipment is very heavy and the factor of your induvidual stores needs are never taken into consideration.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB10 July 2018
I wasn’t here for long but the time I spent working here, it wasn’t bad, the only part that sucked was no breaks and the “back room” was about the size of a hotel room closet.
Pros
Nice people to work with
Cons
Not enough storage space
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the worst job ever
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 July 2018
super disorganized with management. the district manager is unnecessarily strict and simply does not care about the workers. I would not recommend working here long term.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to develop your career
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Headoffice28 June 2018
Bentley is a great company to work for, depending on your department but overall at head office everyone is great you have some poor directors and managers but so does every company. We get free food every month, free coffee. paid lunches and drinks sometimes and only work half days Friday.

It's a older crowd and we are slow on treands and direction but as a place to develop a career and grow it's a great place with competitive pay and 80% coverage benefits

My recommendation is if your fresh out of school go somewhere else that is more exciting were you can try a lot of hat but if you have 3 years under your belt and your willing to grow and mature in your career while doing normal hours it's a good company
Pros
Free food/coffee, positive culture and career advancement
Cons
Some poor management, slow on trends and bad branding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Lindsay, ON28 June 2018
Management was great, both in store and head office. Started out working as a temporary holiday hire part time and progressed to management position - lots of room for advancement beyond that. Fun company to work for - not a commission based job so not competitive. Management has great benefits.
Pros
Lots of room for advancement
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a good company to work for and i learned many new skills while i worked for them.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON22 June 2018
It was a good job and learned many new skills in management, recruitment, merchandising and customer service. It was a positive place to work. The most enjoyable part of the job was customer service. I enjoyed the interaction with the customers and helping them to find exactly what they needed.
Pros
A good atmosphere to work in and good social connections
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail stressant mais productif
Associée à la vente (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC2 June 2018
mauvaise gestion, évolution de carrière faible ou inexistence, salaire stagnant. Permet de s'auto dépasser, aucun avantage social.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a blast at first
Manager (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB30 May 2018
Numbers are the number one thing the company cares about, staff are a close second.
You get freedom to set up to store shape but not plan.
Staff and customers are also fun to be around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON9 May 2018
All employees were very pleasant to work with and management were always there to help and lead you in the right direction.
Overall great job & the people made it a lot easier
Pros
pleasent work environment
Cons
part time staff get the less desirable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good place to work
Sales Associate July (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON4 May 2018
Never got hours that i was looking for, was never busy, often times would leave early due to the lack of traffic in store, management was okay but could be better
Pros
Na
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an okay place
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 April 2018
Its too too much expectations, communication break down from Company to Dm to store managers. Staff is the only up side to working at Bentlys, product is great ..
Pros
staff
Cons
way too much mis communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it!
Manager (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK11 April 2018
Bentleys s is the absolute worst company of work for my entire life. I've heard retail for well over 15 years. The way they treat their employees to training and development just a management team in general is absolutely despicable. They should be ashamed of themselves.
Cons
No training; high pressure sales enviroment; poor fallow through on promises...
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun staff, easy to learn
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NS4 April 2018
The staff at the Bentley I worked at were fantastic people. They were absolutely easy to get along with and made working there better. The work load was not necessarily easy but I was quick to catch on.
Pros
Pays well, customers are fairly easy to deal with
Cons
Can’t sit down
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bentley Leathers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 180 reviews
535
444
363
216
122

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.6Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture