Play YouTube video button

Bell Technical Solutions Employee Reviews

Found 101 reviews matching the search See all 111 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless you get full-time quickly, it's rough
Field Technician (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON12 October 2019
The job itself is actually great. New faces every job, some frustrating, some easy, but it's always a puzzle. You're paid hourly, not piecemeal, so there isn't a threat of losing your pay if a job runs long. Plenty to learn and know, but not impossible to grasp in a month or two (If you pay attention). The rough edges of the job come in the company politics. If you're in an area that's not Toronto, it will take you pretty much forever to get full time. This means, as a part time employee, you'll be scheduled for 40 hours, and up until 7pm the night before your shift, they can change it, or even flat out remove it.

There is no work life balance in this. A good manager will help you out if you have a doctors appointment scheduled, but otherwise: Don't bother making plans on days you have a shift. Scheduled 1pm to 9pm? Make plans to see friends that morning? No, sorry. Now you work 8 to 5pm. Can't argue, can't refuse. If you do, they just let you go.

The dispatchers are also a mixed bag. Have you got an hour left in your shift? Here is a job to your board for 40 minutes away. Can't work overtime? Well then get ready for a 20 minute battle with them and management to get the job removed because you'd like to go home to see your family.

The actual work itself is great. 3 out of 4 seasons, I don't think you can beat it. But the company just wants to get in the way of you enjoying it, and they do a good job of that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Service Technician Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON5 October 2019
It's a nice place to work for and could be stressful at times. Looking for a change in life and would like to try something different. More work and life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Stressful place to work
Cabling Technician (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON3 October 2019
Management is negatively oriented. Don't expect any thanks. Currently very little training provided to new employees and they are the first to have hours cut during slow periods, Scheduled hours change often and are not consistent.
Work is strictly scrutinized via multiple GPS and performance reports that management strictly adheres to in order to get their bonuses.
A lot of micro-managing and treatment that proves your not a professional at any level and they are the know-it-all's thus having zero trust in their front line staff.
You are hired as a Part Timer, even at 40hrs/week and it could take 5-10 years before you get a full-time designation which affords you more rights under a union contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement agréable
Technicien en installation du fibre optique (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC2 October 2019
excellent opportunité pour les débutant dans le domaine de télécommunication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Paycheque
Bell Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 September 2019
I have worked with BTS for a little over a year. BTS provides 1month Paid training and approx 1yr probationary period. Expect to work nearly every Sat/Sunday for your first 2-3years but offer steady relaible work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Lindsay, ON27 September 2019
You are just a number, treated unfairly, no time off, poor management, when working for them was let go because another employee that I was training with had followed me to my house and was harassing me and trying to fight me, I was 20 yrs old and the other guy was 29
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace environment
Technician (Current Employee) –  Ontario26 September 2019
Drive around setting up internet and phone. Easy to advance over time. Poor work/life balance. Able to be independent and make your own decisions at work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn about telecom
Field service technician (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON25 September 2019
good to go tools to work and learn new skills The managers are great and the supervisors are ex Bell telephone employees a lot of the work is done through the internet as such you have to be able to log in and out as required
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, competitive work environment
Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON25 September 2019
Too many bags to carry as they teach you different tool /cable skills with same pay. Lowest department in the system as other people's errors will impact your score as much as your own without much consideration. Too much focus on timing and to keep up with others who have less repair work to deal with on their jobs, theres as much defective wires as there are working but coincidentally in my situation theres always something to fix/change (if possible at the moment) and somethig unexplainable that nobody has seen. All jobs are seen as the same regardless of the increasing distance in wire (m to km) or size of the property. Variety of jobs and things to learn especially with faults and troubleshooting yet The training is rushed compared to when things started and they'd rather do everything through a cluster of mobile apps and systems. Some systems being redundant. Too much focus on speed
Pros
Driving around lots of sights/resteraunts
Cons
Changing shifts/ seniority/ no one believes you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entreprise mal organisé
Coordonnatrice CNESST, présence au travail (Former Employee) –  Laval22 September 2019
La gestion du personnel manquent sérieusement de professionalisme. Les gestionnaires manquent d'empathie et sont inhumain. Le travail de coordonatrice se fait SANS aucune formation adéquate, la gestionnaire n'est jamais présente pour ses employés. De plus, la concialisation travail - vie personne est inexsistante.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 September 2019
Great management, very flexible with hours and everyone is very helpful and kind.
Good salary plus commission, you get up to 3 weeks vacation time and be able to work independently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life balance
TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 September 2019
As I was working at Bell work/life balance was not a priority. I consistently got forced in for full shifts on my days off. I was not supported when I reached out for help to complete a job/task.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Coordinator/Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 September 2019
I learned a lot about cabling and dispatching to different parts of the GTA/519 area. How dare you dispatching with a great group of men and women that made it feel like a real Bell family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me.
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 September 2019
Very demanding of your time. Heavy hours but on the bright side you are compensated well. The work is great and fun. Can be tedious at times. Overall it was a good summer job but the heavy hours is not for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are just a number on a screen
Instalation/Repair Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 September 2019
The company doenst care about you as a person, you are just an employee number on their screens.
Hours are NEVER consitant! You can be told 9 hours before your shift wether you are actualy working or not
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but terrible management
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  North York, ON5 September 2019
From my point of view, the stupid Indian & SriLankan managers kept cutting the same branch we all were sitting on. They compromised company's infrastructure for their personal gain & the top management didn't even blink an eye. They cooked the numbers & graphs feeding company's AI software false information which led to poor future insights for upper management & thus wrong policies.
Pros
Great Company
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for working alone
Catharines - Field Services Technician (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON22 August 2019
This position requires 0 technical background as Bell will teach you everything you need to know about phone lines and fibre optic networks. Fun, usually fast paced and can be challenging figuring out how to solve particular problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent Everything
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 July 2019
Lots of hours for students. Students have no worries about wasting their life away here. Nice if you're customer service-oriented, even if the manager I had didn't prioritize it. Good for short term employment, but don't look at it for career. Starting wage is barely over minimum, and you'll work every weekend for a very long time. We were told it would take a couple years to get one weekend off a month.

Major inconsistencies in how jobs are completed, processes, procedures, and employee/manager interactions. Warehouse is out of stock, it's on you to get it to the customer on your own time or it'll go on your metrics against you. Managers play favourites, set you up for failure, and in the case of my manager, abusive towards you. Always feel two steps behind, definitely not enough training, and unrealistic expectations of 100% efficiency at jobs within weeks of starting. Very little real support. Most trucks have no working AC, or broken in some other fashion. Work/life balance is non-existent. Forced in on days off, schedule changes issued the night before. Expect 48-56 hours a week, as a part timer. Forget home life.



off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Technician / Contractor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 July 2019
amazing time with the company i had to leave due to personal reasons. actually kind of screwed my direct manager a bit but everyone was so cool about everything right up until the end.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail très désagréable
technicien chez bell (Former Employee) –  Anjou, QC27 July 2019
je n'avais aucun choix sur mes horaires de travail j ai fini plusieurs fois a minuit, alors que je ne suis pas véhiculé. Je déconseille fortement de rejoindre cette entreprise.
Cordialement
Pros
aucun
Cons
formation très écourté, echelle très lourdes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bell Technical Solutions. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 111 reviews
521
439
325
212
114

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.0Culture