BC SPCA Employee Reviews for Volunteer

Ratings by category
4.0Work-Life Balance
3.8Management
4.1Culture
Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 35 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great values and great people
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC24 October 2018
Wonderful work staff. I am on the autism spectrum and as I advocate my needs, they happily provide for me, very kind and friendly with doing so, working on my skills and having the opportunity to handle animals is a big plus.
Pros
Working on life skills
Cons
None so far
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good!
Shelter Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Cariboo Regional District, BC17 September 2018
Friendly, helpful staff, nice calm environment. I loved working with the cats and dogs on location, and helping incoming people find their next furry family member
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dirty jobs
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC28 August 2018
It's not glamorous, but it's certainly rewarding. Amidst all the poo and laundry and rotting fish is an opportunity to hand-feed baby birds, squirrels and raccoons, and sometimes the perk of watching those animals that you helped nurse back to health be transported back into the wild.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enlightening
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 July 2018
I volunteered at BCSPCA for many years and have enjoyed working with the many animals and people that have come through. I still have very strong connections that place and wish to one day return and continue volunteering.
Pros
Amazing work environment
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pet rescued cats for free
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC18 July 2018
It was fun, got to pets many cats. It was volunteer work that i required for graduation and I love cats so that was cool. Had to stop after a while but it was a good job.
Pros
Got to pet cats
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Volunteer Day
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC14 July 2018
That was a good volunteer experience. I was assigned to assist in taking photos. Volunteer in BC SPCA was really great to share time with cute animals. It is enjoyable to take photos of them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth volunteering for.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC28 August 2017
Being a volunteer at Kamloops' BCSPCA was fun. You didn't get any benefits but it didn't matter to me because I got to talk with great people and pet cats.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
only 1 hour every week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Volunteer Experience at BCSPCA
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC11 June 2015
While volunteering at the SPCA I got to meet an incredible staff, as well as many volunteers who take time out of their days to interact and help animals in need, as well as all the amazing animals at the shelter, especially the beautiful dogs. As I am a dog walker at the SPCA I get to handle and interact with them on a weekly basis.
Pros
Getting to interact with dogs every week
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on dog experience
Kelowna SPCA Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC20 February 2015
A lot of experience with dogs in different conditions. There are no benefits as its only volunteer. But the people that you get to work with are very pleasant and being able to help a dog find a new home it quite rewarding.
Pros
Dogs everyday
Cons
No benefits or rising in employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more BC SPCA reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BC SPCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 35 reviews
521
410
32
22
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.1Culture