BC SPCA Employee Reviews

Showing all 35 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emotionally draining and physically challenging job
Kennel Attendant (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC28 February 2019
Starting wage is the only wage, no promotions, no wage increases, no opportunity for advancement or to move into new positions. Frequently contacted in your off hours and due to the nature of the job lots of stress taken home with you.
HR will forward all complaints about management directly to management.
The job while incredibly emotionally challenging and frequently dangerous (animal bites/attacks) is worthwhile due to the awesome staff and helping the animals.
Pros
save lives
Cons
low pay, no opportunity for growth, Lack of HR support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work, quickly made co workers turn into good friends.
ANIMAL CARE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Port Alberni, BC16 January 2019
I volunteered at the BCSPCA for a year and i loved it, i eventually started working there for around a year but unfortunately i was balancing 2 jobs, both having no set schedules so I had to leave the SPCA, but I very quickly adapted to the environment there and my Co workers quickly became my good friends. Plus the animals kept me on my feet all day, and its nice when you get to spend your whole day with dogs and cats, ect. :)
Pros
Great environment
Cons
No set schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Furry Critters
Animal Care Attendant (Former Employee) –  Surrey-White Rock, BC4 January 2019
Taking care of animals , feeding and cleaning cages.

I learnt how to take care of animals.

Awesome team work and job training.

Hardest part of the job was cleaning up the animals waste.
Pros
Short 4hr days
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to begin volunteering
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  West Vancouver, BC1 December 2018
The BCSPCA is a place that is great for students and young adults to begin to learn how to act as an employee. It’s a very safe place where everyone working and volunteering there have common interests and overall has a very calm atmosphere.
Pros
Can volunteer at any times throughout the day
Cons
not anything i’m aware of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great values and great people
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC24 October 2018
Wonderful work staff. I am on the autism spectrum and as I advocate my needs, they happily provide for me, very kind and friendly with doing so, working on my skills and having the opportunity to handle animals is a big plus.
Pros
Working on life skills
Cons
None so far
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits if you get a position
RECEPTIONIST (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 October 2018
Good job If you are starting out and are able to secure a part time or full time position. Most employees start off as auxiliary working full time with no benefits.
Pros
benefits
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good!
Shelter Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Cariboo Regional District, BC17 September 2018
Friendly, helpful staff, nice calm environment. I loved working with the cats and dogs on location, and helping incoming people find their next furry family member
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dirty jobs
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC28 August 2018
It's not glamorous, but it's certainly rewarding. Amidst all the poo and laundry and rotting fish is an opportunity to hand-feed baby birds, squirrels and raccoons, and sometimes the perk of watching those animals that you helped nurse back to health be transported back into the wild.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review four this job i owned and help with bye inclushine staff
SHELTER WORKER (Former Employee) –  Duncan Street across from powell river Airport.4 August 2018
it was a good job but there was issue with costumers and some costumers followed the leaflet we put out others & we listen 2 radio bonded with friends
Pros
the job was labor intensive and the hours were long know break's
Cons
the staff were some of the Costermers where inasperanced beside's the one's i knew from childhood.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 14Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enlightening
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 July 2018
I volunteered at BCSPCA for many years and have enjoyed working with the many animals and people that have come through. I still have very strong connections that place and wish to one day return and continue volunteering.
Pros
Amazing work environment
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pet rescued cats for free
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC18 July 2018
It was fun, got to pets many cats. It was volunteer work that i required for graduation and I love cats so that was cool. Had to stop after a while but it was a good job.
Pros
Got to pet cats
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun workplace
Animal Care Attendant, I (Former Employee) –  Salmon Arm, BC18 July 2018
The employees at this shelter commit every ounce of their being to the welfare of the animals. It it always a warm inviting place to go. I learned so much working at this shelter. Some days were hard but having such a great team of people helped.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Volunteer Day
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC14 July 2018
That was a good volunteer experience. I was assigned to assist in taking photos. Volunteer in BC SPCA was really great to share time with cute animals. It is enjoyable to take photos of them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Animal Care Attendant (Former Employee) –  Comox Valley, BC4 May 2018
Help take care of animals whats not to love. Maintained the entire physical plant in a clean, sanitary, and efficient manner on an ongoing basis and in a collaborative manner
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and Society but stressful work
CCO (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC6 March 2018
Job is the same day in and out- you are tied to your desk and the phone constantly ringing. During rare down time, it's hard to make projects that help you go further in the career path.
Pros
Consistent Hours
Cons
Dealing with complainants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Senior Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC13 February 2018
Its a great working environment! great people to work with, and overall a happy place to work at. I would recommend working here to anyone. + the animals are a great bonus!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a challenging work enviroment
Animal Healthcare Technician (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC29 October 2017
The upper management at provincial don't seem to realize or care that the shelter staff are there, where there is very little management (fear of the union?) and much in-fighting with a building that is falling down and is the busiest location in BC. Fantastic place to go great work with animals. Be prepared to deal with many residents of the DTES, due to the location. It's a good job for someone who is able to set their own boundaries and know when to say "no".
Pros
Helping animals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher recommend even volunteering here
Brenna Baker (manager) (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC23 September 2017
Good place to learn about cats the area where I worked.
Wages matched the minimum.
Good management and staff to work with.
Good training online and hands on.
Pros
If you want to learn more about cats, dogs, rabbits, birds and more this is a good place to do it even if you're a volunteer.
Cons
Critters put to sleep but only when absolutely necessary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth volunteering for.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC28 August 2017
Being a volunteer at Kamloops' BCSPCA was fun. You didn't get any benefits but it didn't matter to me because I got to talk with great people and pet cats.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
only 1 hour every week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough
Animal Care Attendant 1 (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC3 April 2017
Love my job, love the animals. Us animal lovers are crazy and hard to deal with, so gathering 16 of them and putting them in a high stress environment is bound to be a recipe for trouble. We manage, somehow.
Pros
cute animals, getting to see creatures find homes
Cons
euths, tiny budgets
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BC SPCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 35 reviews
521
410
32
22
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.1Culture