Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont waste your time on this company.
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterton Park, AB24 March 2018
Do not apply at this Company!
They are complete liars and treat all of their staff badly.
My husband and I were hired by them as General Managers in the last 10 years.
They hire people from other countries before the beginning of the Summer season. They make the offer sound very good, as in the description of the job. Within 6 weeks of these people coming in from other countries , they were fired for no reason. They were only hired (used) to get the Government money to get them there .
After you literally move there, they will treat you with no respect. There is no support for their hacked computer system. It doesn't work properly and they dont know enough to get it fixed properly.
They are family run , and if its the same family.

They will probably try and delete this or say its not true.
Believe me, its true.
Pros
We got Paid.
Cons
We were threatened before we left
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Fling
Hostess/Server (Former Employee) –  Waterton Park, AB22 February 2018
This serving position was Seasonal. It had a beautiful beginning, and a memorable ending (Dinner & Wine) It was a good time, for the most part. A sweet emotion, free of long term commitment!

No pressure, no diamonds though!

Truth is, every seasonal job has it’s challenges, especially in a remote National Park. This was a full time position, with options of overtime. July & Aug were peak months. Not everyone was experienced, but as an amateur your given the chance to learn and grow. Every years been a little different. By the last month, your really thankful that as a team, you all made it through together. As a Server, you rely on the kitchen A LOT. They’re the backbone of the establishment; and probably not given enough tribute at times. Chef was always very resilient.
The tour groups were mostly Americans. I remember being surprised by the culture in the dining room.

Living accomodations can be challenging as well. If it’s your first time away from home, your gonna be paying out of pocket, and living with people who are strangers to you. Laundry was extra, the meal plan was the most economical option. There was a Shuttle provided for free if you needed to use the Walmart or the Co-op. By May long weekend most things were available in the village.

Would I work for Bayshore Resort again?
Absolutely!
Pros
Down to earth friends, Cash injection BONUS!
Cons
Heavy lifting, picking up the slack. Not always a strong motivated team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Waterton Park, AB26 May 2017
You basically work to live. You won't have any money leftover. There is a lot they don't tell you, like you need to buy your own hand soap and toilet paper for the dorm washrooms. Coffee isn't included in breakfast. Also-- the meals suck. Be prepared to starve, especially if you are vegetarian/vegan.
No one is properly trained.. have fun figuring out everything on your own. The only good thing about this place is the scenery and mountains. Do yourself a favour, stay in Calgary and drive to Banff on the weekends to get your nature time in. Don't waste your time at this awful company
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 10Report
Official response from Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
13 February 2018

You are right, you have to provide your own soap and toilet paper but isn't that normal when you rent a place? There is no coffee with breakfast but you get 50% off in the Starbucks which is pretty good but they don't cater to Vegans in the Staff Cafe. Training could be better but i had a blast!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Cook (Former Employee) –  Waterton Park, AB28 February 2017
The worste place ever... they get you to live in staff housing, pay for staff meal plan and let you run up a tab at their bar. Then when u finally get paid once a month they take off all the deductions owing and give you whatever is left over.. I would strongly recommend not working here.
Pros
Being in waterton
Cons
Anything to do with the Bayshore
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 9Report
Official response from Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
13 February 2018

Not sure when you worked at the Bayshore but staff meals are free and it costs $12 per day to live there. They DO NOT let you run a tab, i wish they did! They pay more than anyone in the park and now pay twice a month.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned more about my field, good people to work with and for, met lots of nice people from all over, fantastic scenery.
Chef de Partie (Former Employee) –  Waterton Park, AB18 November 2016
Lots of hours, my accommadations were good and I was treated very fairly and well. Pay is very good and fun co-workers. I would recommend Bayshore Inn as a good place to work. To bad the season is too short.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad. However.
Breakfast sous chef (Former Employee) –  Waterton Park, AB7 July 2016
As a former sous chef here.
The kitchen runs well. Not any training.
Watch for the spies.
Microscopic management makes working here very difficult. And they feed the staff whatever leftover slop they can find. So if you are applying for this sous chef position. Remember to bring your own coffee. And do not associate with your staff. And bring your veg peeler.
Pros
Free slop
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful and a stunning place to work near the moutains and the lake.
Gift Shop Clerk/Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee) –  AB14 July 2014
The only hotel located on the shores of beautiful Waterton Lake, the Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa provides everything needed for the perfect mountain getaway. The hotel offers spacious rooms, amazing dining experience, boutique shopping ,Waterton's only Spa and the gorgeous lakeside views are just a few of the reasons to stay over there and work there.
There was no hard part of the job. After a tiring a day, when you walk near the lake for just 5 mins its just worth it seeing the beautiful view and the lake.
The co-workers are very friendly all from different province. Its a 6 months summer contract job. Everything closes down during the winter time.
Pros
Breath taking view
Cons
Salary less
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, efficent, good experience
Server/Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Waterton Park, AB12 June 2013
It is a beautiful hotel that is very well managed. I loved the opportunity and was able to meet some great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great kitchen with all the equipment needed
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Waterton Park, AB15 September 2012
They higher too much untrained staff. Better trained and higher payed staff could manage the work here more efficiently
Pros
if you like nature this is a great place to be
Cons
very low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report

See more Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 11 reviews
52
43
31
21
14

Ratings by category

2.5Work/Life Balance
2.4Salary/Benefits
2.1Job Security/Advancement
2.1Management
2.4Culture

Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa Reviews by Location