Bayshore HealthCare Employee Reviews in Halifax, NS

See reviews about:
Found 15 reviews matching the search See all 293 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. Very tasking though
Patient Attendant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS6 September 2017
Hours are long but its a really nice job. Its a 12 hour shift so be ready for that. The most challenging part is getting patients that don't listen but once they are comfortable, you would enjoy your shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good wages.
Unit Aide (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS19 May 2017
The wages were very good. no opportunity to advance. always just a casual. negative stigma attached to being from an outside employer. Easy to get blamed for things because they think casuals don't know anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for this company
PCW (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS13 November 2016
The company is great, they gave me the hours I loved to have.It was a full time predictable steady job. The Higher ups where great at what they did and provided excellent training
Pros
Love it
Cons
There where none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS3 August 2016
Bayshore Home Health offers great learning opportunities for nurses, staff and management are very supportive, As a casual nurse, I have the ability to pick shifts to my schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no work
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS26 May 2016
Meeting new people. Love working with others. Just not enough hours. Hardest part was adjusting to new floors. Most enjoyable was seeing how others were happy to work with me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hello
Licensed Practical Nurse in the Halifax Infirmary (Former Employee) –  halifax8 August 2015
I love working for bayshore becuase I was also to get put on all floors of the hospital and learn so much from the other nurses, however I am only cascual and need full time hours because I have a baby and need more solid work,
Pros
learned so much from there
Cons
could cancel my shifts, and was only cascual
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Une bonne compagnie
infirmier auxillaire (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS22 April 2015
Les travailleures sont exeptionellement proffessionelle.
Pros
respet pour les travalleurs a halifax
Cons
Pas une bonne reception a montreal
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work for
cca (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS1 December 2014
great days always wanting to go to work, my job was to help clients with personal care, adl, meals, etc. co-worker were great always there to help out.
Pros
good place to work
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work, Eat, Sleep
Patient Attendant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, Nova Scotia21 May 2014
Work, Eat, Sleep, there is a lot of sitting, learning about different diseases that clients have or were born with and then knowing how to interact with them.
Pros
Meeting People
Cons
Long hours, A lot of sitting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with good people
Patient attendant (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS12 February 2014
I enjoy helping people who needs my help and my focus in school is in human development and crime
Pros
Nice co-workers
Cons
good shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extreme amount of raport built with patients.
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS22 October 2013
12 hour shifts ( am & pm ) on Neurology Unit.
Assist with daily needs - feeding, taking for walks, assisting to the washroom.
I learned that working with patients who are mentally unstable is very rewarding and something I want to continue with my career.
I loved everything about the job.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strongly recommend you steer clear of this company
Patient Attendant (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS20 August 2013
I worked at the Halifax, NS location for five years as a patient attendant. What began as an opportunity for me to gain experience in the health care industry, as I was currently a psychology student (at the time I was pursuing a B.A. in Psyhcology), and an individual with a Professional Counselling degree and a degree in Youth and Family Support Work, and wanted hands on experience working with individuals requiring one-on-one care, turned into a nightmare. Normally, I would not consider giving a bad review unless it was absolutely warranted, because I understand the value of a good word-of-mouth review, and the repercussions of a bad word-of-mouth review, but I felt it necessary to do so in this case. There is absolutely no communication between field staff and those working in the office; respect is non existent. For those field staff who go above and beyond the scope of their job, truly enjoy and love what they do, and try to make a difference in the lives of the clients they work with every day, there is absolutely no recognition. Shifts are constantly cancelled at the last minute without any warning, and the four hours that they're supposed to compensate you with for the loss of a twelve-hour shift is often not payed out. Complaints from the field staff concerning poor working conditions in some instances are ignored; experienced staff are often left on the sidelines begging for shifts while new hires are offered full hours. I would expect that a company rated as one of the best 50 companies to work for would go the distance in creating a more positive work environment,  more... maintaining open communication, and ensuring transparency when it cmes to shift allocation. Unfortunately, Bayshore does not see fit to do any such thing. I have since left to pursue a private counselling practice; I truly miss the work I did as a patient attendant in the hospitals, as well as the patients I worked with. However, I wasn't willing to 'adapt' to the toxic environment Bayshore allowed to continue.  less
Pros
The clients/patients
Cons
lack of communication & respect on the part of those working in the office/booking staff/management, no hours, blatant favouritism, treated like you're a number, not a person, toxic environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoy what i do every day,i go to clients homes and help them in their comfort of their houses.
CCA (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS20 August 2013
helping the client to feel as comfortable as possible while I'm in their homes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn something from everything..
Personal Care Assistant/ Home Care Worker (Former Employee) –  halifax n.s31 January 2013
This job was a great life changing experience, I love the elderly people. This just increased it. I got to care for them in their homes and within health care facilities. Helping nurses perform simple duties.
In the homes I would always try my best to make them fully comfortable.
The hardest part of the job was learning how to deal with the mental illness, which take time and I understand full what nurses and patients are going though now. It take a certain person for this type of work.
Pros
the smiles of pure greatfullness from the elderly
Cons
lack of full time hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

See more Bayshore HealthCare reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bayshore HealthCare. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 293 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3