Baton Rouge Employee Reviews

Found 99 reviews matching the search See all 117 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everything was great untill sam
Server (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON2 April 2018
was let down buy my management n owners i tried to stick up for myself about hours n being cut. maybe spread it out so every one felt the slowness. i believe in structure n taking care of staff youve had a long time but to a piont.. hard work shopuld always pay offf. in my case free work should have...
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 March 2018
Job hours are very flexible and management is understanding if you have a serious issue and cant work. Management is still forming new rules from reviews that they receive from customers so if you do not like working in a place that forms new rules constantly I would not recommend. Overall, good work place and the staff is all very kind and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great For Advancement
Head Hostess/Busser/Food Runner (Current Employee) –  North York, ON13 March 2018
Working at Baton Rouge was a great introduction into the service industry. I worked my way up from being a busser, food runner, and finally host. i plan to utilize these skills and work as a server.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at work
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON11 March 2018
The typical day at work here required you to clean and restock as much as you could, mind the location was very quiet and dead most of the time, the managers were nice but they had problems dealing with in house situations including staff and being wrongfully cut back for hours. Over all it was a learning place which did help me in the fine dining atmosphere.
Pros
great staff
Cons
Very wrongfully mistreated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced, unorganized facility/managment
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 February 2018
The staff turnover is quick. You move up quickly but not with proper training.
The atmosphere was fun,laid back, comfortable but not predictable at all.
Hardest part of my job was coping with managerial mistakes and disorganization.
Most enjoyable part of my job were the customers. I love making a families night out a memorable one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An always welcoming group of coworkers that care and respect you!
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS23 February 2018
Working at Baton Rouge was a great experience. The staff in Halifax is always friendly and shows their appreciation for everything you do. The management makes sure everything runs as smoothly as can be, and keeps everyone involved and updated on anything happening around the store. The best part of working for them was the amazing social atmosphere and connection, between the customers and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Consumers Dr, Whitby- Host (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON22 January 2018
Working at Baton Rouge is convenient for while attending university. The staff are excellent to work with and the managers are flexible with hours. I would recommend to others for employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall it is a nice place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON26 December 2017
every job has their ups and downs, I found the job was a great place to work overall, I just found the ownership was a little on the difficult side to work with.
Pros
hours and pay
Cons
ownership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, easygoing staff
Kitchen Helper (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 October 2017
Fast paced restaurant.
Learned kitchen practices
Great staff
Great location
Fairly decent hours
teamwork
easy going, fun atmosphere
typical day included..prepping, cleaning, dishes
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company to work for
Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC14 October 2017
Baton Rouge under Group DResto its not a good company to work for promisses and not respecting it I work till I couldnt anymore the VP Yve is a person noone wants to work for him
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne structure
GÉRANTE (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC13 September 2017
possibilité avancement
bonne gestion
bonne structure
bonne formation
Pros
structuré et bien formé
Cons
stress de la restauration, heures nombreuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better your skills in hospitality
HOSTESS/SERVICE BARTENDER (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON25 August 2017
Baton Rouge is a very fast paced job that has great opportunity to better your skills whether it be serving, hosting, bartending, cooking, management, etc. This fast paced atmosphere is what really whips you into shape, and helps you to learn to provide great customer service under any pressure/circumstances.
Pros
Free soup
Cons
Don't always finish shift on time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family oriented work environment
Server (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC26 July 2017
Everyone helps each other and this makes for a successful work environment. Management allowed for a balanced fun and serious atmosphere for front of house staff to work in.
Cons
no benefits were offered
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was short lived
Line Cook / Grill Man (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON15 July 2017
wasn't to happy with the work environment. managers where very pushy and under valued back of the house staff. very slow moving other then friday and saturday rush.

i enjoyed working the grill there.
Pros
good ribs, great wood burning grill to work on
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for experience
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC28 June 2017
It is a great place to gain experience in the world of restaurants. But don't expect to "graduate" from busboy to waiter easily. They have a great team of managers and employees.
Pros
a lot of experience
Cons
Not a good pay check
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Classy Place
Service Bartender & Host (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ON28 June 2017
Baton rouge is a great, quiet, and family friendly place. The food is great and it is a perfect date spot. Classy steakhouse is always nice to have around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Les employeurs manque de respect aux employés
Hôtesse (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC18 June 2017
Les employés ne sont que des numéros. Le manager manque de respect envers les employés.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ordinaire manque de discipline
Serveuse (Former Employee) –  place ste foy15 June 2017
manque de gestion , pas equitable pour les employee
Pros
salaire
Cons
gestion
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with, generally good tip money, hours often fluctuate
Server (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 June 2017
A typical day at work includes side duties such as stocking condiments, cleaning cutlery, serving tables, running food, and making drinks and desserts.

I learned how to multi-task and prioritize competing demands. Although, I ultimately learned how to properly interact with people and handle complaints.

Management changes frequently, but always treats staff with respect and have generally been understanding of its staff's wants and needs.

Workplace culture tends to be reflective of management. It is positive when management is positive, which is most of the time.

The hardest part of the job is dealing with people who can't be pleased no matter how hard you try. However, the customer base here is, for the most part, kind and understanding.

The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to work alongside your friends and making money while getting to know guests!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Serveuse aux tables (Current Employee) –  Candiac, QC16 April 2017
Les soirées se déroule bien, manque d'assiduité des employés, patrons agréables, le plus agréable étant pour moi le contact client
Pros
Payant, patrons agréables
Cons
Aucun avantage sociaux, aucune possibilité d'avancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Baton Rouge. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 117 reviews
534
438
329
24
112

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture