Bantrel Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigorous working style in a system
Senior Instrumentation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 April 2018
Bantrel posses rigorous working style. No mater for engineering design or engineering procurement. Design steps and document management are in perfect order.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Electrical Designer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 March 2018
Good working condition. Professional management, recognized our good job and gave us bonuses. Design tools and procedures are excellent. Good engineering outfit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large EPC company
Senior Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 March 2018
Was at Bantrel for a short period of time. Daily routine was plant project reviews and data gathering. Was inserted into a refinery operation as a support team member.
Pros
Interesting work
Cons
The old support team had just left and were not available to transition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Junior mechanical engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 November 2017
Even though it's been a long time since I've worked here, I can remember that I didn't enjoy working here at all. It was in a big Boom in Calgary, the company doubled in size in a year and for that reason everything was a big cluster. Tons of frustrating rework.
Pros
None
Cons
Grew too big too fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional attitude
Discipline Lead, Senior Civil/Structural Engineer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 October 2017
It is a good company to work for. Experienced project engineers, discipline engineers and designers. Excellent job quality system - ensures deliverables are issued on time and with high quality. Friendly environment and helpful staff. Social club always provides entertainment events where workers can get know each other better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment work place
Cost Estimator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 September 2017
Everyone is helpful and try to get the job done on time.
Work together as one team.
Try to find the best solution for the client.
Flexible working hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Lead Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 August 2017
Good company with high technical capacity, good organization and operation model for big projects. Lack of commercial vision target big clients only. Lack of flexibility for executing small projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company/ Equal home and work life
Journeyman electrician duties (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC3 August 2017
-morning meetings to discuss duties of the day
-safety
-open communication
-worked as a team
- operated the main overhead gantry crane lifting from 2000lbs to 60 Tonnes
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
being away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Senior Helpdesk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 July 2017
Good employer. Taking calls and answering email. Hardware modifications etc. Culture is good. Love working with the people. Tough economy though. Hopefully more job stability moving forward.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work
Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 July 2017
I love working with Bantrel. The best thing about Bantrel is they treat everyone equal and give chance to everyone to rise and learn, implement and use the most of the technical skills during the learning period.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Document Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2017
It was a nice experience working at Bantrel. The training was excellent and the workplace environment was good. Just like any other EPC company, the politics are terrible.
Pros
Christmas bonus
Cons
too much Politics at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Foreman/Dispatch (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC4 May 2017
I worked hard for Bantrel and hoped to get noticed. I never was lucky to get to the next project but the experience with Bantrel was good. The management was good with helpful people.
Pros
Great money
Cons
Nepitism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very short job
Journeyman Scaffolder/BBS (Former Employee) –  Petro Can Edmonton30 March 2017
Just there to help tear down scaffolding and return it to the yard.
Separate the material,count it, band it and have it ready to be trucked out to the next location it is needed.
Pros
Lots of workers to share the tasks
Cons
Very filthy and dirty equipment. Extremely dangerous conditions to work in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace, great imprtance given to quality work
Principal Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 January 2017
An EPC company which maintains very high quality control standards. . Management provided great opportunities for self development and arranges many courses to attend. Pay and benefits are excellent. I had the opportunity to get involved in Engineering to commissioning of three major Canadian oil sands projects.Work environment is very friendly with management and colleagues ready to help.
Pros
Quality of work is given highest priority
Cons
Limited projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good company
Senior Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 January 2017
people oriented, good company culture, well take care of people, well payed, very flexible, respect people and very good company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for with tremenduous opportunity to advance
Alliance Piping Lead (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 January 2017
As a brotherly company of Bechtel Co. Bantrel has a very unique standards specifications for use. Bantrel has a great management group who can listen to your concerns and recognize your performance. Bantrel Edmonton office is assembled of many talents who drive the company to the success. The working environment is very friendly. Your great performance can be rewarded with good bonuses. Career development program is very attractive as well.
Pros
Rewarding bonuses and great benefits
Cons
Long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine work place, nice people, easy going manages.
Structural Designer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 September 2016
I have over eight years Canadian solid work experience as a structural designer/ drafter in oil and gas, industrial field, residential (both roof and floor trusses), commercial and institutional projects, etc. I also have more than 15 years of work experience as an Architect in China.

I have been responsible for all the architectural/structural design, layout, and 3D modeling, and I have attended review meetings and coordinated other disciplines, providing exceptional client service and developing technical expertise to deliver practical, creative solutions.

I enjoy working in a team and I am capable of working independently. I have excellent organizational skills needed to work on a variety of projects. I am very knowledgeable in the use 2D platform (AutoCAD, Revit, MicroStation) and 3D module software (ProStructure and Civil 3D).

i like work with this company, give me a lots of fun and good memory.
Pros
Free coffee/tea
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Project Controls Cost Lead (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 September 2016
Bantrel has been a wonderful place to work, great team support, and very flexible to allow the work / life balance I craved when I left my old employer.

Unfortunately, Bantrel has been affected by the economic downturn in the oil and gas sector and layoffs have had to happen much to the disappointment of management who tried to hold on to people for as long as possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Database Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 May 2016
good residential management with plenty to do on your free time, such as table tennis, darts, pool and much more.
good working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well dcumented processes and procedures
Civil And Structural Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 May 2016
Good atmosphere and work culture.
Efficient structure and engineering procedures for complex and large scale EPCM projects.
No job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bantrel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 66 reviews
526
427
37
22
14

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture