National Bank of Canada logo
National Bank of Canada
3.9 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

National Bank of Canada Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.9
Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 683 reviews matching the searchSee all 734 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Esprit d'Ă©quipe

Featured review

National Bank of Canada selected this as a representative review
C'est vraiment un bonne compagnie chez qui travailler. Les gens sont disponibles et Ă  l'Ă©coute
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

10 May 2021
Nous sommes bien contents de lire ça. Merci pour votre rétroaction!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fortement recommandé

Entreprise dynamique et en croissance, Direction inspirante et visionnaire, RH au centre des priorités, entreprise très humaine, défis à la hauteur de votre talent, possibilités d'évolution de carrière. La charge de travail peut être parfois élevée dans certains postes mais très stimulant en même temps pour ceux qui aiment les défis et se dépasser.

Pros

Tous les points énoncés ci-dessus

Cons

Charge de travail parfois élevée dans certains postes
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

10 May 2021
Merci beaucoup d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience! Votre bien être est notre priorité. N'hésitez pas à faire part de vos commentaires de façon anonyme via le sondage hebdomadaire officevibe ou en contactant votre gestionnaire ou représentant RH.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great work environment and team

Great environment. Small team with great communication. Positive vibes and great management. Management always coaching and mentoring. Accessible resources for personal benefits.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

10 May 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're really glad to read that.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Average workplace

Good benefits overallSelf-serving senior management team, short term planning to attain personal accomplishment in individual career development- strategic plans are one-dimensional tactical business plans with no accountability to deliver on outcomesEfficiency drivers without improving the employee experienceNot a diverse/inclusive population although becoming cognizant of this due to media implications and societal influencesNarrow minded visionGreat culture, needs to be driven to all levels of management and that the values are embedded at all levels.

Pros

Group benefits, banking privileges

Cons

Senior management, executives should ensure there is clearer accountability.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

5 April 2021
We're sorry to read this. Please know that diversity and inclusion are important values to us. We work everyday to make sure that it transpires throughout the company.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Environnement de travail collaboratif et agréable

Emploi très stimulant et formations adéquates pour faire ses débuts dans le domaine

Pros

assurances collectives, avantages financiers
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

18 March 2021
Nous sommes contents de lire ça! Offrir un milieu de travail stimulant est important pour nous.

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Dont even think it

Extremely stressful. Multiple tasks without specific deadlines, and all need to be completed yesterday. No professional support from partners. Disconnect between on-ground work force, and management. Poor personal to professional balance. Extremely high and unusual employee turnover - lots leaving, and much shuffling. No job security. Not a place for non-bilinguals. Unable to increase foothold outside Quebec.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

21 December 2020
Sorry to hear this, I invite you to talk to your manager about your situation. There is also Officevibe where you can leave comments. Thanks!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Friendly atmosphere

J’ai beaucoup apprécié travailler à la BNC : travail et vie personnel avec enfants et monoparentale très bien balancé Le lieu de travail est à côté de ma maisonIl y avait même un parking Les enfants étaient assurés avec moi

Pros

Bonus anniversaries

Cons

Parfois c’est insidieux tu ne comprends pas qui ne te supporte pas
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

21 December 2020
Merci pour ton commentaire, pour la question de support nous accentuons les rencontrons d'équipe et le partage de bonnes pratiques qui peut aider à régler la situation. Merci pour le commentaire.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

this is the best employer that i've ever met

8:30 starts to work, enjoy the working environment and my office. Busy but a lot of support from Branch Manager and other colleague. National bank does provide a great service and we do care about clients.

Pros

lunch time, salary

Cons

i will say....everything is good, if i can, more salary~
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

8 November 2020
Thank You! Very happ to hear that! National Bank is working hard to be an excellent place where to work! ID
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great place to work!

I've been with National Bank for a little less than 2 years and it's been a great experience. Employees and management are friendly, professional, and easy to work with. It feels like a family and for the most part people are welcoming and happy to help out if you need anything (it might sounds like a cliché but sometimes clichés can be true :) The bank has gone through some big changes since I've started so being able to adapt and be agile is a must. It can be a turn off for some, but I see it as the company adapting to the market, being proactive and innovative. I also like a dynamic work place so I fit right in. When the pandemic started the Bank was quick to act and instore safety measures and benefits for employees (PPE distribution, added wellness days, bonuses for presence required at work during the height of the pandemic, increased perks etc.). This gives you a good idea of how the company responds to a crisis and how it takes care of its employees. The Bank's top leaders also do a good job in communicating with all employees via conference calls on a regular basis, anyone can submit a question. They are actively seeking feedback whether it's positive or not. It decreases the distance between you and the CEO and reassures you that at any level, we are all working towards a common goal.I highly recommend National Bank as an employer and I plan to stay here long term.

Pros

Excellent work environment, corporate culture with great values

Cons

It can feel like there's a bit less support from head office when working outside QC
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

12 November 2020
Thank you for your comment and to be such an ambassador! At National Bank it's the human first!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Un environnement de travail très stimulant avec une très bonne culture d'entreprise

J'aime mon travail parce qu'il fait la différence dans la vie des gens.J'aide les personnes à découvrir leur plein potentiel et à le mettre au profit de l'organisation.

Pros

Une très bonne culture d'entreprise : L'humain d'abord!

Cons

Dans certains secteurs, la culture d'entreprise n'est pas encore adoptée à 100%
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

8 November 2020
Merci pour le commentaire, en effet la Banque Nationale veut être un employeur de choix où on met l'humain en premier! Nous avançons très bien mais il faut continuer considérant que ce n'est pas atteint dans tous les secteurs.

Jobs at National Bank of Canada

See more jobs
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Bon Salaire, Avantages sociaux

La banque Nationale du Canada est l'un des meilleurs employeur du Canada

Pros

Bonis en fin d'année, assurances maladies

Cons

N/A
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

8 November 2020
Merci pour ce commentaire, Ă  la Banque Nationale c'est l'humain d'abord! ID
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Un employeur avec bcp de valeurs organisationnelles , qui joignent mes valeurs humaines et personnelles

La Banque Nationale, m'inspire bcp pour ses valeurs axées sur l'humain ( être entre nous employés complices , nous avons une grande flexibilité d'action et de décision, et ensuite avec tout ce qui se passe dans notre industrie, nous sommes appelés et libres d'êtres agiles et flexibles. Tout en gardant en têtes notre objectif principal, de satisfaire le client de la Banque. En y travaillant depuis 17 ans, comme étudiant, ceci a toujours été le cas. Les opportunités d'évolution sont très présentes pour les gens qui ont l'envie de contribuer au succes.

Pros

Les RH sont la priorité

Cons

Principalement encore tres présente dans la province du Québec seulement
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

8 November 2020
Merci pour votre partage! En effet nous avons comme mission de mettre l'humain d'abord, tant le client que l'employé! ID
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Environement de travail très agérable. Avantages sociaux très competitif.

Très faible 'turn-over' d'employés car employeur stable, généreux avec beaucoup de potentiel d'avancement.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

8 November 2020
Merci pour le partage, le développement des employés est une priorité pour nous, en effet cela aide d'avoir un moins gros roulement de personnel! ID
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

environnement agreable

Le travail à la banque nationale est un plaisir pour moi c'est un environnement stimulant , très riche en partage et en apprentissage , où on peut grandir personnellement et professionnellement Nous sommes une famille .

Pros

avantages sociaux, assurances collectives
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Employees where great to work with but management was not.

After 10 yrs. with NBC never thought they would lay me off without notice , I was blindsided never saw it coming and salary not the greatest . 10 yrs. of hard work and dedication was not appreciated after so many years.

Pros

free lunches

Cons

salary raise hard to come bye.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Environnements agréable pour travailler à la banque Nationale

Bonne compagnie pour faire carrière, on trouve toujours des opportunités pour avancer.

Pros

Salaire et avantages sociaux

Cons

L'objectif de vente et trop élevé.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Bien

Bon salaire. Bons avantages sociaux. Regime de retraite intéressant.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

My bank experience

I really learned alot working at the national bank, how to deal with different individuals problems and finding solutions, the sales, but the most important was working with a wonderful team.

Pros

Retirement plan, Great insurance benefits
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Job is not what it seems

Customer service positions are not sales positions. You are rated on your ability to up sell and avoid closing accounts as these seem to be the only metric that matters to them.

Pros

Nice advantages, salary

Cons

Very rigid schedule, Sell Sell Sell
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good

Good company but to many reorg. Poor management. Low salary. Excellent perks especially mortgage interest rates. I would definitely recommend this company.

Pros

Perks

Cons

RĂ©organisation
Was this review helpful?

Official response from National Bank of Canada

8 November 2020
Thank you for your comment. Considering that we allways want to improve ourselves, your comment will be shared. Thanks! ID
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Excellente expérience

Je suis rentré comme étudiant et c'est la meilleure décision que j'ai prise de ma vie. Les gens sont accueillants et l'ambiance n'est pas du tout stressante. Je recommande cet emploi aux étudiants.
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Bank of Canada. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9

Based on 734 reviews
5
238
4
284
3
140
2
44
1
28

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job security/advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Compare National Bank of Canada with

  • Companies
  • National Bank of Canada
  • Employee reviews