Bank of China Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search See all 477 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Account Manager Intern (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC4 October 2018
Good job for working here
strongly recommend
Chinese banking here
Chinese tellers
Good service
Search ratings and reviews of over 600,000 companies worldwide. Get the inside scoop and find out what it's really like from people who've actually worked there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly colleague
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 October 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job is to work with a bunch of friendly coworkers.
Customer service is not a tough job for me, because I like to help our clients and see their smile.
Pros
friendly coworkers
Cons
limited chance to make a progress in career path
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for experienced professionals
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 September 2018
- lower than industry average pay for entry level positions
- job description: Manager assigned duties 70%/100%
- light workload most of the times
- gifts and celebrations events when it comes to holidays
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Restricted career growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great company to work for while coworkers are the best thing about the company.
Back Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON4 December 2017
Great coworkers, but company does not have any advancement opportunities. Business in Canada is very limited, the company service very specific group of clients, where its main branch of business remains in China mainly.
Pros
Stable Income
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay is really low
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON22 November 2017
does not have much to learn, and the overall business culture is same in China, forced to overtime without pay. Management is terrible, people in there does not know what to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity to learn banking knowledge
Customer Service Representative/Teller (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 November 2017
This is one of a very valuable working experiences for me to work for this company. I am so proud of being one of a value staffs to serve Chinese in the community. I got a chance to meet so much Chinese people to assist them to process their daily banking activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoy internship experience
Internship (Former Employee) –  North York, ON22 July 2017
People there at Bank of China (Canada) are really nice, and they are very approachable. In this internship program, I learn a lot of things such as using banking system and following process of apply a mortgage. This experience not only help me to practice my knowledge in real work, but also make more excited to learn more financial products in future.
Pros
small group, good allowance
Cons
unconvinent location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chinese cultural work place
Account Manager/Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 December 2016
slow branch, management system is different from local bank, as well as the promotion system. I learn basic banking transaction and then financial analysis skill.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive working environment
Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 August 2016
Friendly colleagues, fast and challenging working environment.
You can learn a lot about the banking industry in this great company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Bank Teller and Client Care Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2016
Needs extensive language skills. Communication skills need to be emphasized. No sales pressure. Good co workers. Good management team. Good clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Retail Banking Service Internship (Former Employee) –  C0727 November 2015
great for recent grads to do their internship, learn a lot there. first choice for anyone who has solid finance background.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace enviornment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 June 2015
A typical day at work would be to greet customers when they get into the bank and to understand and meet client needs quickly, professionally and accurately.
From my work experience at Bank of China, I develop exceptional customer service skills by answering customers inquires about financial services and products. I also gain excellent commucation skills by solving customers' complaints promptly and effectively. The co-workers are friendly and it's a great place to learn. This experience also help me to obtain great colloborative skills by giving me opportunity to interact with different departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good work place for beginner!
Receptionist internship (Former Employee) –  Markham24 April 2015
If you are looking for summer job, it is a good choice! This is maybe your first taste or attempt work in a office environment in your life. If not, it is mine.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  C0415 April 2015
Demonstrated excellent analytical skills through entering and collecting financial data
Developed working initiative by volunteering to help
clients communicate, and translate if needed
Improved on interpersonal skills while working on
projects such credit note assessment with the manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Internship (Former Employee) –  C198 January 2015
A lot of professionals in this bank. I not only learned to work as a team member, also I practice my knowladge to work. co-workers are really friendly and they are willing to share. managers are like friends to us.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
CREDIT CARD ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON30 July 2014
I got my best co-workers here. I am enjoying the challenging work. It helps me to improve my productive and working experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well-organized work placr
Duty Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  C0411 June 2014
- every last week of the month is very busy.
- co-workers are well- educated, nice and patient.
- most of my work requires communication with clients.
- the most enjoyable part of the job is talk to different people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Auto Insurance Claim Analyst (Former Employee) –  C0124 January 2014
I worked in China for this company and rotated with a few different apartment, learned how insurance company operates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Learn
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 September 2013
It's good place to lean the banking system in Canada.

I get lots of skill in retail, commercial & corporate lending by working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
focus on customers' needs, stressful environment
Manager assistant (Former Employee) –  Bank of China, Sub-branch, Nanchang, China13 April 2013
my work starts from 9 in the morning and ends at five. my duty of the intern is to guide our customers with the business in the lobby like the how to correctly fill the form and making marketing analysis with the customer manager. I learned how to communicate with customers in the way they prefer and analysis the things in a deeper way. I like the intern in Bank Of China because I can deal with different people and improve my ability that I am used to lack like verbal skills and considering things in various aspects.
Pros
good working environment, co workers will tell you their experience in dealing with upset customers
Cons
rest hours are short, only 40 minutes for lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bank of China. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 477 reviews
5220
4164
368
218
17

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
3.9Culture